Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > All Others Motherboards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2008, 11:40 PM   #1
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,544
Default Albatron PX865PE PRO - Light, Fans, but no Action

Picked up a nice server case with PSU for cheap 2nd hand ($10!) which included an Albatron motherboard (Socket m478) and 3Ghz Prescott

Seller said either board or CPU or both was faulty, (no POST - apparently it was fine one day and then dead the next - but who knows how much of that is true?) but I took them anyway in the hopes that at least the CPU might be still alive

Apart from light dust around the CPU everything looks fine. Capacitors are all Chemicon KGZ and don't look dodgy

Board will start, standby light comes on, fans go, but no beeps (not even with no RAM or Video) and nothing on screen.

Do you think it's the capacitors? or anything else this board series may be known for?

Last edited by Agent24; 07-16-2008 at 11:43 PM..
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 05:05 AM   #2
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 965
Default Re: Albatron PX865PE PRO - Light, Fans, but no Action

Could also be its BIOS chip corrupted by a bad flash - would account for no beeps (not even with no RAM or Video)
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 05:52 AM   #3
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,544
Default Re: Albatron PX865PE PRO - Light, Fans, but no Action

I had considered that, but can't really do much as it's not socketed. Unless it's possible to reprogram in-circuit, or someone wants to be very nice (and rich!) and give me an SMD rework station

Although assuming the truth is that it just stopped working by itself, I find that unlikely. (although I guess the chip could have randomly failed)
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 08:17 AM   #4
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: Albatron PX865PE PRO - Light, Fans, but no Action

time to play swaptronics.
try the proc in something else.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 07:50 PM   #5
Phenos
Member
 
Phenos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
City & State: The netherlands
Posts: 46
Default Re: Albatron PX865PE PRO - Light, Fans, but no Action

Are you sure that all the caps are "Chemicon KZG?" I recapped around 8 of the same type boards here.
The 1000uF 6.3V caps scattered around the boards where bloated GSC caps.
Phenos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 10:23 PM   #6
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,544
Default Re: Albatron PX865PE PRO - Light, Fans, but no Action

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc8adu
time to play swaptronics.
try the proc in something else.
The only other intel hardware I have is socket 370 or lower. Only AMD for my new builds. I've got a friend who has a P4 something but I doubt his board supports prescott. Probably have to see if there's any local places I can take the CPU to and test it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phenos
Are you sure that all the caps are "Chemicon KZG?" I recapped around 8 of the same type boards here.
The 1000uF 6.3V caps scattered around the boards where bloated GSC caps.
There could be a reason for that, I discovered that this board is actually v2.0 - according to Albatron, nothing changed except the onboard LAN and Audio chips are slightly upgraded. But maybe they changed the caps too. Everything down to 1000uf is KZG. Everything lower is G-Luxon. None of them look dodgy
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 04:36 PM   #7
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,544
Default Re: Albatron PX865PE PRO - Light, Fans, but no Action

OK, so I checked out the CPU (by buying another board, a cheap Asus P4S800-MX) which works fine. So it would appear that Mr. Albatron is broken. Maybe his BIOS chip is stuffed full of 0s, or otherwise useless data.

I'm currently thinking of a theory that I could make some sort of interface out of a PLCC socket and 32 pieces of (short of course) wire, that could be put over the chip and use to check/reprogram it without having to desolder it (which I can't really do). Not sure if that idea would work, though.

oh and the bit about it running fine is a little... hyped. Upon entering BIOS to check CPU temp, I noticed the 12v rail was flashing red. Then I noticed it wasn't 12v. It was 10.9v - not exactly spectacular. Checked it with my DMM which said 11.11. seems just a little out-of-spec to me.

I'm thinking this may be attributed to the Prescott core wanting more power than the brilliant feat of engineering that is a Chiefmax 420w PSU with 18A on 12v is wanting to give. I hope.

I guess I'll rip out my Enermax and see what difference that makes
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 05:28 PM   #8
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,544
Default Re: Albatron PX865PE PRO - Light, Fans, but no Action

Whoops, actually it was Chieftec PSU which is indeed it seems not up to the task. My Enermax is currently doing a nice 11.96v

I wonder if the low voltage from the Cheiftec was the cause of Mr. Albatron's demise? does this seem possible?
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 05:31 PM   #9
Harvey
Badcaps Veteran
 
Harvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 251
Default Re: Albatron PX865PE PRO - Light, Fans, but no Action

Have you measured the VRM voltage on the FETs to see if there's any sign of life?

Failing that, try warming the CPUs VRM capacitors up with a hairdryer for a few minutes before powering up - sometimes it can just give them a little bit of life to get things started.
Harvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:34 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?