Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2017, 03:25 PM   #1
mwbrown1979
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: killen, alabama
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

Hi all. I read through a previous thread regarding this same set, I'm hoping to get some confirmation that I'm on the right track. The set will flash once every 3-5 seconds when powered on. No indicator light, neither standby nor power on. During this 3-5 second cycle the screen only displays 2-3 colored horizontal lines. Will not power on. I've confirmed 120v at the power board, only reading 3-3.5v going out of it. No indications of blown capacitors from what I can see, but I am far from an expert. I read in Mr. Martin's troubleshooting guide I should have 5v standby, etc. With a reading of 3-3.5 do you blame a faulty power board? I really want this set going but I can't throw parts at it blindly Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!
mwbrown1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 03:45 PM   #2
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

Need good clear straight on pictures of back of tv with cover off and each board.
__________________
I assume no responsibility for any stupid suggestions I might post.
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 04:09 PM   #3
mwbrown1979
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
City & State: killen, alabama
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dskall View Post
Need good clear straight on pictures of back of tv with cover off and each board.
here goes..thank you!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20171209_170235.jpg (393.2 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 20171209_170228.jpg (337.4 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 20171209_170218.jpg (481.5 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 20171209_170212.jpg (470.9 KB, 13 views)
mwbrown1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 10:43 AM   #4
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

Need voltages from connector that goes from power supply board to main board. Will need pin#- PIN DESCRIPTION -Pin voltage in standby-Pin voltage when pushing power button and picture of connector on power supply board.
Format:
Pin# - Pin Description - Pin Voltage standby - Pin voltage power on
1 - XXXXXXX - XXv - XXXv
2 - XXXXXXX - XXXv - XXXv
3 - XXXXXXX - XXXv - XXXv
4 - etc.
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:09 AM   #5
bkdadto3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: shreveport lousiana
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 21
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

I am going to jump in here and say, that I have this exact setup and I am not able to get power to come on but my voltage readings confuse me. Here is what I get at the power board capacitor: 166.9 vdc

At con2 I get
Pin
1 EMPTY
2 EMPTY
3 GND
4 GND
5 13.23 V THIS IS LABELED AS 12V
6 13.23 V THIS IS LABELED AS 12V
7 GND
8 13.23 V THIS IS LABELED AS 12V
9 GND
10 GND
11 GND
12 5.1 V THIS IS LABELED AS 5V
13 5.1 V THIS IS LABELED AS 5V
14 5.1 V THIS IS LABELED AS 5V
15 4.46 V THIS IS LABELED AS PS ON
16 5.09 V THIS IS LABELED AS 5 VSB
17 4.70 V THIS IS LABELED AS ADJ
18 0.4 mv THIS IS LABELED AS BK ON


Trying to figure out if this is a main board issue or a power board issue.
bkdadto3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 08:50 AM   #6
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

Do you see an image if you put a flashlight up to the screen?
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 09:50 AM   #7
bkdadto3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: shreveport lousiana
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 21
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

No, no video, no led nothing at all.
bkdadto3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 10:30 AM   #8
bkdadto3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: shreveport lousiana
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 21
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

This is the state all of the time, all of these voltages are present but no leds are lit anywhere and there is no ability to turn on the tv.
bkdadto3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 10:56 AM   #9
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

What is voltage on ps_on when you push power button and when in standby? 18 0.4 mv THIS IS LABELED AS BK ON maybe backlight. Other voltages seem OK
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 11:45 AM   #10
bkdadto3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: shreveport lousiana
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 21
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

The voltage is 4.46 v with the switch depressed and when it is not. The power on button makes no difference at all, there are no power leds even lit up on the tv to indicate standby power.
bkdadto3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 12:51 PM   #11
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

What is voltage on ps_on when unplugged from main board?
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 01:04 PM   #12
bkdadto3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: shreveport lousiana
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 21
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

zero volts

0.0 v
bkdadto3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 01:06 PM   #13
bkdadto3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: shreveport lousiana
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 21
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

Still my main cap is only seeing 167.9 vdc
bkdadto3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 04:48 PM   #14
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,445
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

When the tv goes into test pattern, check the main filter cap voltage and the 24V rail. It sounds like a bad main board to me, but first verify voltages on the PSU. If push comes to shove, disconnect everything from the PSU and force it on. If that PSU checks out all right, then it is a main board problem.

Last edited by CapLeaker; 02-19-2018 at 04:51 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 06:40 AM   #15
bkdadto3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: shreveport lousiana
My Country: usa
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 21
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

Well, the person decided to take it to their brother to be worked on. I may never know the root cause. Thanks for the help.
bkdadto3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 09:34 AM   #16
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 32,889
Default Re: RCA LED65G55R120Q TV Set Power issue?

PS-ON is present but you still have only 160Vdc on the filter cap, it shoould be 380~400VDC because the board has PFC Voltage booster circuit, you need to get the PFC circuit working first.
How much experience do you have troubleshooting down to component level and SMD reworks?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:41 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?