Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Capacitor Questions & Issues
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2005, 03:34 PM   #21
bushytails
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 217
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

Mentioned bad caps on irc to someone, and he got this photo...

http://www.rifraf.info/images/hp_caps.jpg

More "TMS" caps, this time out of a HP system. he can't find any other brand on them either.

Willawake, want to add TMS to the photo montage?

--Randy
bushytails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2005, 03:51 PM   #22
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

aw that is just gross. they have expensive rubycon MBZ there as well.

do we have permission to use the pic? it is a great pic. what happened to the 2 removed fets? toast?
__________________
capacitor lab yachtmati techmati
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 09:30 AM   #23
AK0R
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
City & State: Hiawatha, IA
Posts: 203
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

Quote:
Originally Posted by willawake
what happened to the 2 removed fets? toast?
They probably died when the capacitors gave up the ghost. Either he took them off because they're DEAD, or they got so hot, they melted themselves off the board.
AK0R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 12:08 PM   #24
Rainbow
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: Slovakia
Posts: 1,079
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

It looks like they were never there - just a manufacturing option.
Rainbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 12:59 PM   #25
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

dont tell mikey he has an even better animated chick on his site http://www.rifraf.info/
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 04:21 PM   #26
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

I have the same motherboard that you guys have reported to have bad TMS caps! It is just not used currently and is in an anti-static bag right now. My looking on that motherboard I have, there are United Chemi-Con and Sam-Young caps where the TMS caps would go. In the back strangely there are three good G-Luxon general purpose caps on the motherboard I have in a bag. In the front of the board there are three Rubycon MBZ caps and the two good brands of caps I can see on my board in a bag is the Rubycon and United Chemi-Con caps. The Sam-Young caps on the the bad cap list but they haven't failed yet.
__________________
My gaming PC:
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T Black Edition 3.3GHz Six-Core CPU (Socket AM3)
ASUS M4A77TD AMD 770 AM3 Motherboard
PowerColor AMD Radeon RX 480 8GB GDDR5 PCI-Express x16 3.0 Graphics Card
G.SKILL Value Series 16GB DDR3-1333 RAM (4x4GB dual channel)
TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD (x2)
WD Caviar Green WD20EARX 2TB 3.5" SATA HDD
ASUS Xonar DG 5.1 Channel PCI sound card
Antec HCG-750M 750W ATX12V v2.32 80 PLUS BRONZE Power Supply
Antec Three Hundred Mid-Tower Case
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-bit

Last edited by Newbie2; 10-04-2005 at 04:24 PM..
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 08:42 PM   #27
bushytails
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 217
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

I don't think it had FETs there; not only do the pads look like nothing was soldered there, but he said the board still works great, he just put in the spare pile when he noticed the caps. (knowing it might not work great for much longer. heh.)

I'll ask him about photo permission next time I see him.

--Randy
bushytails is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 01:22 AM   #28
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,289
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

tms=too much shit?
btw the "missing" parts are for an optional phase not used on this model.
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2005, 09:48 AM   #29
UraBahn
Scrapheap Hound
 
UraBahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
City & State: Woodland, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 153
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

BTW, you can use my photo of the YEC in the Photo Montage if you like.
UraBahn
__________________
The ever-amazing (and ever-affordable) KY, Chemi-con's best kept secret.

I'll probably be the only person going to SteamOS once it gets out of beta (ha ha.)
UraBahn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2005, 05:39 PM   #30
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

TMS caps are very bad. Instead of the usual yellow/orange stuff we see come out of other caps we see TMS caps leak out chunks of dark brown stuff. Yuck.
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 01:49 AM   #31
larrymoencurly
Badcaps Veteran
 
larrymoencurly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 945
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

Quote:
Originally Posted by bushytails
Anyone have a capacitance meter? Some brands (i.e. Teapo) tend to fail with no physical signs... best way to document them would be a photo of the capacitor's rating next to a photo of the meter reading far lower than it should...

--Randy
Every bad cap I've had, except for shorted ones, tested fine for capacitance, including the Fuhjyyus from my Antec and the 1uF I replaced a few days ago for my TV (lower half of picture really stretched out). OTOH their ESRs were all high, again except for the shorted ones.
larrymoencurly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 08:04 AM   #32
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,838
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

Many of my "torture" victims can be double or triple the rated Z, but the capacitance is still in-spec (though much reduced from the initial C - +/-20% is a really loose standard).
__________________
PeteS in CA

Power Supplies should be boring: No loud noises, no bright flashes, and no bad smells.

Where might is right
There is no right.
- Sophocles in "Antigone"
****************************
All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
- J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring
****************************
To kill personal responsibility, initiative or success, punish it by taxing it. To encourage irresponsibility, improvidence, dependence and failure, reward it by subsidizing it.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 11:43 AM   #33
bobcaygeon
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

Heres a failed Fulltec (bulged), Jee (bulged), and a CS (bulged with junk coming out the top) capacitor from a group that I pulled from an older rebadged Leadman LP-8800D that I was recapping "for fun". Ironically, the only cap that was still good (or at least looked good) in the O/P section was a 1000uF Fujiyyu, so you know if the Fujiyyu surived these must be bad.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1010209_m.jpg (106.0 KB, 540 views)
bobcaygeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2006, 07:44 PM   #34
dood
Deputy dood
 
dood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
City & State: Berwick, PA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60HZ
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,444
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

Here are some GL caps from an older Biostar slot A motherboard:







These four were clustered around two MOSFET heatsinks that get very hot. Out of the 12 total caps on the board, these were the only 4 failed. Board was still working fine, but for longevitys sake, I replaced those 4.
dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 12:16 PM   #35
trodas
Badcaps Veteran
 
trodas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
City & State: Prerov
My Country: Czech republic
Line Voltage: 230V AC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 746
Talking Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

Time for my submission. Two bad Chemi-con KZG 1500uF 16V caps from DFI LP B mobo (tought the rest looking quite OK, so maybe the one is just faulty and drag down the other one with it?) - pics can moderator took from my thread about it there: http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...?t=1345&page=2 (likely the 4th one or so - your pick - or the second one? )




Now my Epox 8RDA+ caps - one example cap, two pictures:


Cap type 2200uF 10V GCS (re) 105CT31A

Friend old dead (burned mosfets because caps lost their capacity) ECS K7S5A mobo:

Cap type 2200uF 6.3V G-LUXON LZ 105C 1117 (M)

Enjoy!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg killedcap_Epox8RDA+2.jpg (71.8 KB, 113 views)
File Type: jpg killedcap_Epox8RDA+.jpg (70.8 KB, 100 views)
File Type: jpg killedcaps_ECSK7S5A.jpg (72.6 KB, 109 views)
File Type: jpg KZG badcaps3.jpg (69.3 KB, 139 views)
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
"I believe that all the people who stand to profit by a war and who help provoke it should be shot on the first day it starts..." - Hemingway my config - my caps

Last edited by willawake; 04-27-2006 at 04:25 PM..
trodas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 02:30 PM   #36
Newbie2
Badcaps Veteran
 
Newbie2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
City & State: Halifax, NS
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Complete Noob!
Posts: 862
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

In the first three pictures, why are the failed caps in PCI slots?

The ECS K7S5A motherboard has been known here to catastrophically fail when the caps go bad in the MOSFET area, killing the MOSFETs.
Newbie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 05:35 PM   #37
trodas
Badcaps Veteran
 
trodas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
City & State: Prerov
My Country: Czech republic
Line Voltage: 230V AC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 746
Talking Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

Well, because I obviously desoldered them from the mobo
You want me to solder them back in order to take a photo?
trodas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 10:04 PM   #38
PeteS in CA
Badcaps Veteran
 
PeteS in CA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
City & State: San Jose, CA
My Country: USA, Unsure of Planet
Line Voltage: 120VAC, 60Hz & 115VAC, 400Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 2,838
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

While UCC KZG series caps are not suitable for trodas's system, they are not bad caps in the common usage of Badcaps Forums, as I understand it anyway.
PeteS in CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 03:10 AM   #39
trodas
Badcaps Veteran
 
trodas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
City & State: Prerov
My Country: Czech republic
Line Voltage: 230V AC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 746
Red face Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

I do believe that one of the cap (the burned-looking one) was faulty and dragged down the other too by excessive overheaing and losing capacity - therefore stressing the other one over the limits to the breaking point...

At least that is what I think happend.

Still, they did go and ain't quietly, after all
trodas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 03:19 AM   #40
willawake
Super Modulator
 
willawake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: Αθήνα
Posts: 8,006
Default Re: The Hall of Shame - Badcaps Photo Montage

Quote:
While UCC KZG series caps are not suitable for trodas's system, they are not bad caps in the common usage of Badcaps Forums, as I understand it anyway.
until we see more reports of fails they are considered ok. Guys, please continue the discussion on trodas' thread.

Last edited by willawake; 02-09-2006 at 09:58 AM..
willawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?