Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2015, 09:44 AM   #1
thajenius
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: Midland, MI
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Hey Guys, I've got a HANNS G that turns on to white screen. I have replaced the larger caps on the Power Board and power going to main board is steady 5.14v on two 5v leads and 5v SB. I power at the regulator of TCON board is 5.14v and 3.1v. All fuses I found appear to be ok. I have tried another TCON board with the same result. Where should I look next?











thajenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 10:13 PM   #2
thajenius
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: Midland, MI
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Any thoughts?
thajenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015, 04:13 AM   #3
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,864
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Yes - why have you posted these pictures off site and in line.
I am never going to wait for them to load.
__________________
Please upload pictures using attachment function when ask for help on the repair
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=39740
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 08:16 PM   #4
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,699
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Check voltages on test points VCC, VDDA, VGH, and VGL with respect to ground (monitor chassis). Tell us what results you get. You will need a multimeter for this.

You may have a shorted capacitor on the panel board (the skinny board attached to the panel after the T-con), or there may be a blown fuse, transistor, or voltage regulator on the logic board. Do the above tests on the T-con, and I think we will be able to narrow it down.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2015, 06:10 PM   #5
thajenius
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: Midland, MI
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Sorry Selldoor, I thought I read somewhere that they wanted images offsite. I don't see an option to edit the post now to fix.

Thanks for your response Momaka, Here are the voltages you asked for...

VCC = 3.288
VDDA = 4.80
VGH = .647
VGL = .952
thajenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 12:16 AM   #6
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,699
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

VCC seems fine.
However, VDDA, VGH, and VGL are all too low. For most monitors, VDDA is normally around the 10-15V ballpark, VGH greater than 15V, and VGL less than -5V.

The most typical problem that causes this is a shorted ceramic multilayer capacitor somewhere. But as you can see, the board has quite a few of them. To *narrow down* where the shorted capacitor might be, it is best to measure the resistance between VDDA and ground, VGH and ground, and VGL and ground (of course, do this with the power OFF and monitor unplugged). Report back what resistance readings you get. Make sure to note down the scale of the resistance too - i.e. KOhms, MOhms, Ohms...

By the way, can you upload the same images you posted above in your next post please? That way, if anyone ever has the same problem with this monitor (or a similar one), it will make troubleshooting a lot easier. Thanks.

Last edited by momaka; 05-31-2015 at 12:21 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 12:31 AM   #7
thajenius
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: Midland, MI
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Hi Momaka,
Here are the readings...
VDDA = .732 kOhm
VGH = 53.8 kOhm
VGL = 9.33 kOhm

Last edited by thajenius; 05-31-2015 at 12:39 AM..
thajenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 12:38 AM   #8
thajenius
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: Midland, MI
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Here are the photos uploaded direct to forums, thanks again for your help...

Ill grab some pics of the little boards connected to the LCD panel tomorrow.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 4EOgLaG.jpg (621.9 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg EuOtCfj.jpg (618.4 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg i6m4VpJ.jpg (560.2 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg lc19KWz.jpg (650.0 KB, 8 views)
File Type: jpg XkN5Guy.jpg (575.9 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg CDLZ0up.jpg (228.2 KB, 8 views)
thajenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 12:55 AM   #9
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,699
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

No problem, take your time with the pictures.

Looks like the rails themselves are fine, or at least don't appear to have any shorted capacitors directly on them. Than means it could be shorted capacitor in the path of VGH and VGL or perhaps whatever is generating VDDA.

So, check the following components for short circuit:
diodes D20C, D202, and D203 (for diodes D202 and D203, check all pin combinations and see if there is a short circuit between any)
ceramic capacitors C207, C212, C208, C209, and C210 (and any others you want in that area)
transistors Q203, Q204, Q205, Q206, Q207, and Q208 (again, test between all possible pin combinations).

When checking for short circuit, do NOT use the continuity (audible "beep") function on your multimter. Rather, use the lowest resistance scale. Touch both multimeter probes together and note the reading on the meter (should be less than 3 Ohms if you have a decent meter and probes). This is the "short circuit" resistance for your multimeter. Any time you see that reading or lower, you likely have a short circuit somewhere.

Report back what results you get for the above components.

With that said, I am calling it a night here and will get back to your replies tomorrow or whenever you post. Need to get some Zzz's .

Last edited by momaka; 05-31-2015 at 12:59 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 12:35 PM   #10
thajenius
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: Midland, MI
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

I started testing the items you listed and got thinking that I already tried a new TCON board so I didn't suspect that I had a shorted component there. I tried unplugging one of the cables going to the LCD (CN500) and the voltages are now as follows...
VCC = 3.53
VDDA = 13.44
VGH = 22.89
VGL -8.1

I also see that with one cable unplugged, half of the display appears to be working to some degree (See attached photos).

Also, VGL starts at -8.1v and slowly goes to -7.4v and then switches to +1.638v at which the entire display almost goes to white (you can see a faint image of the source video on the half that was previously working).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg lcdboard1a.jpg (1.56 MB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg lcdboard1b.jpg (1.70 MB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg lcdboard2a.jpg (1.48 MB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg lcdboard2b.jpg (1.52 MB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg P1000487.jpg (1.41 MB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg P1000488.jpg (1.05 MB, 14 views)

Last edited by thajenius; 05-31-2015 at 12:48 PM..
thajenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2015, 11:37 PM   #11
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,699
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by thajenius View Post
I started testing the items you listed and got thinking that I already tried a new TCON board so I didn't suspect that I had a shorted component there.
Ah yes, I forgot you mentioned that in the first post . Still, at least it shows us that VGH and VGL are not shorted in the TFT panel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thajenius View Post
I tried unplugging one of the cables going to the LCD (CN500) and the voltages are now as follows...
VCC = 3.53
VDDA = 13.44
VGH = 22.89
VGL -8.1

I also see that with one cable unplugged, half of the display appears to be working to some degree (See attached photos).

Also, VGL starts at -8.1v and slowly goes to -7.4v and then switches to +1.638v at which the entire display almost goes to white (you can see a faint image of the source video on the half that was previously working).
Interesting, so it seems to be working at first - at least one side.

The fading out to white happens because VGL is responsible for "pulling" pixels in the TFT off (or low... hence VGL).

I don't see much electronic components attached to the panel board (the board that attaches to the TFT panel itself). If VGL and VGH were shorted, I think we would see them. Perhaps also check resistance between VGH_M and ground on the panel board.

Other than that, I can only think of two things: either dirty cable between T-con and panel boards (unlikely) or panel going bad. If you have access to an adjustable power supply, you could supply VGH and VGL with that. If there is a shorted transistor in the TFT, sometimes you can "zap" it with the adjustable power supply. Of course, the LCD may no longer look perfect after that.

Last edited by momaka; 05-31-2015 at 11:41 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 05:58 AM   #12
thajenius
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
City & State: Midland, MI
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

OK, ill take a look after work.
Thanks for your input.
thajenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 06:26 AM   #13
zwarder
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Sixmilecross
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 11
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

I have the same issue screen goes white after 1 second.
Did you have any success finding the fault?
zwarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 01:33 PM   #14
nickhog
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: beaufort,sc
My Country: us
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

I have a HZ281 with opposite problem. My screen is black. Was working fine, selected a new web page, screen went black. Power light comes on and off with power switch, Power light turns green with either a VGA or DVI video source connected but screen stays black. No visible of bad caps, no burnt components or boards. Any thoughts or suggestions appreciated..
nickhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 02:03 PM   #15
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,699
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

^ Sounds like an inverter/backlights issue. Start a new thread and post some pictures there.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 06:20 PM   #16
nickhog
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: beaufort,sc
My Country: us
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 10
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

New thread started as requested... Hanns-G HZ281HPB Black Screen
nickhog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 09:54 AM   #17
rrflorida
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Tampa, Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Hi - I have the same monitor and problem as the original poster - white screen. I have replaced all the caps except the really large one. And the voltages on the tcon board are:

VCC: 3.23
VDDA: 13.11
VGH: 22.3
VGL: -9.71

Based on momaka's comments, these seem reasonable. Any ideas for me to try?

Thanks much.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hanns-screen.jpg (961.2 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg hanns-tcon.jpg (1.67 MB, 3 views)
File Type: jpg hanns-power.jpg (1.34 MB, 1 views)
rrflorida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 01:05 AM   #18
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,713
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Its the GAMMA Voltages you need to report, they are V1 ~ V14 test pads next to connector CN500.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 05:17 PM   #19
rrflorida
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: Tampa, Florida
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 12
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Thanks for the response, Budm. The voltages are:

V1: 12.94
V2: 12.43
V3: 10.00
V4: 9.29
V5: 8.89
V6: 8.13
V7: 6.75
V8: 6.55
V9: 6.55
V10: 4.33
V11: 3.70
V12: 3.06
V13: 0.67
V14: 0.21
rrflorida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 05:57 PM   #20
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,713
Default Re: HANNS G HZ281 White Screen

Please see this thread post #7: https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showth...ighlight=gamma

Last edited by budm; 08-31-2018 at 05:58 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?