Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2014, 09:39 AM   #41
bobbymih
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
City & State: Prahova
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ibhv2svdt6...35.22.jpg?dl=0
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2014-09-01 17.35.22.jpg (3.43 MB, 218 views)

Last edited by bobbymih; 09-01-2014 at 09:41 AM..
bobbymih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 03:24 PM   #42
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,359
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Ok that's a good pic. With the board powered ON, measure voltage at the CHASSIS jumper. Find the pin that has somewhere between 1 volt and 3.3v. Could be anything in that range.

Once you found it, turn all power OFF and unplug the power supply, and set your multimeter to beeper. One probe goes to that pin you found with the voltage on it, and with the other probe measure on the little 3-pin transistors around the Winbond chip. You should find one that beeps on the single pin at the top, which would be the collector or drain.

Return with these results and i will try to help you further.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeteS in CA View Post
Remember that by the time consequences of a short-sighted decision are experienced, the idiot who made the bad decision may have already been promoted or moved on to a better job at another company.
A working TV? How boring!
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2014, 08:06 PM   #43
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,359
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
One probe goes to that pin you found with the voltage on it, and with the other probe measure on the little 3-pin transistors around the Winbond chip. You should find one that beeps on the single pin at the top, which would be the collector or drain.
Correction - the drains are going to be wired to the pins of the Winbond chip. You should check continuity from the chassis intrusion pin to the gate, which is the first pin on the left, on the side where there are two pins.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 09:02 AM   #44
shahmeer1
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
City & State: FSD
My Country: Pakistan
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

hi, my board is P5Q SE2. Using the beep of DMM I found that DMM gave a beep when with the transistor next to the transistor you said to remove.
Please help!11
shahmeer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 01:10 PM   #45
shahmeer1
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
City & State: FSD
My Country: Pakistan
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Hi again. Thanks for the help @Th3_uN1Qu3 , I really appreciate your effort.
When I fixed the Chassis Intruded error. Now I am getting another message that is:

"new cpu installed please enter setup to configure your system"

PLEASE HELP!!!!
shahmeer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 02:19 PM   #46
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,359
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

There is another transistor around the one you removed for the chassis intruded error, that makes it do that. That can be jumpered too, but first things first:

1. Clean up the area of the Winbond chip very well with isopropyl alcohol and a toothbrush.
2. Remove battery, clear CMOS, replace with new battery.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 12:30 PM   #47
Milky Way
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: PERUGIA - PG
My Country: ITALY
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Hi Th3_uN1Qu3 !

Following your directions I was able to boot an Asus NCT-D motherboard, thank you.

With power ON has been measured 0.7 voltage on pin 2 of chassis intrusion detection jumper, found the same voltage on the drain of one of the seven SOT-23 NPN transistors and the same on a pin of the VIA IO chip. After the complete removal of the transistor I've found zero voltage on the IO chip pin. After three days of intense benchmarking no problems still has been found !

to Th3_uN1Qu3 !!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1.jpg (363.7 KB, 105 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2.jpg (413.5 KB, 119 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_3.jpg (261.2 KB, 118 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_4.jpg (356.5 KB, 105 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5.jpg (265.2 KB, 95 views)
Milky Way is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 04:32 PM   #48
kc8adu
Super Moderator
 
kc8adu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
City & State: dayton ohio
My Country: U.S.A!
Line Voltage: 12vdc,120/240vac,480vac 3ph on my bench
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 8,268
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

good job!
welcome to badcaps!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Milky Way View Post
Hi Th3_uN1Qu3 !

Following your directions I was able to boot an Asus NCT-D motherboard, thank you.

With power ON has been measured 0.7 voltage on pin 2 of chassis intrusion detection jumper, found the same voltage on the drain of one of the seven SOT-23 NPN transistors and the same on a pin of the VIA IO chip. After the complete removal of the transistor I've found zero voltage on the IO chip pin. After three days of intense benchmarking no problems still has been found !

to Th3_uN1Qu3 !!!
kc8adu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2014, 04:47 AM   #49
pushtius1
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: prahova
My Country: romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Unique, can you help un "consătean" de-al tau?
I have a p5ad2-e premium MB. Can you please point me wich tranzistor to remove and were to sold the wire, or what should i do. Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20141011_124343.jpg (1.06 MB, 94 views)
File Type: jpg 20141011_124348.jpg (1.24 MB, 77 views)
pushtius1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 12:58 PM   #50
shahmeer1
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
City & State: FSD
My Country: Pakistan
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

@Th3_uN1Qu3 thanks for replying I really appreciates that.
Which transistor are you talking about? I will be very helpful if you point it for me on a picture or something.
Thanks again, Im waiting for your answer.
shahmeer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 09:05 AM   #51
AdonY
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: Novi Pazar
My Country: Serbia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

hello, i have same problem whit my mobo, i touch jumper and the issue show's.
I have mainboard p5q deluxe and i don't know how to fix this problem, please help me i buy this mobo 1 mouth ago and now not work :'( !
AdonY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 09:08 AM   #52
AdonY
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: Novi Pazar
My Country: Serbia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Hey Bro can you help me, i have problem whit my mobo?
AdonY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:09 AM   #53
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,699
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdonY View Post
Hey Bro can you help me, i have problem whit my mobo?
We can't magically point which transistors needs to be removed. You'll need a multimeter and do a bit of detective work yourself. Read the entire thread, and if still unsure, post pictures of the super IO chip on your board (usually Winbond or ITE if I am not mistaken). Also, point out where your Chassis Intrusion jumper is.

Last edited by momaka; 02-04-2015 at 10:11 AM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 12:18 AM   #54
sim0n0
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: quebec
My Country: canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Hi, I have the same problem here, asus P5B-E,
worked fine for years,

I read the thread over and over, just to make sure, but I still have question,
I don't have any voltage at the pin #2 is this normal?

Manual say:

-+5VSB_MB,
-Empty
-Chassis signal
-Ground

Is the order 4-3-2-1. +5V being pin 4 or is thie 1-2-3-4, Ground being pin 4?
Anyways I only have voltage at the "+5V" pin, voltage being 4.9V, way more that than the "1.7v and 3.3v" Is this normal? I'm I suppose to have voltage on an other pin (Chassis signal)?

Also there's not transistor with that voltage near my i/O controller, though I have two transistors at 3.3V. (top righ on the pictures), And one "hidden" transistor between the battery and the panel connector (not visible on the picture) at 3.3V

Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20150206_005053_resized.jpg (947.0 KB, 72 views)
File Type: jpg 20150206_005201_resized.jpg (1.10 MB, 62 views)
sim0n0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 02:57 AM   #55
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,359
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

You are supposed to have some voltage on the chassis signal pin. Measure resistance between that pin and ground. The 5 volts is coming from the 5vsb rail of your PSU, and has nothing to do with the issue.

I take it you already tried clearing CMOS and cleaning the dust off the mainboard?
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 10:08 AM   #56
sim0n0
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: quebec
My Country: canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Hi, thanks for your reply, I'm happy to see you on this thread after all this time

Yes I already tried to clear cmos, change battery, clean everything, etc.

The resistance at chassis pin is 1420 ohms
sim0n0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2015, 04:40 PM   #57
Th3_uN1Qu3
Believe in
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,359
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

That's interesting. No voltage on the chassis intrusion pin, and a fairly low resistance to ground means it should be in the "closed" state, so a chassis intruded error should not pop up.

But maybe your board is configured the other way round. Put a 1k resistor from that 5 volt pin to the chassis signal pin. See if it does anything different.
Th3_uN1Qu3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 01:33 PM   #58
sim0n0
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: quebec
My Country: canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Same thing with the 1k resistor
sim0n0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 12:11 AM   #59
fdsasdf01
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
City & State: Manila
My Country: Philippines
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 8
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

thx for some knowledge. it'll be handy
fdsasdf01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2015, 01:12 AM   #60
mbahbar
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: mbahbar
My Country: Indonesia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: [HOWTO] Fix/Repair "Chassis Intruded Fatal Error System Halted" on Asus P5QL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Th3_uN1Qu3 View Post
Just finished fixing this one. Apparently, this is a common issue with all Asus P5 series boards. I first assumed it's a bad BIOS flash or corrupt CMOS settings, as it would go away once after resetting CMOS, but upon the next reboot it would be there again. Same if i changed any BIOS settings and saved them.

I read that people have flashed BIOSes to no luck, and someone pointed towards a transistor on another (older) board, so i proceeded to look for a hardware issue. And i found it. See attachments for fix.

Instructions:
  1. Follow directions in pictures
  2. Clear CMOS
  3. Power board up, redo all BIOS settings
  4. Be happy and have a cold one.

This should apply to *all* boards that exhibit this behavior, obviously the parts may be in a different location. Follow these directions to find it if your board differs:
  1. Remove jumper cap from chassis intrusion connector (if you're reading this, you already found it's of no use anyway).
  2. With the board powered ON, measure with your voltmeter and find the pin of the chassis intrusion switch connector that has somewhere between 1.7v and 3.3v on it.
  3. Disconnect board from PSU.
  4. Use continuity tester function of your DMM and probe on the SOT23 transistors next to the super IO controller, you should find it beeps on one of them.
  5. Power the board back ON and find a 3.3v supply nearby
  6. Power board OFF, remove transistor, solder drain connection (it's gonna be the single pad, just like it looks in the picture) to 3.3v supply.
The rest is the same as above.

I'm also going to tell you what causes the issue to appear in the first place in a follow-up post.
thanks man u save my board
mbahbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?