Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2015, 04:20 PM   #1
passete
Living=Sharing
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: France
My Country: France
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

I'm desperate to find the bios for this mobo, i got the mobo naked and i don't know from which desktop it comes.
I have made a backup from bios chip, and it's a winbond W25X64 and it's a 8mb file.
all the bios that I was able to find are 3mb on size.
Please Help me.

Thank you
passete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 03:10 PM   #2
passete
Living=Sharing
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: France
My Country: France
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

Anyone to help please ?
Thanks
passete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 05:03 PM   #3
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,120
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

upload the 3meg bios file, acer website is useless.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 07:34 PM   #4
passete
Living=Sharing
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: France
My Country: France
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
upload the 3meg bios file, acer website is useless.
Here the backup from my bios chip :
https://mega.co.nz/#!nY1AlJDJ!FLQnJV...UvepUU90htxhPw

And here the bios from Acer site :
https://mega.co.nz/#!PM1mVRiZ!7g6kfK...F5BeM5hybuAMTU

Let me know if you need anything else.
Thanks
passete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 08:54 PM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,120
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

it's a UEFI bios, those use a hidden partition on the harddrive, i'm not sure how to get around those.

what's wrong wih the machine?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2015, 09:22 PM   #6
passete
Living=Sharing
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: France
My Country: France
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

previous owner (eBay) says that it stuck on Acer logo, no other explanation, it seems that it happened after a update.
Here, I only get the fan to run fast, but no keyboard, video, mouse activity.
But even to get it started, I need to start the mobo several times, causes it seems that the psu is not giving enough juice (tried a 400 and 550 watts psu's).
passete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 01:56 AM   #7
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,120
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

unplug all the sata cables and try it.
what cards are in it?

and post a foto, i'v never seen an acer desktop board.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 11:23 AM   #8
passete
Living=Sharing
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: France
My Country: France
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a



Please, anyone to help ?
passete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 03:29 PM   #9
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,120
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

Quote:
Originally Posted by passete View Post


Please, anyone to help ?
so what happens if you unplug the drives?
you cant just flash a UEFI bios if the table on the drive is corrupt or the version does not match!


let me be more specific.
UEFI bios stores configuration data and other "stuff" on a hidden drive partition.
and bad sata drives can stop a motherboard starting.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 06:37 PM   #10
passete
Living=Sharing
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: France
My Country: France
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 473
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
so what happens if you unplug the drives?
you cant just flash a UEFI bios if the table on the drive is corrupt or the version does not match!


let me be more specific.
UEFI bios stores configuration data and other "stuff" on a hidden drive partition.
and bad sata drives can stop a motherboard starting.
It means that if my hdd dies, I'm stuck and need to buy another mobo ?
I bought the mobo alone/naked, well with the rear plate.
passete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2015, 07:52 PM   #11
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,120
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

no, it means if your harddrive dies it can stop the board starting until it's unplugged.

so you have a board and cpu + ram.
are you testing it with a psu?
show a foto of the setup.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 02:32 AM   #12
pm1235
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
City & State: Selangor
My Country: Malaysia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: Bios for Acer Desktop Motherboard IPIMB-AR Rev1.02a

It's Acer Aspire M3985 mainboard.
pm1235 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2019, 04:34 PM   #13
zel84
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
City & State: beograd
My Country: srbija
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by passete View Post
Here the backup from my bios chip :
https://mega.co.nz/#!nY1AlJDJ!FLQnJV...UvepUU90htxhPw

And here the bios from Acer site :
https://mega.co.nz/#!PM1mVRiZ!7g6kfK...F5BeM5hybuAMTU

Let me know if you need anything else.
Thanks
Links do not work, please for new ones
zel84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:46 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?