Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2018, 12:02 PM   #1
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 814
Default Two different poles - two machines

Thought I might share them with you. One's retro, the other is somewhere inbetween "poles".


1:

Delux MT375 case

JNC LC-B350ATX PSU - recapped with good caps and with completed filtering
Jetway J-7BXAN Rev2.1
Pentium 3 450MHz/512KB/100FSB - SL35D, Slot 1
Hitachi-LG DVD-RW, PATA
Seagate ST310211A 10GB
3dfx Voodoo 3 3000 16MB TV-Out AGP 2x
NEC PCI USB card
Yamaha YMF-719 soundcard
256MB RAM PC133
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222A w/ NUSB3.3
Realtek RTL8139C PCI Ethernet card
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180904_193901.jpg (986.0 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193920.jpg (1.07 MB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193925.jpg (1.12 MB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193929.jpg (1.06 MB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193936.jpg (858.8 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193942.jpg (810.6 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193948.jpg (839.4 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193957.jpg (1.09 MB, 6 views)
__________________
Main rig:
DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS, Intel Xeon X5450 3.00GHz, Sapphire Radeon R7 240 2GB DDR3, 8GB DDR2-800, LiteOn DVD-RW drive, RPC 500LBL 500W (rebuilt), AVerMedia Super 009 TV tuner, Samsung HD103SI 1TB, noname black case
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 12:07 PM   #2
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 814
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

And this is the second machine. It's still due to some modifications (a cooler CPU and a BIOS update) but for now it's not bad either.

2:

JNC RJA-52 case
Frontier LC-B400ATX - recapped with parts from a dead 200W Delta
ASRock 775i65G R2.0
Celeron 320 2.53GHz/256K/533FSB - LGA775
Hitachi-LG DVD-RW PATA
Western Digital WD800JB-00JJA0
MSI Geforce FX5600 128MB AGP8x TV-Out
USB Bracket
2GB RAM DDR400 (1x1GB Buffalo and 1x1GB Kingston)
Windows XP SP3
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180904_193738.jpg (825.1 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193751.jpg (783.2 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193807.jpg (1.06 MB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193826.jpg (629.9 KB, 4 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193835.jpg (1.25 MB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg 20180904_193842.jpg (936.5 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by Dan81; 09-04-2018 at 12:09 PM..
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 07:50 PM   #3
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,157
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

wow. wish you could get better stuff in your country
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 06:53 AM   #4
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 814
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

What do you mean? My main machine is a Xeon X5450 with 8GB RAM.
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 09:50 AM   #5
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

^I'm rocking twin E5649 Hex-cores with 24GB of RAM. Just saying.

https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=64744
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 10:09 AM   #6
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,027
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

Slackers!!

Attached Images
File Type: jpg frankenmama.jpg (89.5 KB, 29 views)
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 12:26 PM   #7
Dan81
SNES-powered
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 814
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

Eh, mine was a cheap kit I found through local classifieds.

Even more so as it is on a DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS, which is a desktop board

Came with 3x 2GB sticks, and I had another stick of 2GB so I have 8GB total.

It set me back about $62 (~250RON) complete with a monster-sized Cooler Master HSF and the 6GB worth of Corsair XMS. The last stick (ADATA DDR2-800, just like the Corsair XMS sticks) was free from a friend.

The PSU I kind of made myself from parts that were meant for the scrap, the GPU and HDD were free. Spent another $2 and replaced my Lite-On DVD-RW with a Sony Optiarc.
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 01:18 PM   #8
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Slackers!!

8 cores, meh. I have 12 with just over half the TDP



I know, this is turning into a d*ck wagging contest...
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 01:23 PM   #9
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
Eh, mine was a cheap kit I found through local classifieds.

Even more so as it is on a DFI Lanparty DK P45-T2RS, which is a desktop board

Came with 3x 2GB sticks, and I had another stick of 2GB so I have 8GB total.

It set me back about $62 (~250RON) complete with a monster-sized Cooler Master HSF and the 6GB worth of Corsair XMS. The last stick (ADATA DDR2-800, just like the Corsair XMS sticks) was free from a friend.

The PSU I kind of made myself from parts that were meant for the scrap, the GPU and HDD were free. Spent another $2 and replaced my Lite-On DVD-RW with a Sony Optiarc.
See the thread I linked... in terms of reduced investment, as "cheap" as my build was, you have me beat there. If it works for you, rock it.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 01:55 PM   #10
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,157
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

does free count as "cheap"

because I got a HP i5 with 12gb of ddr3, free
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 04:34 PM   #11
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uranium-235 View Post
does free count as "cheap"

because I got a HP i5 with 12gb of ddr3, free
Nope, that's cheap, no quote marks. I said "cheap" because just the mobo of that build alone (a much haggled $85) beat his $62 build. For what I spent ($300-$600 investment, including the initial cost of reused parts) , I got a really sweet system (worth $800-$1000 as built perhaps?) that does everything I want it to.

That said, I do have distant plans for another build to top it... but that's for another thread at a different time.
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2018, 08:33 PM   #12
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,027
Default Re: Two different poles - two machines

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
8 cores, meh. I have 12 with just over half the TDP



I know, this is turning into a d*ck wagging contest...
The hell with that! High TDP + fully buffered DD2 = toasty office!!
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:57 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?