Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2018, 12:34 PM   #21
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,030
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
I remember when I worked at the shop in fort worth. We had this investment company (small one) that contracted our work. (2010?)

The owner hired his old (really old) man as the it guy for this...like 5 person company.

They had a VPN connected between the lan and the old mans lan at his house. He backed up the dell xeon poweredge onto like 4 PPro servers at his house. You could tell this old guy had lost his skills. sooo much unnecessary crap. I know the cloud concept was kind of new then but shit, you could achieve the same backup with an expensive raided NAS, not these desktop-based servers.

last time I worked for him he refused to pay because he said *I* knocked their internet offline. I was going between the company and his house trying to figure it out when I noticed a bunch of guys were working up in an elevator. I wondered if the internet was down because they were doing maintenance on it or if the elevator work cut it off at his floor. The guys at work were already up the shaft and no one was around for me to question them if there was an interruption, an the old guy was impatient and telling me to come drive him home
LOL.....I can relate....I've encountered more than a few like that in my 27 year career.... You brought a similar individual to the front of my memories, and I could have gone the rest of my life without remembering what a pain in the ass this guy was...
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 10:22 PM   #22
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,030
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

I picked up 2x quadro4 400 64mb GPU's....which are basically geforce 4's with dual processors....and 4 monitor support. They're a little newer than this board, but they're PCI.....and well I only paid $7 for them, and have driver support all the way back to NT4.....We'll see what one of these can do....surely it'll beat a Matrox Millennium.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 11:34 PM   #23
brethin
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Owensboro, KY.
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,666
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I picked up 2x quadro4 400 64mb GPU's....which are basically geforce 4's with dual processors....and 4 monitor support. They're a little newer than this board, but they're PCI.....and well I only paid $7 for them, and have driver support all the way back to NT4.....We'll see what one of these can do....surely it'll beat a Matrox Millennium.
It should by a good bit, those are awesome retro cards.
brethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 02:23 AM   #24
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,391
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

wow good score with the quadro4s there. those gf4 ti based cards are going for 30-40 bucks on junkbay!
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2018, 01:47 PM   #25
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,030
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

Finding the sweet spot slowly. Put bigger fans on the CPU's of the PR440FX, since it has headers for them on the motherboard...

...and a closeup of that famous VRM:


Testing an adaptec aaa-131u2, a controller that can be a little fickle with older hardware....but it worked without issue on this board.



2x 36gb 10k RPM drives in a mirror. I normally stripe them.....but I just didn't this time....



majorgeek's 'unofficial' SP5 for Win2k installing...



The MSI MS-6107 fanless sinks got the fans originally on the PR440FX, since this board doesn't have fan headers on the motherboard.



This time around I also went down to FF3.6.27, as its far happier with this lame old GPU....it actually functions very smooth, all things considered with this all-around gutless system! More when the GPU's get here.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ppro_2225.JPG (337.0 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg ppro_2226.JPG (359.0 KB, 66 views)
File Type: jpg ppro_2227.JPG (260.3 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg ppro_2228.JPG (336.8 KB, 65 views)
File Type: jpg ppro_2229.JPG (335.1 KB, 66 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2018, 05:35 PM   #26
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,500
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

Now, it should be possible to run at least most SNES emulation without being slow.
And even PlayStation 1 games should run fine, but I expect Gran Turismo 2 to be the toughest! The graphics hardware should exceed the requirements for Gran Turismo 2, for Direct 3D 7 and possibly Direct 3D 8.1, but I dunno about the CPU.

Perhaps, for old skool games, like I mentioned, would be better with a Voodoo 2!
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

PNY GeForce GTX 960

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 12-25-2018 at 05:38 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 07:00 AM   #27
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,267
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

i guess i have been lucky.
worst ones have been foreign hotel/motel owners.
every stinkin one of them is an ungrateful cheap SOB.
had one who went off the deep end when i offered to program his new UNT for half what johnson controls quoted him.
ok find someone else or bend over for jc.
his business partner later apologized and was happy to have me do the job.
but he was the lone example.
now when those guys contact me i am permanently too busy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
LOL.....I can relate....I've encountered more than a few like that in my 27 year career.... You brought a similar individual to the front of my memories, and I could have gone the rest of my life without remembering what a pain in the ass this guy was...
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 07:15 AM   #28
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,267
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

i have 2 of those dual ppro boards rat-holed.
had 3 but a client lost a server to lightning and i used one to revive it.
having old hardware saved back=WIN!
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 07:25 PM   #29
Heihachi_73
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: Melbourne
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 580
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
Now, it should be possible to run at least most SNES emulation without being slow.
And even PlayStation 1 games should run fine, but I expect Gran Turismo 2 to be the toughest! The graphics hardware should exceed the requirements for Gran Turismo 2, for Direct 3D 7 and possibly Direct 3D 8.1, but I dunno about the CPU.

Perhaps, for old skool games, like I mentioned, would be better with a Voodoo 2!
Back in the day (circa 1999) I used to run Snes9x on a Pentium 166 overclocked to 200 MHz, a Pentium Pro should wipe the floor with my old machine clock for clock.

An ancient version of MAME should also run reasonably well but it all depends on the arcade hardware being emulated (e.g. Pac-Man is much lighter on system resources than Mortal Kombat). Personally for such an old machine, I wouldn't go higher than 0.106 as that's when a major core upgrade happened, but YMMV depending mostly on the video card and the game itself (you might be able to get away with versions up to 0.179 with a mid-2000s AGP card, as MAME took its next performance hit when 0.180 was released as deprecated DirectDraw/Direct3D code was junked in favor of newer code that mostly only works with modern PCI-E cards, rendering almost all AGP video cards useless unless they were happy with non-power-of-two textures - if your video card doesn't support certain things like NPOT textures, MAME will dump you in GDI mode, but can be forced to OpenGL in most cases although some cards hate OpenGL for some reason e.g. mid-2000s ATI Radeon cards and run a lot slower compared to an identical D3D mode).
Heihachi_73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 10:29 PM   #30
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,030
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

The GPU's came in. Huge improvement! FF12 is still sucky but much better, but I blame that more on the lack of processing power. 3.6.28 seems to be the pentium classic happy place.

I'm also working on a couple more GPU combinations. One is a Matrox G450 + a voodoo2. The Matrox GPU is great for 2D stuff, and the Voodoo2 can certainly pick up the 3D slack with OpenGL stuff....great Quake1 system, with a dual head 2D GPU. The voodoo2 was given to me in a junk box, I found the g450 on ebay for $15 shipped. Yes, this combo is more pentium2 era....but with something I'm working on will make this era appropriate....Ratdude figured it out....

Another GPU is the nvidia fx5500 256mb PCI. Cheap and plentiful!
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2018, 11:16 PM   #31
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,500
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Heihachi_73 View Post
Back in the day (circa 1999) I used to run Snes9x on a Pentium 166 overclocked to 200 MHz, a Pentium Pro should wipe the floor with my old machine clock for clock.

An ancient version of MAME should also run reasonably well but it all depends on the arcade hardware being emulated (e.g. Pac-Man is much lighter on system resources than Mortal Kombat). Personally for such an old machine, I wouldn't go higher than 0.106 as that's when a major core upgrade happened, but YMMV depending mostly on the video card and the game itself (you might be able to get away with versions up to 0.179 with a mid-2000s AGP card, as MAME took its next performance hit when 0.180 was released as deprecated DirectDraw/Direct3D code was junked in favor of newer code that mostly only works with modern PCI-E cards, rendering almost all AGP video cards useless unless they were happy with non-power-of-two textures - if your video card doesn't support certain things like NPOT textures, MAME will dump you in GDI mode, but can be forced to OpenGL in most cases although some cards hate OpenGL for some reason e.g. mid-2000s ATI Radeon cards and run a lot slower compared to an identical D3D mode).
I was happily running SNES games on the IBM Aptiva (C32, IIRC) Pentium 133 box at my family's back in 2001, IIRC. Ironically, the CD-ROM drive was manufactured in China! I think I just had a heart attack! (JK)
Because it was rare for major PC components (pre-1999) to even have a lick of China! (excluding tiny cheap ass speakers, LOL) It certainly wasn't like 2002, where by then, China was all over the place in the PC world!
It wasn't even 1998, when my family got it, IIRC, LOL! The PC was made in 1996, IIRC! A Mitsumi 6X CD-ROM, IIRC. I guess that's why it seemed meh.

But even the speakers, which were better ones, even though without a subwoofer, were also manufactured in China. That was a surprise, too, but not as much as with the CD-ROM drive!

I think that a lot of SNES games are at least fairly playable even on a 486 DX 100, (maybe 66 Mhz or 75 Mhz as well) if not an SX as well.

Nintendo 64=Forget it, you need at least a 700 Mhz CPU or near there. And you'll be lucky to play Harvest Moon 64 at 500 Mhz or near there with some slowness. (and that's with the recompiler!) (interpreter requires more CPU!)
And thus, Nintendo 64 emulation, is mostly a Pentium III class or higher project.

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 12-28-2018 at 11:51 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 10:31 PM   #32
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,030
Default Re: Topcat's Weird Pentium Pro Builds

Neither of these boards would POST with the FX5500, both beeped 'no video' error codes at me. I thought the card was DOA, but I did try it in something newer (a VP6 I had laying loose), and it POST'd right up. Must be some kind of compatibility or PCI compliance issue....ohh well, $26 gamble and the card was new in box...ohh well, I'll save it for something else.

The G450 PCI on the other hand performs very nice, all things considered......more whenever I tinker with these again....
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?