Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2019, 03:02 AM   #21
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Badcaps.net Origin & Roots - Topcat's VP6 Thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
All the repair work he sent me were for a medical center he worked for.
wow thats nice and an excellent plus point to advertise your work about. shows that your work is highly reliable enough for medical use when lives could be dependant or at stake! not many can boast that! hahaha!
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 02:38 PM   #22
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,267
Default Re: Badcaps.net Origin & Roots - Topcat's VP6 Thread!

I just did another.
It's for a weird sco unix based glass business box.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Go for it. KC8ADU has posted about it a few times (poly modding proprietary CNC motherboards that were socket 7).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20190121_170542.jpg (874.9 KB, 18 views)

Last edited by kc8adu; 01-22-2019 at 02:39 PM.. Reason: autocorrupt
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2019, 10:56 PM   #23
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,687
Default Re: Badcaps.net Origin & Roots - Topcat's VP6 Thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Funny, I didn't really think many would ever notice that.
But that's what the pictures are for, right?
I see you also have "Experimental" BIOS in there?? (bottom of the screen)
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 12:02 PM   #24
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,027
Default Re: Badcaps.net Origin & Roots - Topcat's VP6 Thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
But that's what the pictures are for, right?
I see you also have "Experimental" BIOS in there?? (bottom of the screen)
That's the BP6 BIOS, which has had a few more alterations than just the 'message line'....

The main thing, the BP6 has a utterly useless (even back in the day) Highpoint HPT366 U66 IDE controller onboard. THis controller can not be disabled either in the BIOS or with jumpers....so when you'd run a real controller (SCSI, ATA133, or SATA), it tends cause conflicts @ boot time, and the HPT option ROM always got priority.....so I removed the bastard!!
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 01:25 PM   #25
ChaosLegionnaire
HC Overclocker
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
City & State: Singapore
My Country: Singapore
Line Voltage: 240VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Badcaps.net Origin & Roots - Topcat's VP6 Thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
The main thing, the BP6 has a utterly useless (even back in the day) Highpoint HPT366 U66 IDE controller onboard. THis controller can not be disabled either in the BIOS or with jumpers....
what happens if u desoldered that useless controller from the board? does it freeze or hang the mobo post process trying to detect the controller that isnt there? i'd luv to desolder that useless shit from the board without messing around with bios modding!
ChaosLegionnaire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 02:18 PM   #26
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Badcaps.net Origin & Roots - Topcat's VP6 Thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLegionnaire View Post
what happens if u desoldered that useless controller from the board? does it freeze or hang the mobo post process trying to detect the controller that isnt there? i'd luv to desolder that useless shit from the board without messing around with bios modding!
But that's more or less irreversible... I used to do that too (may have ruined a rare AMI dual Slot-1 Coppermine board that way). Especially with socketed BIOS chips and having a chip writer or spare hotflashing board, soft mods are a lot better. Want to reverse it? Flash a new Rom. Screw it up? Hotflash a fresh chip and try again.
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 08:03 PM   #27
warrenwvr@yahoo.com
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
City & State: Pleasant garden North Carolina
My Country: Us
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: Badcaps.net Origin & Roots - Topcat's VP6 Thread!

Thanks for having me aboard this forum is awesome
warrenwvr@yahoo.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2019, 10:44 PM   #28
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,027
Default Re: Badcaps.net Origin & Roots - Topcat's VP6 Thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
But that's more or less irreversible... I used to do that too (may have ruined a rare AMI dual Slot-1 Coppermine board that way). Especially with socketed BIOS chips and having a chip writer or spare hotflashing board, soft mods are a lot better. Want to reverse it? Flash a new Rom. Screw it up? Hotflash a fresh chip and try again.
Exactly. Removing the chip from the board is too 'permanent'....and I honestly don't see desoldering it from the board having a happy ending. The HPT366 controller still shows up (and works) in the windows device manager, and that's fine, it causes no problems....it's just no longer bootable anymore (hence option ROM removed from the motherboard's firmware), which is all that matters.

That said, I have considered seeing if it was possible to swap the HPT366 chip for a HPT370/372 chip, which would upgrade it to ATA100 RAID....but I have not been able to find the pinout for either IC to determine if it was even remotely possible for it to work. They contain the same number of legs, I just have no clue if they're pinned the same. Implementing the HPT370 firmware would be easy if the electrical mappings were compatible with eachother (both being Highpoint chipsets). The HPT370 is what the VP6 got, and was a great controller for the time.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2019, 04:45 PM   #29
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,687
Default Re: Badcaps.net Origin & Roots - Topcat's VP6 Thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
Especially with socketed BIOS chips and having a chip writer or spare hotflashing board, soft mods are a lot better. Want to reverse it? Flash a new Rom. Screw it up? Hotflash a fresh chip and try again.
I don't know - for me, I'd rather do hardware work than software mods/flashing. Much less likely to screw it up that way - again, this applies to me only.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?