Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2018, 08:34 AM   #41
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

This one matches first 9 numbers? https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/272695645973

Last edited by nomoresonys; 12-21-2018 at 09:03 AM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 08:55 AM   #42
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

That's cheap...I'd say there's nothing to lose by getting it. If anything, you'll have it as a spare. This is what I used to do back at my old shop: when I wasn't sure which part was faulty, if it wasn't terribly expensive, I'd buy it and keep it as a spare if it turned out that wasn't the issue...ah the good ol' days when I was virtually running my own shop....none of this corporate sh!t where nobody cares about you and you're basically left unscrewing flat heads with philips...>_>
__________________
Wattevah...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 09:08 AM   #43
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

Whole page to look thru, might be a match somewhere, if those 2 don't work? https://picclick.co.uk/Tcon-Board-40...987820813.html

Last edited by nomoresonys; 12-21-2018 at 09:09 AM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2018, 12:44 AM   #44
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/free...6-7aa4934d380a

Found one cheaper and don't mind the 4 week wait.
I could only try a new tcon and go from there I guess.
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2019, 09:21 PM   #45
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

New T-con showed up today shipping was pretty fast.
The result wasn't what we was hoping for still got the same picture error.

So problem would be on mainboard wouldn't it?
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 03:42 AM   #46
angelos
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
City & State: Free State
My Country: South Africa
Line Voltage: 220V AC
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 202
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

Hi Amraks, i have never seen your youtube video because of it being blocked here at work but sometimes the bonding tabs cause weird issues. I hope its not that in your case otherwise you're stuck with a scrap tv.
angelos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 04:46 AM   #47
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

Pretty sure this isn't a tab bond issue.

Have been reading about ic1803 going bad after bad caps

This here is from a bulletin from Samsung about this tv
Symptoms
HTML Code:
   No Power, Keeps clicking, Clours incorrect, No DTV / ATV,  No DTV or RF signal on TV.
   SMPS capacitor failure causing No power or No DTV to above models.
   This is due to EEprom value in Factory setting change when SMPS failure (side effect
Solution
HTML Code:
 Product  :
LCD TV
Bulletin No.    : 10-LCD_TV-A003
 Model     : 
LA 40/46/52 M81BDX/XSA
Bulletin D 24 Apr 2010
LA40/46 N81BDX/XSA
Buyer        SEAU
LA32/40 R81BDX/XSA
LA32/40/46 S81BDX/XSA
LA40/46/52 F81BDX/XSA
Subject   :
SMPS failure due to SamHwa Cap causing MAIN BOARD EEPROM setting change
   No Power, Keeps clicking, Clours incorrect, No DTV / ATV,  No DTV or RF signal on TV.
   SMPS capacitor failure causing No power or No DTV to above models.
   This is due to EEprom value in Factory setting change when SMPS failure (side effect)
[Step1]  
  Replace Capacitors which bloated from SMPS (Refer Table below)  & perform data adjustment in [Step 4]
                ** If still fails to power on and keeps clicking refer steps 2, 3 & 4: 
[Step2]
    Replace Eprom IC1803 (8 Pin surface Mount IC)
                ** Once power on for 1st time after Eprom replacement TV will click on / off 3 times then picture will illumina
te
[Step3]
    Access Service Mode  Press the following
                ** TV in off state then on remote press INFO  MENU  MUTE  POWER ON
[Step4]  
 Perform Data Adjustment in SVC Mode (2.Option table & 8.Adjust menu, refer following pages)
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 06:59 AM   #48
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

Definitely worth a try, can you find the eeprom? not sure if this eeprom needs to be pre-programed???

Last edited by nomoresonys; 01-16-2019 at 07:53 AM..
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 08:48 AM   #49
nomoresonys
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
City & State: midwest
My Country: U.S.
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,742
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

One guy used this one: https://au.element14.com/microchip/a...oic/dp/1972001
nomoresonys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 09:15 AM   #50
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

Video's been removed probably since I can't access it either....
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 10:31 AM   #51
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,771
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

I have repaired a couple of older samsungs once i have replaced all the bad caps i then replace the eeprom with a blank new one once the sets starts up usually a few attempts the tvs have been fine i guess the set somehow re writes its own eeprom data back too the new ic
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 11:08 AM   #52
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 928
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinceroger69 View Post
I have repaired a couple of older samsungs once i have replaced all the bad caps i then replace the eeprom with a blank new one once the sets starts up usually a few attempts the tvs have been fine i guess the set somehow re writes its own eeprom data back too the new ic
+1
especially when the firmware contain the eeprom bin. which any TV able to downgrade its firmware had this section and can be noticed that the TV start downgrade or upgrade its start twice
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2019, 09:41 PM   #53
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
Video's been removed probably since I can't access it either....
Ignore the first video it had kids screaming in backgroup
Heres the video I took once I had it in my hands.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3zC...ature=youtu.be
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 12:31 AM   #54
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

I ended up pulling off the chip and erasing it.
now the tv is switching on and off every 2(roughly) mins still have the fuzz pattern.
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 03:16 AM   #55
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,771
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

my guess would be a mainboard issue what mainboard is used in this set
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 03:31 AM   #56
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

Mainboard is BN41-00888B

Given that I have this new fault would mean the eeprom chips data isn't getting written.
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 08:27 AM   #57
Amraks
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
City & State: Tasmania
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 582
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

well I took the chip off the board and read the chip there is data being written but still getting this new fault so would it be safe to say this chip faulty and getting corrupted.
Amraks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 08:30 AM   #58
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

You could try replacing it, though I believe at this point it's a main board issue and should replace that instead.
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 09:00 AM   #59
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 5,771
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

looking at your photos in post one it looks like your mainboard is a BN94-01200B (on white sticker) although i cant seem too find any for sale maybe you could look on shop jimmy and see if you can use another mainboad
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2019, 09:20 AM   #60
Diah
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
City & State: SA
My Country: Germany
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 928
Default Re: Sasmung la40m81bd - Recapped

how about you write to us the chip No you erased ?
did you flashed firmware after erase ?
did you logged in Service menu and from there you reset the TV ?
Diah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:22 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?