Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

An old runner - Tagan EasyCon 480W (TG480-U15)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

An old runner - Tagan EasyCon 480W (TG480-U15)

I have a Tagan EasyCon 480W (TG480-U15) power supply.
    Unfortunately‚ (or not - I'm here now! ) it died so I decided to open it and take a look in hope I will find the culprit and give it another try in case I can fix it.
    By the way, I'm just a hobbyist, coming from automotive industry (automotive electrician) but as my (limited) knowledge is most of the time obsolete comparing it with latest tech trends, and I don't have experience with AC, most of the time you will find me searching / learning by following the tutorials, reading forums and some e-books, looking videos and so on... I want to learn but I'm not following any program.

As for that Tagan mentioned above, first signs was broken fuse (it exploded) and destroyed Thermistor (https://i.imgur.com/LQSBlIo.jpg ; https://i.imgur.com/1mpkHKI.jpg). As I was lazy enough - I've invested some time just to replace that 2 components and tried to turn it on. Was under impression that Thermistor tired over time and lost the "agility" (didn't even check if that component was in short) so I thought that was that - easy peasy...
    Than it happens again - fuse died (exploded) - burnt into dark color and this time even "automatic fuse" (circuit breaker) on that AC line in home reacted and switched off! It was clear that I had to explore it more which I did, additionally.

After some quick (bit this time more serious) inspection, I've found that fuses on Primary are shortened, so there was a short circuit on the Primary, just after filtering unit. At first, I've de-soldered / dismantled a couple of diodes but all of them was good.
    After all, when FETs (2SC3320 - NPN power transistors) on Primary was removed, I've found that circuit is not in short anymore but both of that NPN's are in short on all three legs.