Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2020, 04:27 PM   #41
sigmeyer
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
City & State: Sremska Mitrovica
My Country: Serbia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 46
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

So thats pretty much ylod... You will need to replace the NEC / tokin caps/// there are 8 on each side.. they are above the cpu and the rsx on each side of the board... This was really tricky for me to do first time , but i got the hang of it... its big capacitors you cannot miss them... look up NEC/ Tokin Cap replacement on google ... and you will find plenty of answers...the way i did it , is take a sharp screwdriver(the one with the pointy tip) and use alot of hot air on them and SLOWLY pry them off ... Keep the air on the pads to clean them up... Be very careful if you are forcing , because you might drive the screwdriver when they pop off and damage something else... but i had 100% success rate with this so dont lose hope. Replace 2 caps and check , and repeat untill the ps3 starts working. There is probably a disk inside the tray too.
good luck!
sigmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2020, 04:30 PM   #42
sigmeyer
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
City & State: Sremska Mitrovica
My Country: Serbia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 46
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

It might not be that this is the issue tho... but im pretty sure it is... check the voltages first on the main line just in case... it might not be the ylod !
sigmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 01:22 AM   #43
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

Thanks for the info sigmeyer,much appreciated
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 05:44 AM   #44
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,878
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

did you actually connect it to a tv yet?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 03:11 AM   #45
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

Yes stj the green led comes on,fan starts then 2x 3 beeps then red led flashing no video
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 03:21 AM   #46
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

You are right sigmeyer there was a disc in the tray
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 03:42 AM   #47
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

2020-07-31 11.34.12.jpg
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 03:43 AM   #48
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

Which are the nec/tokin caps
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 05:15 AM   #49
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,878
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

2R0 122
although your seem to be made by nippon-chemi-con.
which is something i'v not seen before!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 07:15 AM   #50
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

Oh thanks stj,i think this ps3 was made here by Sony South africa
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 10:30 AM   #51
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,878
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

unlikely, i think the boards are made in korea by Asus.

here is a pdf of what there is to find.
you need to replace them with 4 tantalum or polymer 330uf caps

it would be worth trying to find which is shorted with a low-ohms meter or maybe an esr tester given the number of them!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 02:13 AM   #52
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

Ok i have an autorange meter,do i have to tes them out of circuit stj
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 02:23 AM   #53
sigmeyer
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
City & State: Sremska Mitrovica
My Country: Serbia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 46
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

Dont bother testing ... They will always show as very low resistance or a short... you should get around 3 or 5 ohms or something like that ... but it doesnt matter... 1 Cap is equivalent of 1200uF ,you can go a bit higher then that... like 1300uF each. Its gonna be unusually difficult ... you'll see when you try
sigmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 06:19 AM   #54
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

Ok sigmeyer two of them are 1200μf and the other two are 1000μf,are they 2.5v
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 08:10 AM   #55
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

2R0102 and 2R0122
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 02:17 PM   #56
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

ok i see they are obsolete
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 04:31 AM   #57
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

Ps3 has video in AV and plays a game disc but fan is high and shuts down after a few minutes and the ps3 is in demo mode,i must still change the caps,is there anything else i must check
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 06:48 AM   #58
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,878
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

that's NOT the caps causing that - bad caps would stop it running.
i dont know about demo-mode, not heard of it.
but the fan is a clue that the temps are too high - did you use silver or carbon based paste when you re-assembled it?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 09:44 AM   #59
Admirality
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
City & State: Knysna
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 79
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
that's NOT the caps causing that - bad caps would stop it running.
i dont know about demo-mode, not heard of it.
but the fan is a clue that the temps are too high - did you use silver or carbon based paste when you re-assembled it?
V1 thermal compound is what i used on the two heat sinks,which is the right paste to use and there are you tube videos about demo mode,i wanted to update it and wouldnt because it is in demo mode

Last edited by Admirality; 08-03-2020 at 09:53 AM..
Admirality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2020, 10:24 AM   #60
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 22,878
Default Re: Ps3 fat Cechk04 no power

i know FSM - factory service mode.

i'll have to look demo mode up.
why did you want to update it?
hopefully so you can hack it with custom firmware like "Rebug"
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?