Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Desktop Motherboards, Graphics Cards, and PC Peripherals
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2020, 05:51 PM   #1
facecard
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: NY
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default SuperMicro Board Issue

Please move post if necessary.

I have a old PC with a Supermicro P6dgu board. Back in the day it was used as a Netware 4.11 server. It does get power but I don't get any video. I do understand it is old and outdated.

I did try swapping PSU, graphic cards, etc.. but nothing seems to work for very long. If the video comes up it will go through the POST screen then stop because I don't have any HDs connected to it. There is no consistency. I can't seem to narrow it down to anything specific.

For all I know it could be the power supply, board, AGP slot, graphics card....it could be any number of them.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
facecard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 05:24 AM   #2
SMDFlea
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: York
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,614
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

Post some pictures of the board, especially around the capacitors
SMDFlea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 12:45 PM   #3
facecard
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: NY
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

Attached is pictures of the board.

Again, getting video on the screen is hit or miss. Getting either PS/2 or USB ports to work completely is hit or miss.

Another words getting video up is inconsistent and connecting either mouse and/or keyboard regardless of the port is inconsistent.

Maybe someone can spot something on the board that is related to everything that is going on whether it is a bad CAP or something with the slots or circuitry.

If anyone wants to see a close up of something on the board or a different angle then please let me know.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0328.jpg (1.14 MB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0312.jpg (1.23 MB, 16 views)
facecard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 10:12 PM   #4
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,739
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

Hard to help with so little information. No details on CPU GPU or Memory Chips used etc. It's like saying my car won't run and I changed the battery and put new gas in it.
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 12:01 AM   #5
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,281
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

Replace those six caps marked 'nrsy', they should be 1000uF 10v. They are junk. Yes, we do need to know a little more.... CPU(s)? RAM? GPU? Firmware revision?

I actually still have one of these boards in my retro fleet.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 09:35 AM   #6
facecard
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: NY
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

@Topcat- Can you tell where on the board where are these CAPS that you are referring to? Are these CAPS bad? What would be the benefit to upgrade or replace them with 1000uf 10v?

To answer the general questions.

-PSU is a Powerman FSP 300 (I replaced the original PSU which was the same type)
-Two PII CPUs (Original ones)
-One PC100 512 memory (Original one)
-AGP graphic card
-Adaptec 1130 scsi card (Original one)

Back in the late 90s early 2000s, someone had put together (bought all of the parts) for this computer. This computer was used (with all of the original parts stated above) as a Netware 4.11 server. Nothing has been replaced on the board. At the time, my employer was using this computer as a server then decided to decommission it and get rid of it. This computer is 15+ years old.
facecard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 03:48 PM   #7
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,281
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by facecard View Post
@Topcat- Can you tell where on the board where are these CAPS that you are referring to? Are these CAPS bad? What would be the benefit to upgrade or replace them with 1000uf 10v?
They don't need to be 'upgraded', they'll be bad...even without showing it. SM was horrible for using these back in the day. There are 6 of them on your board, the culprits are marked with a red dot...see below:



The remaining lytics on that board are Santo WG or SE series, and won't be problematic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by facecard View Post
-PSU is a Powerman FSP 300
Pull that and throw it in the trash before it fries the board. Those PSU's are horrendous junk!

Quote:
Originally Posted by facecard View Post
-Adaptec 1130 scsi card (Original one)
Those are neat little controllers utilizing the 'raidport' slot, proprietary to these boards.....just make sure you have the latest firmwares on both the motherboard AND the controller....it'll spare you inventing some new swear words.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg p6dgu.jpg (235.6 KB, 29 views)
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 04:25 PM   #8
facecard
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: NY
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

How might I go about replacing the bad CAPS? I don't have the knowledge or resources ie... soldering gun or new CAPS.... to perform the replacement.

Since you are not a fan of Powerman PSUs then which PSU would you recommend that works with this type of board?

I am guessing those CAPS are the culprit of my issues with no video and inconsistency?
facecard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 04:27 PM   #9
facecard
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: NY
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

Without video and use of a keyboard and floppy drive, I can't perform a BIOS or other necessary upgrades.
facecard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 06:36 PM   #10
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,281
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by facecard View Post
How might I go about replacing the bad CAPS? I don't have the knowledge or resources ie... soldering gun or new CAPS.... to perform the replacement.
You'll need to find someone who can then. I can do it if you want to send it, I'd recap the entire board....otherwise you'll have to find someone local. You're just pissing in the wind until this is done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by facecard View Post
Since you are not a fan of Powerman PSUs then which PSU would you recommend that works with this type of board?
Disregard about that, I had powmax in my brain for some reason.... Powerman PSU's aren't the greatest, but they're ok. You'll want to check its caps as well. Just to eliminate the PSU as an issue, try another that's known to be good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by facecard View Post
I am guessing those CAPS are the culprit of my issues with no video and inconsistency?
Yup. Classic symptom.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 11:19 AM   #11
facecard
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
City & State: NY
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 7
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

So, you have your own business of providing this type of service? What will this cost me to send the board and you perform the labor plus parts? Once you recap everything do you completely test the board to make sure it works?
facecard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 12:56 PM   #12
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 240V @ 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 13,281
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

https://www.badcaps.net/index.php?pageid=repair_costs
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 03:53 PM   #13
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,475
Default Re: SuperMicro Board Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Disregard about that, I had powmax in my brain for some reason.... Powerman PSU's aren't the greatest, but they're ok. You'll want to check its caps as well. Just to eliminate the PSU as an issue, try another that's known to be good.
Yeah, I was just about to post, what you got against FSP PSUs?

Then it crossed my mind perhaps you were thinking of Powmax, which is indeed only trash-worthy

Yep, Powerman / FSP / Sparkle aren't the greatest, but they are usually decent. The older units do indeed use crap caps and often have the tan/brown conductive glue. But once recapped and glue removed, they are pretty reliable PSUs.

BTW, the only thing I could find for Powerman FSP 300 was this:
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showth...werman+FSP+300

I see crap cap brands in that one, so I concur with TC: check the PSU first and even test the PC with another one, just to confirm problems are not coming from there.

And regardless of that, it would still be a good idea to get rid of the NRSY caps and replace them. They are classic crap from the bad caps era. Unlike fine whiskey, these caps won't get better with the years.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:42 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?