Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Acer Ferrari F-20" monitor display interference and replacement capacitor selection

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Acer Ferrari F-20" monitor display interference and replacement capacitor selection

Good day everybody

I hope I'm posting in the right section - I am new to this awesome forum.

I have received an ACER Ferrari F-20" LCD Monitor to repair.

It produces interference lines on the image displayed and slowly rotates across the whole screen, with respect to the center of the screen. One rotation takes about 4 minutes and the cycle repeats over and over.
    For some reason the On Screen Display Menu is not affected when switched on with the Menu button.

I opened the external 18V power supply and see no bulged capacitors or anything suspicious. It uses Rubycon branded caps.
    The output voltage measures 18.35V when the monitor is switched on and displaying an image while connected to the VGA port of my laptop.

When I opened the monitor, I immediately noticed that the 3 leaded electrolytic capacitors (C1,C2 and C3) on the top side of the inverter pcb were bulged. The values are 180uF 35V each. Their ESR was high (10R to 20R) and the capacitance not measurable. They are connected directly to the power coming in through connector CN1 at the top of the pcb.

My questions:
    1. Is it possible that the faulty capacitors can cause the interference described above?

2. The original capacitors used on the pcb has got the following specs, as found on the datasheet:

Brand: CapXon
    Series: GF Series - Low Impedance
    Case size: 8mm Diameter X 16mm Length
    Impedance: 0.098R @ 100KHz & 20 deg C
    Ripple Current: 810mA RMS @ 100KHz & 105 deg C
    Dissipation Factor: 0.09 @120Hz
    Endurance: 3000 Hours
    Temperature Range: -55 to 105 deg C

When searching DigiKey for replacements, the following options are available, limited by the maximum height:

Brand: Wurth
    Series: WCAP-ATLI