Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2009, 12:18 PM   #1
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default ACER AL2423W - no display

I bought this display for 120. It doesn't display picture, only backlight was OK.

I dismount it, and found three capacitors blown at power board - CS14, CS15, CS16.

Power board Fortron - model FSP 112-3F01

I replaced them, and now it works OK.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC01396.JPG (67.8 KB, 511 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01397.JPG (69.9 KB, 391 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01399.JPG (73.9 KB, 396 views)
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 02:14 PM   #2
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Quote:
Originally Posted by dondrusco
I bought this display for 120. It doesn't display picture, only backlight was OK.

I dismount it, and found three capacitors blown at power board - CS14, CS15, CS16.

Power board Fortron - model FSP 112-3F01

I replaced them, and now it works OK.
Now it is time to do the Badcaps Salute. Extend your right arm straight up, palm facing forward. Bend your arm at the elbow, rotating it slightly so your hand goes behind your head. Pat yourself firmly between the shoulder blades and repeat after me: "Well Done!!"

PlainBill
__________________
For a number of reasons, both health and personal, I will no longer be active on this board. Any PMs asking for assistance will be ignored.

Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 03:53 PM   #3
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,296
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

replace all other crap brands while you are at it.
not sure about those hitano caps.
you have proof it is worth it so order some caps from the known good list and finish the job.
panasonic fc or fm are easy to get and ideal for your app.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 10:29 AM   #4
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

I bought another one AL2423W - the same symptoms and bulged identical capacitors. I replaced all. Now it works. Excelent brightness.
But I haven't got one 100uF/25V - I replaced it with 470uF (12V branch)
Might there be any problem with it?
The monitor has only one issue - when VGA cable is connected, electronic wrongly identifies mode. Instead of 1920/1200 only 1600/1200. Probably another capacitor in electronic.
DVI is OK
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC01646.JPG (58.8 KB, 239 views)
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 10:35 AM   #5
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

I won't start new thread, I will add another monitor of ACER brand.
AL2021. It won't work. No blue LED in off mode.

Typical issue - bulged capacitors. I replaced them all. Monitor is OK now.

I want to use brand capacitors, but I'm not able to buy it in Slovakia. I tried to order from Mercateo.at, but they have minimal order 100 EUR.
I have to use YAGEO capacitors - I will see, if they are reliable.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC01643.JPG (73.8 KB, 209 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01644.JPG (78.4 KB, 201 views)
File Type: jpg DSC01645.JPG (59.1 KB, 192 views)

Last edited by dondrusco; 08-07-2009 at 10:42 AM.. Reason: bad preposition
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 10:46 AM   #6
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

I will add another ACER - AL1921. The same symptoms as AL2021 - no blue LED.

Typical issue - bulged capacitors. I replaced bulged only. Monitor is OK now.

The second one has cold join under L101.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC01409.JPG (59.0 KB, 208 views)

Last edited by dondrusco; 08-07-2009 at 10:48 AM.. Reason: Add
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 11:49 AM   #7
PlainBill
Badcaps Veteran
 
PlainBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
City & State: Phoenix, AZ
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist
Posts: 7,013
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Quote:
Originally Posted by dondrusco
I bought another one AL2423W - the same symptoms and bulged identical capacitors. I replaced all. Now it works. Excelent brightness.
But I haven't got one 100uF/25V - I replaced it with 470uF (12V branch)
Might there be any problem with it?
The monitor has only one issue - when VGA cable is connected, electronic wrongly identifies mode. Instead of 1920/1200 only 1600/1200. Probably another capacitor in electronic.
DVI is OK
Good job on repairing the monitors. While increasing capacitance value by nearly a factor of 5 isn't recommended, when values available are limited, you have to do what you did. Glad it works.

As far as the resolution, is it possible the video card is putting out 1600 x 1200, not the 1920 x 1200 you want?

PlainBill
PlainBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 12:57 PM   #8
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill

As far as the resolution, is it possible the video card is putting out 1600 x 1200, not the 1920 x 1200 you want?

PlainBill
It's too strange. Resolution is 1920x1200, but monitor detects 1600x1200. It tries to interpolate. Picture isn't so sharp, as in native 1920x1200. I tried to change VGA cable - no change.
DVI detects correct resolution 1920x1200

Graphic card is Matrox G400 - excellent D/A converter.
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 01:40 PM   #9
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlainBill
Good job on repairing the monitors. While increasing capacitance value by nearly a factor of 5 isn't recommended, when values available are limited, you have to do what you did. Glad it works.

PlainBill
YAHOOO - I replaced 470uF capacitor with correct 100uF - now it detects correct resolution 1920x1200 on VGA input.

Thank you, PlainBill
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 04:46 AM   #10
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Nice example of AL2423W behaviour with bad caps

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWzPk08Ayk0
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 08:18 AM   #11
Bobdee
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
City & State: WALES UK
Posts: 461
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Quote:
Originally Posted by dondrusco
Nice example of AL2423W behaviour with bad caps

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tWzPk08Ayk0
Hello Dondrusco
Curious as to whether the symptoms on this one was also down to P/Supply caps, can you enlighten me
Thanks in advance
bob
Bobdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 01:33 PM   #12
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobdee
Hello Dondrusco
Curious as to whether the symptoms on this one was also down to P/Supply caps, can you enlighten me
Thanks in advance
bob
My theory is: capacitors need some time to 'warm up'.
They have to filter peaks from switching power supply. Feedback control lower voltage to protect from overvoltage. It rises slowly to required 5V
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 04:43 AM   #13
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

I received another Acer - AL2023.
There were real disaster inside. Both boards have bulged capacitors.
The power board 9 and main board 8.

Power board:
3x470uF/35V
2x470uF/25V
2x1000uF/16V
1x470uF/16V
1x220uF/25V

Main board
7x330uF/16V (I haven't got 330uF- i have used 470uF)
1x100uF/25V

I replaced them, and now it works.

Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC02008.JPG (87.9 KB, 258 views)
File Type: jpg DSC02011.JPG (91.0 KB, 218 views)
File Type: jpg DSC02012.JPG (87.9 KB, 193 views)
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2009, 01:45 PM   #14
tonnes
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Nederland
Posts: 7
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Hello i am Tonnes and this is my thirst post.
I've got an al2423w with no backlight. The backlight board is oke. I have changed the capacitors cs 10,11,12,13,14,15 and 16 on the powerboard but no result.
The power led goes on and after some time to orange (with no computer on it). It's a fsp112-3f01 powerboard and a the mainboard is the same as the picture of Dondrusco.
Maybe someone can help me.
tonnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 01:27 AM   #15
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Welcome, Tonnes!

If power led goes from green to orange - it means that power supply and main board controller are probably OK.

There are two possibilities.

1, Bad inverter - connect the monitor to computer and check display with lamp, if you are able to see any image on it.
If it is OK, disconnect inverter board and check voltages at connector to inverter. Probably 20V branch has some troubles - cold joint. Resolder joints under all chokes


2, inverter OK, but no signal to panel - you are able to see backlight lite, but no display appears. Then goes down with orange power led.
Check LVDS connector to panel, if it is not displaced.
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 04:09 AM   #16
Bobdee
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
City & State: WALES UK
Posts: 461
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Hello Tonnes
Also can you tell us what happens when its connected to computer
There are usually 3 fuses on these p/s boards, the inverter one needs checking out
Bob
Bobdee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 10:20 AM   #17
tonnes
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Nederland
Posts: 7
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

When its connected to the computer the led stays green.
Al the fuses are oke.

The connector to the inverter board:
Bl = 0V
Gr=0V
Ye= 19,8V
Or=19,8V
Rd=19,8V
Br=0,5V
Bl=3V
tonnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 01:33 PM   #18
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Post a picture of inverter board top/bottom.
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 02:26 PM   #19
tonnes
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Nederland
Posts: 7
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

These are the pictures of the inverterboard.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PC180005.jpg (258.2 KB, 211 views)
File Type: jpg PC180006.jpg (238.0 KB, 138 views)
tonnes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 10:14 AM   #20
dondrusco
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
City & State: Hamuliakovo, Slovakia
Posts: 79
Default Re: ACER AL2423W - no display

Check that three fuses (I think) - circled in red.

One of them is blown, probably.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PC180005.JPG (99.4 KB, 249 views)
dondrusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2020
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?