Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting & Designing Networks
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2018, 08:41 AM   #1
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,370
Angry Can't connect laptop to hidden network

Good day folks. This issue has been driving me up the wall lately and I decided I'd have to discuss it with someone else, since I couldn't possibly solve it myself. I've got a laptop which refuses to connect to hidden SSIDs. It's a pretty nasty thing - it's got an Atheros wireless card on it currently...been through the "reflow" oven a couple of times, managed to bring it back from the dead a couple of times....that's beside the point. The point is I CANNOT get this thing to connect to hidden SSIDs: it always says "was unable to connect to"...I tried manually creating a profile, reinstalling the wireless card, even changing the card and nothing helped...it's got win7 Pro running on it. There's probably some small quirk that I'm missing, like you know when browsers refuse to display pages because the date is off - that sort of stuff.....any ideas ?
Yes, if I unhide the SSID, it works and virtually every other device in my house works without a problem with it hidden. Please don't suggest unhiding the SSID and leave it like that...the question is why would a device NOT connect to a hidden SSID in general
__________________
Wattevah...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 09:31 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,764
Default Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

are you setting the channel number?
if you arent broadcasting the ssid then how will the laptop know what channel to be on?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 09:36 AM   #3
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

I managed to get it going eventually with a third WLAN card. How can you set the channel number in Windows ? I don't remember there being such option.
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 10:26 AM   #4
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

..but now I've ran into another issue: it takes it a very long time after startup to connect on its own. It does it eventually, but only after like 3 minutes :|
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 03:40 PM   #5
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,692
Default Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
..but now I've ran into another issue: it takes it a very long time after startup to connect on its own. It does it eventually, but only after like 3 minutes :|
Sounds a lot like a bad cat. cable. Is that with wifi? If everything otherwise looks fine, then I would do a real-deal fresh reinstall of the OS! If it's with wifi, run a command prompt as administrator and run tracert!

Reply with the tracert results. If there's packet loss, then you're on the same kind of boat as I was, which is most likely a bad wifi receiver and transmitter.
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

PNY GeForce GTX 960

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 07-05-2018 at 03:46 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 11:48 AM   #6
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,975
Default Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
I managed to get it going eventually with a third WLAN card. How can you set the channel number in Windows ? I don't remember there being such option.
The channel is set on the transmitting device not the receiving. It's in the router settings.

The question for me is why hide the SSID in the first place. It's more likely to attract skiddie hack attempts due to it being hidden and does nothing to improve security.
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 11:55 AM   #7
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,370
Red face Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
The question for me is why hide the SSID in the first place
I dunno...it's more of a mental comfort than anything, since I'm perfectly aware it's useless otherwise...I got MAC filtering going on too, which I reckon is a step-up.
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 12:06 PM   #8
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,975
Default Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

MAC spoofing isn't hard. A decent admin password and wifi password using WPA2 + AES is usually all you need.

I think hiding the SSID has the opposite affect, it's more likely to attract attention.
diif is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 12:20 PM   #9
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,370
Thumbs up Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

Quote:
Originally Posted by diif View Post
A decent admin password and wifi password using WPA2 + AES is usually all you need.
Got that too
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 01:43 PM   #10
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,764
Default Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

change the ssid to look like a printer or some other "connected" junk - that may put a few people off.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2018, 06:01 PM   #11
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122.5VAC@60hZ/200A
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,455
Default Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

Such as Nest-Thermostat-3
__________________
Don't buy those $10 PSU "specials". They fail, and they have taken whole computers with them.

For computer parts, go to Newegg
OR
Amazon.

For electrical stuff(pushbuttons, capacitors, etc), use Digikey
OR
Mouser.

Windows 10!? Oh yeah, that sorry excuse of an operating system that spies on you 24/7/365!

Samsung = Seagate = Seatrash = Trashgate
Don't buy Seagate drives. Don't use Seagate drives. If you have any in service right now, make plans to replace them ASAP.

TVs repaired: Toshiba 32AV500U
Stereo Receivers brought back to life: 1(Fisher RS-1056)
Stereos/Stereo receivers to recap: Fisher RS-1056


TechGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2018, 01:16 PM   #12
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,935
Default Re: Can't connect laptop to hidden network

I had that happen today on a Windows 7 laptop that I was cleaning up too. But it only happened once. After I pulled up the wireless list and tried again the second time, it connected fine.

Meanwhile, none of my XP machines have ever had a problem with that. I'll just chuck that as another random Windows 7 bug that will probably never get fixed, among many others. Or is it not?
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?