Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2018, 12:38 PM   #1
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,378
Default Netgear WNR2000V2 With DD-WRT software?

Hi guys; i have an old Netgear WNR2000V2 that i want to use as wireless for old PC with linux that do not work right with Xfinty main wireless router ,i was told if i install DD-WRT software will work and have better distance with wireless,anybody here uses DD-WRT software?please advice thanks


https://wiki.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.p...gear_WNR2000V2
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 01:32 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,739
Default Re: Netgear WNR2000V2 With DD-WRT software?

DD is ancient,
check open-wrt
https://openwrt.org/
https://openwrt.org/toh/netgear/wnr2000
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 02:14 PM   #3
retiredcaps
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
City & State: Canada
Posts: 9,088
Default Re: Netgear WNR2000V2 With DD-WRT software?

+1 for openwrt

I use it on all my routers.
__________________
--- begin sig file ---

If you are new to this forum, we can help a lot more if you please post clear focused pictures (max resolution 2000x2000 and 2MB) of your boards using the manage attachments button so they are hosted here. Information and picture clarity compositions should look like this post.

We respectfully ask that you make some time and effort to read some of the guides available for basic troubleshooting. After you have read through them, then ask clarification questions or report your findings.

Please do not post inline and offsite as they slow down the loading of pages.

--- end sig file ---
retiredcaps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 03:03 PM   #4
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: Netgear WNR2000V2 With DD-WRT software?

Thanks guys appreciate; do you think it's worth it? i have Xfinty 100mbps ,i have my own router net-gear combo phone/wireless Nighthawk c7100v ,i live in an apt second floor,on the apt signal is great wireless either 2.4ghz or 5.ghz on win10 on xp is also good and in linux no good,but when i use my laptop either on the seller or on the apt porch,when streaming HD video not good at all,my question will it be good enough signal wireless on Linux with streaming iptv? using WRT software,what i mean will it give me more boost for longer distance?
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 03:57 PM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,739
Default Re: Netgear WNR2000V2 With DD-WRT software?

it's not going to improve the hardware if that's the question.
you may want to get some RP-SMA pigtails from china and convert it to use external antenna's if range is an issue.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 04:48 PM   #6
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: Netgear WNR2000V2 With DD-WRT software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
it's not going to improve the hardware if that's the question.
you may want to get some RP-SMA pigtails from china and convert it to use external antenna's if range is an issue.
Hi sti of the software you posted which file should i try in the WNR200 v2?thanks
https://openwrt.org/
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2018, 05:10 PM   #7
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,739
Default Re: Netgear WNR2000V2 With DD-WRT software?

it's in the second link, if it's a v2 then this.
http://downloads.openwrt.org/release...2-squashfs.chk
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2018, 02:03 PM   #8
ivtec
ivtec
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
City & State: Fall River, Mas,
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120-60hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: Netgear WNR2000V2 With DD-WRT software?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
it's in the second link, if it's a v2 then this.
http://downloads.openwrt.org/release...2-squashfs.chk
i think i downloaded that and router now keeps blinking all day i think it's bricked
ivtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:04 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?