Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Computer Displays
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2012, 03:56 PM   #1
JoseyWales
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Hampton Virginia
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

I have to replace the caps on the power board. The main board caps look ok and only one on the power board shows signs of swelling.

the caps on the board are:
3- 680uf 25v
2- 1000uf 16v
3- 470uf 25v
1- 470uf 16v

It is one of the 680's that has the swelling and I belive it it the cause of the problems with the monitor.


My question is just what caps to replace them with. I want the best I can get for the job but I am not sure which ones to order.

The main board.. All the caps look good on it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg KBhUf.jpg (82.3 KB, 171 views)
File Type: jpg Ls6xS.jpg (151.9 KB, 165 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 03-03-2016 at 06:34 AM.. Reason: Offsite images uploaded
JoseyWales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 04:32 PM   #2
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,864
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Suggest you replace them all on the ps board - look to be Ost which are not great.
Order panasonic FR FM or FC in that order from digikey - check that the physical size will fit Width AND height.

Many regulars would prefer pics posted using manage attachments rather than in line.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:58 PM   #3
JoseyWales
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Hampton Virginia
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

I ordered all 9 for the power board. I went with the fr ones. Pretty sure I got the correct ones based on size. all are 10mm round so that made it a bit easier.
JoseyWales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 09:44 PM   #4
grtessman
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Phoenix AZ
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

I have to do the same rebuild. And wanted to ask a few questions if you don't mind... How did your repair go? Was everything fine after replacing the capacitors? I have the exact same problem, same scenario you described. I haven't yet taken mine apart but am looking to order the same capacitors. Do you happen to have the part numbers you ordered from digikey? I'm uncertain about the heights until I disassemble. I wanted to see if doing this manually or buying a rebuilt 715G2594-2 board would be better.

Thank you!
grtessman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 02:10 PM   #5
jajamumu
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: arcangues
My Country: france
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Hi , I'm from France. I have discoverded this very interesting forum
I have VK266H screen and when I switch it on it have a very important vertical instability becoming stable after about 1minute. Does somebody know the cause . Does somebody have the service manual? I would appreciate a lot.
I changed two caps but it's unchange . I tested the two voltage regulators 278R15 and one gave me some strange results but anyway the screen is ok after a while . When a failure appear for a short time only I think that I have better wait for a definitive failure to be able to find the cause.
I would appreciate any advise on this.
jajamumu
jajamumu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 01:38 AM   #6
Rtech
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
City & State: Harrogate UK
Posts: 1,087
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

To chase an Intermittent fault,is one of the hardest to ty and do.I would continue to use it as it is, until you have more and constant fault information, to try and find the problem.
Rtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 03:16 AM   #7
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,864
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

You could do some testing when it is good and when bad - might give a clue.
As would a picture of the fault- have you removed cleaned and reseated all cables
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 09:48 AM   #8
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

"I changed two caps but it's unchange . I tested the two voltage regulators 278R15 and one gave me some strange results but anyway the screen is ok after a while ." Caps and regulators on the main logic board or the power supply-inverter board?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 03:50 AM   #9
jajamumu
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
City & State: arcangues
My Country: france
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

If some body have the service manual I would appreciate to share it.
Thanks a lot. Anyway ,when the failure will be confirm I'll change all the caps as I know the original caps are never the best .....and also to get an obsolescent timing .that's the way for making new units and get them off just after the the time of warranty.
jajamumu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 01:58 PM   #10
Gingko
New Member
 
Gingko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Pantin, IdF
My Country: France
Line Voltage: 220VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3
Arrow Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Hello,

I also had capacitor problems with a similar monitor (VW266H instead of VK266H, which is the same without webcam). The symptom was that the monitor needed about 2 or 3 minutes before powering up, and during that time, the power led was blinking about every 5 seconds, like if the monitor was continuously "rebooting" at that rate.

This monitor, of course, uses the very same power board as above, with the very same capacitors. But in my case, the swelling capacitors were the two 1000F ones.

As I my job involves me in working with electronics components, I had no trouble in finding replacements among our stock, so I replaced these two ones along with all four 470F (not the 680F so far because they have to be ordered).

Now, right after this replacement, my monitor seems to work perfectly.

Gingko
Gingko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 02:03 PM   #11
Gingko
New Member
 
Gingko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Pantin, IdF
My Country: France
Line Voltage: 220VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3
Arrow Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jajamumu View Post
If some body have the service manual I would appreciate to share it.
Thanks a lot. []
and by the way, better late than never, here is a copy of the service manual that I have.

Gingko
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ASUS VK266H&VW266 LCD Monitor Service Manual.pdf (4.62 MB, 79 views)
Gingko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 06:26 PM   #12
Boro Guy
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: Townsville, Queensland
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Hello,
Like Gingko, I too have fixed my Asus VW266H based on the information in this thread - replaced 5 caps on the power board yesterday, now all is good again!

Thanks very much for the inputs from others, to this thread.
Boro Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 04:19 PM   #13
SpiderWaffle
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

My VW266H is failing too, I get a similar power up issue as this:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqHGihXIzaE

I've found after slowly cycling through the display modes (HDMI, VGA, DVI, ect) 2 or 3 times, it's been progressively taking more cycles, it will eventually display correctly with no visual problems.

However... It causes my speakers to create MUCH more power humming noise, and my other display to flicker/pulse noticeably at about 1HZ(and much worse when it's displaying more white). Also, my video card will hum as well. All of these symptoms gradually get less serve the longer the failing VW266H is left on. After the VW266H is off for awhile it starts back up again and this has been gradually getting worse.

Obviously failing Caps in power board, would there be any others to replace too, or just the bad ones in the power board?
Thanks so much!

PS. sometimes it's had this one yellow vertical line permanently stuck in image, it showed up after about 2 years, then went away completely for about 3-4 years, now sometimes shows back up again. It will go away completely after monitor is in use for a few hours or less if it does show up at all.
SpiderWaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2016, 09:06 PM   #14
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,687
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpiderWaffle View Post
Obviously failing Caps in power board, would there be any others to replace too, or just the bad ones in the power board?
Just replace every capacitor on the power board except for the very big one, since it rarely fails.

The capacitors on the video/logic board *usually* do not go bad as often as the ones on the power board, but if you feel like it, you could replace them as well.

Here's in an updated list of suitable capacitors you can use in the power supply:

Manufacturer................................Series
Nichicon ................................ PW, PM, PS, PJ, PV, HE, HD, HW
United Chemicon (UCC) ............ KY, KYA, KYB, KZE, LXV, LXY, LXZ, KZH, KZM
Panasonic .............................. FC, FK, HFQ (old stock only), FR, FM
Samxon ................................. RS
Rubycon ................................ YXJ, YXG, ZL, ZLJ, ZLK

Last edited by momaka; 02-13-2016 at 09:07 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 06:48 AM   #15
SpiderWaffle
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

To my dismay I don't see any bulging on any of the caps on the power board. Do you see anything wrong with this power board?
Should I still replace all these caps?
Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2016-03-01 04.19.48.jpg (399.8 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg 2016-03-01 04.20.11.jpg (460.4 KB, 36 views)

Last edited by Per Hansson; 03-01-2016 at 09:33 AM.. Reason: Offsite images uploaded
SpiderWaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 10:05 AM   #16
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Bad caps can look normal but the capacitance may have drop or the ESR are high, you cannot really tell by using visual inspection alone.
budm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 10:48 AM   #17
jetadm123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: California
Posts: 2,132
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

If those are CapXon caps on the mainboard, I'd definitely replace them.
jetadm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 12:56 AM   #18
SpiderWaffle
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetadm123 View Post
If those are CapXon caps on the mainboard, I'd definitely replace them.
Yes, the mainboard has 12 little ones, and 2 470uF ones, all CapXon. You'd replace all of them? They also show no physical signs of wear.

The ones on the powerboard are all eLite.
SpiderWaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 04:17 PM   #19
jetadm123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: California
Posts: 2,132
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Yes, I would replace them. As budm said, caps don't have to look physically bad to be bad. And CapXon caps are of low quality and should be replaced on sight.
jetadm123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 09:38 PM   #20
SpiderWaffle
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
City & State: California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: Asus VK266H Monitor rebuild.

Alright, does this seems like a good buy on the caps then?

http://www.amazon.com/Asus-VK266-Mon...K266+capacitor

Also I can desolder and measure them individually and only order replacements for ones that don't measure well, is this a reasonable idea or just do the whole lot?
SpiderWaffle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?