Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2018, 10:20 PM   #1
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,037
Default Weird SSD Issue

Long story short, I pulled a working SSD out of a system (upgraded it to a larger one) and connected the old pull to another controller. Ever since, the drive is no longer accessible, even in the system it originally came from. BIOS's see it, but it can not be initialized, read, partitioned, etc. I've tried a couple utilities on it, which see the drive....but some say 'lost partition', and timeout attempting to recover it. I can care less about the data on it, I dumped it before I started diddling with it.....but is there any way to recover/reuse the drive itself? It was perfectly fine before..... It's a 240gb OCZ TRION150.
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 06:08 AM   #2
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,825
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

ESD? Was it used as part of a RAID array? The latter has done this to me, had to "remove" the drive from the array on a compatible controller before it would work right.
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 01:38 PM   #3
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,037
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

If it was ESD, that'd be a first in all my years...but I suppose it's possible. DBAN seems to be communicating with it....so I'll let DBAN zap it and see if it comes back to life.....last ditch effort before it ends up in the trash.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 03:10 PM   #4
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,946
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

^ Ive had SMART erases bring SSDs back to life. Last ditch effort if DBAN fails
__________________
Things I've fixed: anything from semis to crappy Chinese $2 radios.

"Dude, this is Wyoming, i hopped on and sent 'er. No fucking around." -- Me

Excuse me while i do something dangerous

My "Extremest" views: I will spread my knowledge to whoever will receive it. It is their prerogative if they do bad with it.

You must have a sad, sad boring life if you hate on people harmlessly enjoying life with an animal costume.

Sometimes you need to break shit to fix it.... Thats why my lawnmower doesn't have a deadman switch or engine brake anymore
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 10:19 PM   #5
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by goontron View Post
^ Ive had SMART erases bring SSDs back to life. Last ditch effort if DBAN fails
ATA secure erase time! Parted Magic is the easiest Linux distro to do that with!
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

PNY GeForce GTX 960

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 11:47 PM   #6
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,825
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
If it was ESD, that'd be a first in all my years...but I suppose it's possible. DBAN seems to be communicating with it....so I'll let DBAN zap it and see if it comes back to life.....last ditch effort before it ends up in the trash.
If you toss it, can I have a crack? I'll pay shipping...
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 11:53 PM   #7
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,037
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
If you toss it, can I have a crack? I'll pay shipping...
Yea. I'll let you know in the next few days if it comes back to life.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 12:00 AM   #8
kaboom
"Oh, Grouchy!"
 
kaboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: PA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,218
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

I've had some strange issues caused by dirty SATA plugs and contacts on drives, both mechanical and a brand new SSD. The SSD in question is actually running perfectly in the E6400 I'm posting from. After imaging the original HDD to the SSD, this laptop didn't even see the SSD when placed into the internal bay. Yet it worked fine in the ext enclosure...

Spray the SATA cable plugs with Deoxit or your favorite substitute. Also scrub the SATA connector, both power and signal, with a Deoxit-dampened swab.

A few months ago, the HDDs (it would've seemed) in my main PC got slow. Sometimes holding the IRQs, just as a bad drive would in the old days. Re-enabling UDMA would always revert back to PIO, after any attempts to copy. I pulled the drives and cleaned the HDA-PCB contacts, and connected them to another system & backed them up. Great speeds now...

But in the main system, back to slow-ville. An 8 hour+ ETA for what should've been an hour's worth of copying. Tried several combinations of drive/SATA cable, finally discovering one which was suspect. Sprayed the ends of all 3 with 2-26 and cleaned the SATA contacts.

That did it. We were off, to the moon, Alice!
__________________
"pokemon go... to hell!"

EOL it...

Quote:
Originally Posted by smashstuff30
guilty,guilty,guilty,guilty!
guilty of being cheap-made!

Last edited by kaboom; 12-19-2018 at 12:02 AM..
kaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 11:49 AM   #9
junktv
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: USA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,795
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

That deoxit is expensive. Any stuff cheaper and available at stores? I'm sure I could use something like that. I know I have some pots and switches that need cleaned.
junktv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 02:18 PM   #10
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,119
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

it's probably in secure mode - like a password - send a full erase sequence to it.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 05:37 PM   #11
kaboom
"Oh, Grouchy!"
 
kaboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
City & State: PA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,218
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by junktv View Post
That deoxit is expensive.
Borderline overpriced, actually.
But I had to get mini squeeze tubes of the "red" and "gold" to clean a tape deck rec/play switch.
It wouldn't stay "good" after repeated attempts with CRC 2-26.

Quote:
Originally Posted by junktv View Post
Any stuff cheaper and available at stores? I'm sure I could use something like that. I know I have some pots and switches that need cleaned.
https://www.homedepot.com/p/CRC-2-26...2004/100398344

Also works good on DIMM and card edge contacts with either sturdy paper towels or swabs.
kaboom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 07:03 PM   #12
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
it's probably in secure mode - like a password - send a full erase sequence to it.
If the utility in Parted Magic shows that it's frozen, use the desktop menu to put it to sleep for some seconds, then wake it back up.

Don't use the "Sleep" button in the Parted Magic disk utility menu-> There's a bug that makes the BIOS state fucked up and apparently causes motherboard BIOSes to keep falsely reporting an overclock failure, possibly until you clear the CMOS!
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 03:05 PM   #13
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,825
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
it's probably in secure mode - like a password - send a full erase sequence to it.
Topcat sent me the SSD... and yup, the SATA password somehow got set. Seems to be a common OCZ issue (why friends don't let friends buy OCZ?)

I tried to use an OCZ boot disc to secure wipe it but it immediately fails (forgot what the error was). Likewise, I couldn't find any OCZ master passwords online.

I'm all ears to other suggestions (or if you happen to have the OCZ master password, no it's not Toshiba's 32 spaces, I tried).
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 03:24 PM   #14
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,840
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Was the error something like "drive is security locked"?
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 03:29 PM   #15
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,202
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Well, it's not really a OCZ this drive, but a rebaged Toshiba drive.
So you might need to use Toshiba's tools for it (if such exists).

If not I've had success with Linux hdparm: https://ata.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/ATA_Secure_Erase
However please exhaust all other options before you try that.
For example the MS-DOS utility hdderase.exe is a "safer" tool...
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 05:38 PM   #16
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,825
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Per Hansson View Post
Well, it's not really a OCZ this drive, but a rebaged Toshiba drive.
So you might need to use Toshiba's tools for it (if such exists).

If not I've had success with Linux hdparm: https://ata.wiki.kernel.org/index.php/ATA_Secure_Erase
However please exhaust all other options before you try that.
For example the MS-DOS utility hdderase.exe is a "safer" tool...
One issue... I don't have either the user or the master password! Both methods seem to require one to know the password already... which I don't since it wasn't set by a conscious person.

Topcat didn't set it... it set itself due to a glitch of some sort?

Bricked?
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 08:07 PM   #17
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

This is a piece of cake under Linux. With ATA secure erase, you set the password, then let it complete.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 08:12 PM   #18
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,825
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
This is a piece of cake under Linux. With ATA secure erase, you set the password, then let it complete.
Can't... if you don't have the current password, you can't set the new password. If this isn't the case, please give me the command for such, as all the hdparm stuff I found required the existing password and running off a live arch stick I couldn't get anywhere.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 08:30 PM   #19
Sparkey55
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
City & State: OK
My Country: USA
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,528
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
One issue... I don't have either the user or the master password! Both methods seem to require one to know the password already... which I don't since it wasn't set by a conscious person.

Topcat didn't set it... it set itself due to a glitch of some sort?

Bricked?
I think HDAT2 or MHDD32 have options to unlock passwords and to reset the drives.
Sparkey55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 08:34 PM   #20
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Weird SSD Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Can't... if you don't have the current password, you can't set the new password. If this isn't the case, please give me the command for such, as all the hdparm stuff I found required the existing password and running off a live arch stick I couldn't get anywhere.
Normally, that don't happen, unless someone powered down during an ATA secure erase.

And you can normally set any password, just not too long, I would try 12 characters. (normally without an existing password)

And if it shows "frozen", put the PC to sleep, with the desktop menu, then wake the PC back up.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:07 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?