Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2018, 10:04 PM   #1
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build



hmmmm....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2191.JPG (230.2 KB, 135 views)
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2018, 12:39 PM   #2
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

...and will the mystery board sign in please: Supermicro S2DGU

Recap time!!

It's loaded with those phony NRSY caps. None were visibly failing....but I did check them upon removal, none of them were in spec.





Another 'made in the USA' gem from the golden era of the PC!


Some fresh caps.





Testing....and passed.



For you young pups that have never seen one of these CPU's and dont realize how big they are.....



XP installed, firefox 24


CPU-Z




Of course this was posted from it...more later after it's hotwashed. I need to find the right case for this little treasure! It's a standard ATX, but not just any case is worthy of being occupied by this marvel!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2192.JPG (359.5 KB, 119 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2193.JPG (380.9 KB, 116 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2194.JPG (408.9 KB, 116 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2195.JPG (446.8 KB, 115 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2196.JPG (341.3 KB, 118 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2197.JPG (369.1 KB, 115 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2203.JPG (294.2 KB, 114 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2204.JPG (345.8 KB, 114 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2205.JPG (242.6 KB, 113 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2206.JPG (270.7 KB, 114 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 05:04 PM   #3
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

I tinkered with this one a little today....

As if these boards aren't rare enough, getting all the CPU mounting hardware is even more rare!





CPU 2 required a little modification to the heatsink, attaching a fan....since it was originally intended to be in a case-specific wind tunnel in a rackmount case.



GPU change.....



All the brackets assembled, CPU's installed.






...and away we go!



2x 73gb 10k Fujitsu HDD's in a raid0


Pretty old school blue install screen!


A bit more gooey...or should I say GUI...


Now for an interesting strangeness for Supermicro.... There's a mystery setting in the BIOS called "Manufacture Setting", which isn't documented in the manual....come to find out, it allows for minor increases in the FSB above the default....It doesn't give specific 'speeds', but I've read of 103, 112, 120, and 133. The "mode 2" setting (103FSB), runs the CPU's up to 927. The 112 setting, the board would not POST, which would have the CPU clock @ around 1GHz....apparently the CPU's can't handle that....so I didn't go any higher....but all the same, a very unusual hidden feature for Supermicro, especially for the era and SM's reputation about not being overclocking-friendly!



Massive L2 caches for the time....when the consumer-grade P3's were a whopping 256k.


That's all for now...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2230.JPG (392.1 KB, 89 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2231.JPG (325.9 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2232.JPG (247.6 KB, 87 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2233.JPG (383.8 KB, 88 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2234.JPG (308.4 KB, 86 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2235.JPG (299.8 KB, 86 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2236.JPG (288.4 KB, 85 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2237.JPG (302.3 KB, 85 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2238.JPG (294.0 KB, 84 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2239.JPG (291.7 KB, 84 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2240.JPG (288.5 KB, 85 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2242.JPG (228.1 KB, 84 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2241.JPG (209.8 KB, 84 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 08:40 PM   #4
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

There's a good chance that the chipset is holding it back, just like the "regular" Via KT133! (I heard that the Via KT133A fixes that and actually supports 133 Mhz)

The "regular" Via KT133 would do shit like that on my early socket-462 motherboards. (can't even go to 110 Mhz or next to that) (would be lucky to do 102 Mhz with stability!)
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

PNY GeForce GTX 960

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 10:18 PM   #5
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

^
That's kind of a no-brainer. The GX chipset (like its little brother, the BX chipset), never officially had 133FSB support because of the AGP & PCI dividers. Anything above 100FSB would force overclocked AGP & PCI buses, and the AGP was usually the deal breaker.....the big thing about the GX is Xeon support and more memory support.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2019, 11:32 PM   #6
TechGeek
Computer Geek
 
TechGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Texas
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 122.5VAC@60hZ/200A
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 1,412
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

A) Born in the USA, revived in the USA!

B) I wonder how well that will run something 7 or a modern Linux distro.
__________________
Don't buy those $10 PSU "specials". They fail, and they have taken whole computers with them.

For computer parts, go to Newegg
OR
Amazon.

For electrical stuff(pushbuttons, capacitors, etc), use Digikey
OR
Mouser.

Windows 10!? Oh yeah, that sorry excuse of an operating system that spies on you 24/7/365!

Samsung = Seagate = Seatrash = Trashgate
Don't buy Seagate drives. Don't use Seagate drives. If you have any in service right now, make plans to replace them ASAP.

TVs repaired: Toshiba 32AV500U
Stereo Receivers brought back to life: 1(Fisher RS-1056)
Stereos/Stereo receivers to recap: Fisher RS-1056


TechGeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 12:31 PM   #7
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGeek View Post
B) I wonder how well that will run something 7 or a modern Linux distro.
The oldest/slowest I've ran W7 on was a dual Tualatin-S @ 1.4 with 4gb RAM (3.5gb usable). It wasn't a speed demon by any stretch, but it was very usable even by standards for Win7. I dont know how well a dual P3 Xeon @ 900 would fare in comparison..... I'd have to find an IDE DVD ROM drive....USB booting wasn't even a twinkle in anyone's eyes back when this was made.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 05:41 PM   #8
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I dont know how well a dual P3 Xeon @ 900 would fare in comparison.....
900 Mhz is good for old school game emulation, including most Nintendo 64 titles.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 10:22 PM   #9
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Nintendo ended for me with Super Mario Bros 3.....my fav NES classic game..... I got into PC gaming shortly after, never looked at a console again.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 04:07 PM   #10
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Nintendo ended for me with Super Mario Bros 3.....my fav NES classic game..... I got into PC gaming shortly after, never looked at a console again.
UK-based Rare, had very good games for the Nintendo 64 platform!

I missed Goldeneye! (That game came out in 1997 and I first played Goldeneye on a rented real-deal Nintendo 64, IIRC.)
(That was in December, 1997, when we also had people doing multiplayer with Goldeneye, IIRC.)

Then I played that one a ton in single-player-mission-mode on a real-deal Nintendo 64 in 1999! (IIRC)

For me, it wasn't until around the time where I regularly played on a Super Nintendo, the games Super Mario World, Street Fighter 2 (Street Fighter for SNES) and Donkey Kong Country (1994 and possibly 1995, IIRC), when I suddenly became an IBM-clone/compatible computer addict! (mainly starting in 1996 and likely 1995) (even though I first got to hop on the internet in 1994, and that was when I got lost!) (IIRC)

Donkey Kong Country just came out in 1994 for the Super Nintendo and was made by UK-based Rare!

(I have a hard time remembering, but I think I got punished in 1995, for being very new to computers!) (deleted support files by accident!)

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 01-03-2019 at 04:34 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 04:39 PM   #11
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
Nintendo ended for me with Super Mario Bros 3.....my fav NES classic game.....
I played that one a ton in 1991! (IIRC) When I was 10! (IIRC) And probably afterwards as well!

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 01-03-2019 at 04:41 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 01:36 PM   #12
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

I finally put this one together.....in the hunt for just the right case, I found some brand new in box Chenbro SR209 beige cases. Quality is good, no sharp edges, comes with all the fans....and did I mention its brand new? A new in box beige case isn't the easiest thing to find these days!!

Test fitting things....






Case fascia:


Box shot....


Card fan.


HDD Cage:






Freshly recapped Enlight PSU.


Coming together...






Just about done....








It's alive!!


This post of course created from it:


Final specs are:
Supermicro S2DGU Motherboard
2x P3 Xeon 900's @ 927/103
2gb ECC PC133
3DFX Voodoo 3500 Graphics (my last one)
Sound Blaster Audigy
ARO-1130C RAIDport upgrade mated to the onboard AIC-7895 U2 SCSI controller
2x 73gb 10k RPM SCSI HDD's in a raid1
Plextor wide scsi 32x cdrom
Adaptec ANA-6922 dual port NIC
Attached Images
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2243.JPG (296.3 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2244.JPG (260.8 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2245.JPG (244.0 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2246.JPG (264.2 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2247.JPG (216.5 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2248.JPG (226.9 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2249.JPG (179.4 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2250.JPG (252.7 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2251.JPG (262.5 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2252.JPG (195.6 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2253.JPG (244.9 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2254.JPG (325.1 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2255.JPG (282.1 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2256.JPG (218.6 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2257.JPG (227.2 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2258.JPG (273.3 KB, 46 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2259.JPG (232.5 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2260.JPG (267.4 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg s2dgu_2261.JPG (263.0 KB, 49 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 08:42 PM   #13
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Bit of a shocker that you need an adapter for VGA! Reminds me of 2010s' video cards, LOL.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 12:34 AM   #14
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
Bit of a shocker that you need an adapter for VGA! Reminds me of 2010s' video cards, LOL.
It's not DVI, it's an EVC interface. It's the breakout box for the TV tuner & capture functions. This card is circa 1999.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 02:49 PM   #15
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
It's not DVI. It's the breakout box for the TV tuner & capture functions. This card is circa 1999.
So I suspect an adapter like the Voodoo 2? I don't remember ATM. I know that the Voodoo 2 needed the included adapters to connect between the primary and secondary card, which was what pre-Voodoo 3 was.

Yeah, I know that the Voodoo 3 is from 1999, I had a Voodoo 3 3000 AGP back in the Bush Jr. era. I bought NOS in April, 2001! And then in 2005 or around there, I had to look for another one, as it acted like it had a shit solder joint, much of the time, my first one, caused the BIOS to give a bleep code for video init failure! (other times, usually just sits there at a black screen)

The intermittent behavior (only works randomly) means I likely fractured a solder joint!

Last edited by RJARRRPCGP; 01-07-2019 at 02:58 PM..
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 12:55 AM   #16
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
So I suspect an adapter like the Voodoo 2? I don't remember ATM. I know that the Voodoo 2 needed the included adapters to connect between the primary and secondary card, which was what pre-Voodoo 3 was.
The voodoo2 needed no adapters, just the passthrough cable from your 2D GPU. The Voodoo3500 connector is something proprietary, the card is useless without the dongle....although there is a HP graphics adapter that will convert that output to a 15-pin sub-d....but they're very hard to find and expensive....so you just don't lose the dongle/breakout box....
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 01:01 AM   #17
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,505
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
The voodoo2 needed no adapters, just the passthrough cable from your 2D GPU. The Voodoo3500 connector is something proprietary, the card is useless without the dongle....although there is a HP graphics adapter that will convert that output to a 15-pin sub-d....but they're very hard to find and expensive....so you just don't lose the dongle/breakout box....
The Voodoo 2, does have an extension cable, where you join two cards in parallel, so that 3D with Glide will go through the same VGA cable.
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2019, 08:52 AM   #18
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,038
Default Re: Not Even BCN's Russia Connections Can Top This One - Supermicro S2DGU Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJARRRPCGP View Post
The Voodoo 2, does have an extension cable, where you join two cards in parallel, so that 3D with Glide will go through the same VGA cable.
That's the passthrough cable....if they're SLI, there's an internal ribbon that connects the two.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:10 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?