Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-15-2018, 09:13 AM   #1
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,824
Default Yet another Ratdude Supermicro project?

Scored a Supermicro H8DAE-2 for $60 shipped last week... and it came in today.

Specs: https://www.supermicro.com/Aplus/mot...55/H8DAE-2.cfm

Did I mention it was NOS?







The best part is that it was listed as "for parts" because "we didn't have a way to test it".

I don't have a case or anything else for it (yet), but for the lowball price I offered, I couldn't say no.

Other than "sell it/trash it and buy a new i3", any creative ideas? I haven't ruled out tradebait if you're also into this sort of thing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1040265.JPG (483.5 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg P1040266.JPG (438.7 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg P1040267.JPG (459.0 KB, 46 views)
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)

Last edited by ratdude747; 12-15-2018 at 09:15 AM..
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 09:44 AM   #2
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,037
Default Re: Yet another Ratdude Supermicro project?

My thought would be stick it in that case with the dead X7DWA, unless you replaced it already.

Perhaps a little more info would help, such as who's running what....would this be an upgrade to anyone in the household....or is/would there be a specific purpose for this? If you still have any netburst systems running, replacement perhaps?
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2018, 11:11 AM   #3
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,824
Default Re: Yet another Ratdude Supermicro project?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
My thought would be stick it in that case with the dead X7DWA, unless you replaced it already.

Perhaps a little more info would help, such as who's running what....would this be an upgrade to anyone in the household....or is/would there be a specific purpose for this? If you still have any netburst systems running, replacement perhaps?
^The X7DWA was replaced by the X8DAH+-F I'm posting from.

I have 3 netbust systems around; two are ATX x5DAL's (not compatible), the third is my irwindale box. Technically I could swap the PSU with an antec 650 I have (better fit for good GPUs, the existing ablecom has no PCIe power connectors and I hate adapters) and swap the board, but that system runs OK as-is and I think it's funny/cool to have a usable netburst system still in use (even if it won't run paxvilles). It's also not in use since it's been effectively replaced by the Emachines Sleeper... I'm toying with moving it to the garage and retiring (for now) the x5DAL I started with years ago since the latter hasn't been stable.

The other option would be to upgrade my H8DCI Twin Opteron X2 system that my wife uses... the coolers and GPUs would transfer. But that system also still runs fine as-is... and I don't like upgrading things just for the sake of such (as opposed to building things for the sake of such, which I do all the time!)

Choices, choices, choices... I'd prefer to find another case and start a new build; All of my EATX systems are 64 Bit and unless I plan to swap to windows 8.1/10, they're still usable.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2018, 11:55 PM   #4
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,037
Default Re: Yet another Ratdude Supermicro project?

Ever find a use for this yet? I wish I had a free eATX case, I'd take it off your hands.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 12:02 AM   #5
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,824
Default Re: Yet another Ratdude Supermicro project?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Ever find a use for this yet? I wish I had a free eATX case, I'd take it off your hands.
No. Other projects are consuming my time and toy money.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 09:34 AM   #6
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,110
Default Re: Yet another Ratdude Supermicro project?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Did I mention it was NOS?
Oh, nice!
W/o that, it might have a dead Chipset.
But with NOS, it might run a couple of years.

Yeah, those nForce shitsets are prone to failure - all of them...

The one on my MSI K9N2 Platinum also seems dead...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 05:55 PM   #7
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,824
Default Re: Yet another Ratdude Supermicro project?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stefan Payne View Post
Oh, nice!
W/o that, it might have a dead Chipset.
But with NOS, it might run a couple of years.

Yeah, those nForce shitsets are prone to failure - all of them...

The one on my MSI K9N2 Platinum also seems dead...
I've had good luck with Nforce Pro's ... I have the 2000 series in another system, and it's a daily use machine. Granted it's on it's 2nd board-- the first had a CPU socket fail one day... but I replaced it with a supermicro and haven't had an issue. I don't think the chipset caused the first board to fail.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:16 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?