Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Will putting a TV on an automated power switch kill the PSU over time?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Will putting a TV on an automated power switch kill the PSU over time?

Hey everyone!

This question is not quite repair related but since I'm a tech and can't help thinking like one, I wanted to get some other TV tech opinions.

Long story short I own a repair shop and I am trying to set up a power circuit to turn on 3 TV's automatically every morning and off every evening. I will be using a Zwave 15 amp switch so I can add it to my existing business automation hub.

Here is the exact switch:
    https://www.energyavenue.com/Leviton...8aAh-AEALw_wcB

My question is this: If my automated switch cuts power off to these TV's every evening, will that damage the PSU or any other component? I know if you turn a TV off with the controller or the button on the TV that it puts the TV into low power mode/rest mode in most cases depending on if the model has any advanced power setting within the GUI. But since I will only be powering off theses TV's by cutting power to outlet, is that going to cause any problems over the long run? I know it probably wont hurt the TV over the course of a couple weeks but what about over the course of a couple years? Ultimately, I don't want to build a system that is going to fail in the future. And yes, I know I can get and program a RF system to turn these TV's off with their actual RF reciever's but I want to start with the 1st option because I already have the existing infrastructure.

TIA

Re: Will putting a TV on an automated power switch kill the PSU over time?

My upstairs TV sits on a power bar. It gets turned off and on several times a day using the power bar so the TV is completely off and not in standby. It's been like this for 5 years now with no apparent problems.