Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2018, 06:21 PM   #1
mgarcia
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: California
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Need some help Identifying Capacitor

Hello,

I was not able to locate any information on a capacitor I have. It says HEC on it - 1500uf10V. I need to get a replacement and was looking for the specs on it. Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you!
mgarcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 10:30 PM   #2
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

Don't understand your question. You want specs. on 1500uf 10v cap? All specs you need are on it.
__________________
I assume no responsibility for any stupid suggestions I might post.
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 06:52 PM   #3
mgarcia
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: California
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

Sorry, I've only changed the capacitors on a TV twice. But the last time I did I was told I had to research the other values besides those I noted to ensure I get the right replacement. I think one value was ripple and the other ESR.... if I recall right. Is it just as simple to make sure I get the same V and uf?

Thank you
mgarcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 09:03 PM   #4
dskall
Badcaps Veteran
 
dskall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
City & State: Bakersfield ca.
My Country: usa
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,052
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

If it is for a power supply you would need low esr cap 105c temp.
dskall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2018, 06:26 PM   #5
mgarcia
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: California
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

Thank you
mgarcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2018, 12:11 AM   #6
Uranium-235
Muffins
 
Uranium-235's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
City & State: tehas
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,163
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

A good quality brand too. Rubycon, nichicon, panasonic

It should say more than HEC. there should be a model name like SF, SM, ZB, just some of HECs radial models
__________________
Cap Datasheet Depot: http://www.paullinebarger.net/DS/
^If you have datasheets not listed PM me

Last edited by Uranium-235; 02-01-2018 at 12:16 AM..
Uranium-235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2018, 02:47 PM   #7
mgarcia
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: California
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

I've had this TV in my garage for almost a year. I never got the capacitors. I'm going to attach a picture of them. If someone could help me locate a good replacement, it would be appreciated. If I recall correctly, these are from the board for the power supply.

Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2920.JPG (249.3 KB, 35 views)
mgarcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2018, 04:53 PM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,120
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

remove it and see what else it says.
or just use panasonic FR series.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2018, 02:20 AM   #9
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,709
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

HEC capacitors are crap and well-known to fail. Replace all HEC-branded capacitors on your power supply.

That said, without knowing the series of this HEC (should be a 2 or 3 letter code), I can't tell you what would be a precise replacement. But in general, the following are caps I typically use in switching power supplies:
Nichicon: PS, PM, PJ, PW, PA, HE, HV, HW
Panasonic: FC, FR, FM, FS
Rubycon: YXJ, YXG, ZL, ZLH
United Chemicon: LXY, LXZ, LXV, KY, KYB, KZE, KZH
In all likeliness, any of the above listed brands and series will work as a replacement.
Digikey and Mouser should have most of these. Badcaps.net/store may also have some of these.

Last edited by momaka; 12-12-2018 at 02:23 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 10:11 PM   #10
CapSwapper
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: CA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 65
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

HEC ??!
CapSwapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2018, 10:37 PM   #11
copyrmaster
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: САМАРА
My Country: Россия
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

1500 mF микрофарад не меньше 10 вольт по размера там любой влезет напряжение если больше на новом будет ни страшно емкость на 30% можно выше если такого же не найдете
copyrmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 03:46 PM   #12
mgarcia
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: California
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

Thanks for the help and suggestions. Ordered some of hte Panisonic FR series.

TY
mgarcia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2019, 05:14 AM   #13
JR88
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
City & State: Canton OH
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

How Bad is Asia X?....sounds bad lol. Never heard of it.....I don't know Put some big Rubycon on the 12v rails in the Apevia….running good.

https://studio.youtube.com/video/QoBKGWG4Vng/edit
JR88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 08:44 PM   #14
coreAngel
Senior Member
 
coreAngel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: FL
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120 VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 106
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by JR88 View Post
How Bad is Asia X?....sounds bad lol. Never heard of it.....I don't know Put some big Rubycon on the 12v rails in the Apevia….running good.

https://studio.youtube.com/video/QoBKGWG4Vng/edit
Asia'x yeah that's Fuhyuuhu (i think i pronounced it wrong) it's still (sums it up with one word)

__________________
Yes i love Nichicon MUSE Audio Capacitors...they would look awesome all over any motherboard
coreAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2019, 09:39 PM   #15
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,120
Default Re: Need some help Identifying Capacitor

it sounds like a porn company because it will fuck you!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:03 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?