Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2018, 08:11 AM   #1
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

As they say... Onward and upward...

I have a Sharp... I get a "an incompatible video signal has been received. Check the output device settings" message when I try to hook anything up to HDMI...

Component and Composite is unaffected..

Research indicates that it's likely more of a setting issue than a hardware one..

But I'll be darned if I can find out how to address it..

Anyone have any ideas???
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 08:26 AM   #2
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

At the source, take "auto" anything off and set a specific resolution. Try lower ones first. Basically, when the source is trying to read the EID settings of the display, either the information is not right or it is having trouble trying to read it and hence, can't resolve what resolution it needs to send so it is picking one that the display isn't able to handle. Further, unplug things, power and signal. Then plug in signal, then power, then power up the display followed by the source and see if that changes anything as perhaps an initialization sequence isn't happening well.

Further, what kind of hdmi device are you trying to use?

Last edited by budwich; 03-23-2018 at 08:28 AM..
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 08:38 AM   #3
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

Thanx for the reply, budwich...

I have tried several sources.. BluRay player w/ HDMI output... XBOX 360 and PS3.. I even did a RESET VIDEO on the PS3 which drops the PS3 down to the lowest resolution..

Nothing seems to help...

Last edited by Michale32086; 03-23-2018 at 09:35 AM..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 08:44 AM   #4
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

next.... try a factory reset on the tv. further, check the firmware, try reload also.

note... I am not budm.... just in case you think so.

Last edited by budwich; 03-23-2018 at 08:45 AM..
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 08:57 AM   #5
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

Yea, done the video reset.. no joy...

There doesn't seem to be a firmware update for the 52D62U... Only the 64U and 65U...
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:24 AM   #6
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

try changing the avmode for the input 4,5 (hdmi) to something else.... in particular NOT pc.
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:35 AM   #7
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

Quote:
Originally Posted by budwich View Post
note... I am not budm.... just in case you think so.
Sorry about that... I saw the bud and my eyes went no further...

My sincerest apologies..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:43 AM   #8
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

no problem.... i did not want to soil budm's good name... ☺

you didnt indicate whether you are ensuring that the source setting/setup has auto turned off.... most source players are set with it as default.
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:44 AM   #9
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

Quote:
Originally Posted by budwich View Post
try changing the avmode for the input 4,5 (hdmi) to something else.... in particular NOT pc.
Input 4 & 5 are HDMI... unless you mean the audio input on #4...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180323_103735[1].jpg (379.7 KB, 9 views)
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:47 AM   #10
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

Quote:
Originally Posted by budwich View Post
no problem.... i did not want to soil budm's good name... ☺
Heh..

Quote:
Originally Posted by budwich View Post
you didnt indicate whether you are ensuring that the source setting/setup has auto turned off.... most source players are set with it as default.
Yea, the PS3 and X360 have been set for NO AUTO OFF....
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:48 AM   #11
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

yes but there are mode settings for each input.. this can be changed from the remote.
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:49 AM   #12
freakaftr8
Badcaps Veteran
 
freakaftr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
City & State: Folsom, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120vac 60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,708
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

Probably BGA.. Grab a hair dryer and heat up that processor where the HDMI connections go. Follow the traces on the main board from the HDMI connectors and whatever processor there connecting to try heating that one up with a hair dryer or a hot air station . If that doesn't work it's probably a bad HDMI codec processor if it is separate from the main processor
__________________
Did I leave the soldering iron on?
freakaftr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:52 AM   #13
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

Quote:
Originally Posted by budwich View Post
yes but there are mode settings for each input.. this can be changed from the remote.
K.. I'll try that..
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:56 AM   #14
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

as freakaftr8 indicate, possible main board issue.... my experience with 42d60u could not get it to recognize 3hdmis but it didnt complain either. replaced main board fixed in the end... but try the heat up tech.
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 09:56 AM   #15
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

Quote:
Originally Posted by freakaftr8 View Post
Probably BGA.. Grab a hair dryer and heat up that processor where the HDMI connections go. Follow the traces on the main board from the HDMI connectors and whatever processor there connecting to try heating that one up with a hair dryer or a hot air station . If that doesn't work it's probably a bad HDMI codec processor if it is separate from the main processor
Will try that as well....
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 10:03 AM   #16
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

OK I have it on INPUT #4 HDMI.... I get sound, but no video..

Under the menu settings/option there is an HDMI setup option that looks like this:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180323_105732[2].jpg (388.5 KB, 14 views)
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 10:28 AM   #17
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

So, the gist I am getting is that ya'all think it's a board issue and not a setting issue???
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 10:37 AM   #18
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

ensure that the label has not been set to pc as that will cause problems.
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 10:50 AM   #19
Michale32086
Badcaps Veteran
 
Michale32086's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: St Augustine, FLORIDA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,050
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

OK Progress... of sorts..

Up in comment #16 there is a pic of HDMI Setup...

In that, the SIGNAL TYPE is ghosted...

I changed the label from INPUT 4 to HDMI and I was able to select SIGNAL TYPE..

The GOOD news, I didn't get the INCOMPATIBLE SIGNAL error message..

The BAD news is, I didn't get any kind of display at all..

That happened if I selected RGB and either YCbCr option...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180323_114318[1].jpg (286.9 KB, 5 views)
Michale32086 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2018, 10:59 AM   #20
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,098
Default Re: Sharp Aquos LC-52D62U "an incompatible video signal has been received"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michale32086 View Post
Yea, done the video reset.. no joy...

There doesn't seem to be a firmware update for the 52D62U... Only the 64U and 65U...
Wonder if the firmware for the 64 is the same as the 52, could maybe call or email them.
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?