Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > MSI/Microstar
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2012, 01:10 PM   #1
crsgr
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Boston, MA
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default MS-7093 Ver:1.0

Hello

I've recently acquired one of these boards in non-working condition and have no history about it. On power-up, I do get a splash screen (the emachines logo), but that's it. There are no beeps, the fans run at normal speed, F2 & F10 on a PS/2 keyboard have no effect. There is no visible evidence of capacitor issues. I've reseated the processor (Athlon 64 3200+), tried 2 PSU's, and changed the RAM. Without any RAM in it, there are still no beeps, and the video is gone too.

I don't have another compatible CPU to try, so I'm wondering if anyone here could tell me if this sounds like a a burned CPU or not. Any additional input would also be welcome.

Thanks!
crsgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 07:38 PM   #2
everell
Badcaps Veteran
 
everell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
City & State: Williamsburg, Virginia
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,210
Default Re: MS-7093 Ver:1.0

What kind of power supply are you using? - read model number off the label.

Some mother boards from emachines which had Bestec ATX-250 12E power supply were permanently damaged.
everell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:13 PM   #3
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,247
Default Re: MS-7093 Ver:1.0

are there any caps next to the CPU that are brown and have KZG written on them? like this:

http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv290/bocool/kzg.jpg

They might be the problem, KZG's don't always bloat when they die due to poor seals. I went onto google images and saw two versions of this board, one with KZG's and one with KZE's. If they're KZE's they should be fine, but if they're KZG's that might be the problem
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:49 PM   #4
crsgr
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Boston, MA
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: MS-7093 Ver:1.0

I don't know what PSU it had before. Mine are Inwin and Acbel.

There are Green 25V 820u KZE, Brown 6.3V 1800u and 16V 1000u KZG about, but right next to the CPU are Blue 6.3V 1500u MBZ. All 105C.
crsgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 12:55 AM   #5
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,052
Default Re: MS-7093 Ver:1.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
I went onto google images and saw two versions of this board, one with KZG's and one with KZE's.
They are probably both KZE. Older KZEs had Green sleeves, but newer ones have brown sleeves like KZG
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 07:38 AM   #6
crsgr
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
City & State: Boston, MA
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 5
Default Re: MS-7093 Ver:1.0

Pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MS7093.JPG (1.56 MB, 38 views)
crsgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 08:40 AM   #7
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,247
Default Re: MS-7093 Ver:1.0

those might be KZG's next to the northbridge
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:36 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?