Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2018, 09:38 PM   #1
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

It's been a while since I've done one of these threads...so what the hell!!

The X8DA8-G2 is a 7525 chipset, and technically *should* support Paxvilles,but aren't listed in their 'CPU happylist" on their site....just incase I can't get Paxville CPU's to run in this board, I did grab a cheap pair of 3.8GHz Irwindales...

This system was the freebie from the county. Stellar solid Enlight case with Enlight 470w PSU. I did the usual inspection of the PSU (whch appeared to be working)....and lo & behold, some bad fukyou caps, but otherwise its a very beefy PSU. The original board is an X5DPL-G8, old and slow server board (onboard graphics, no sounds, etc). It'll be retired and replaced with the theme of this thread.

Anyway, some pics....
Disassembled.



SCSI cage & controller.


Really beefy PSU. This case was intend for a dual redundant PSU, which can be had for about $65....not sure if I'll ante up for that though.





Retired board....


More to come...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg paxville_0525.JPG (312.7 KB, 157 views)
File Type: jpg paxville_0526.JPG (272.0 KB, 157 views)
File Type: jpg paxville_0527.JPG (338.6 KB, 157 views)
File Type: jpg paxville_0529.JPG (259.8 KB, 158 views)
File Type: jpg paxville_0530.JPG (358.9 KB, 158 views)
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2018, 03:34 AM   #2
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,682
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

That power supply sure looks familiar . Oh wait, here is its cousin :
https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showpo...postcount=2352

In short, it's a Topower unit. Oldschool half-bridge design, but built very well (minus the caps). No APFC BS either, so might just last forever (or for quite long).
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 10:25 AM   #3
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

No bust this time.... X6DAE/X6DA8 will run Paxvilles.





Attached Images
File Type: jpg paxville_0538.JPG (287.3 KB, 142 views)
File Type: jpg paxville_0539.JPG (209.1 KB, 132 views)
File Type: jpg paxville_0540.JPG (251.9 KB, 129 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 01:17 PM   #4
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

^I'll be curious to see if it's stable with both CPUs running (and reported in windows). If so, I might see about grabbing a pair for my setup, assuming my cooling is up to par. My concern is that the VRM won't like the added load and cause instability and the like.
__________________


(Insert witty quote here)
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 01:59 PM   #5
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

I dont forsee any problems. VRM *appears* the same as the DAI (hell all 4 of these boards use the same BIOS). W7 pro x64 sees all 4 cores + HT (8 CPU's) and 16gb RAM. Those pics were taken using one CPU and a Dell Precision 470 heatsinks for POST purposes. It is adequate for cooling in abovementioned precision 470, which runs the Paxvilles used for this experiment. I never had cooling issues, and I've had some interesting loads on that machine (used it for testing some things back in the day). It's permanent coolers will be some solid copper OEM Intel heatsinks.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 02:27 PM   #6
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

^That's what I have, fan swapped (PWM) Solid intel heatsinks. Maybe I need to buy a set on ebay to try out in V4.1?
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 03:01 PM   #7
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 123-127V 61.5-63.5 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,496
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

Looks like as long as there isn't a cheapo-socket AM3+ (and AM3) motherboard-like-incident, you're probably OK.

I just hope that there don't end up being a Kentucky-fried power delivery system, like with MSI AM3+ motherboards...
__________________
Asus P6T Deluxe

Core i7 Extreme "Bloomfield" 965

PNY GeForce GTX 960

Windows 7 SP1

SoundBlaster ZXR

Corsair TX850M PSU


"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Don't eat yellow snow!" -Salem

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 09:08 PM   #8
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

^
That's not too much of a worry with these type of boards....they're pretty robust in that department.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 09:36 PM   #9
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

^Got benchmarks?

Just curious, I'd like to see what the paxvilles can do compared to my 3.8 Irwindales.

Oh what the hell, I found them for $10 a pop shipped. I'll take that to my thread...

Last edited by ratdude747; 04-18-2018 at 09:44 PM..
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 09:49 PM   #10
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
^Got benchmarks?

Just curious, I'd like to see what the paxvilles can do compared to my 3.8 Irwindales.

Oh what the hell, I found them for $10 a pop shipped. I'll take that to my thread...
I dont yet, but I will....unless you get to it first.... Yea, netburst era stuff is filthy cheap!
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 10:07 PM   #11
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I dont yet, but I will....unless you get to it first.... Yea, netburst era stuff is filthy cheap!
And as cheap as that was ($20 for a pair, although the listing said lot of 2 in the description so maybe I got 4???), the 16GB of DDR2 in it was cheaper ($16 shipped, hell yes!)
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 12:16 AM   #12
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

I got 16gb today for 12 bucks shipped. If you do end up with 4 CPU's, let me know....I'll take the 2 extras off your hands if you don't have a need for them.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 06:18 AM   #13
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I got 16gb today for 12 bucks shipped. If you do end up with 4 CPU's, let me know....I'll take the 2 extras off your hands if you don't have a need for them.
See my thread. I might have a use for them...
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 09:50 PM   #14
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

My 16gb of $12 Micron memory arrived today... When I have some time, I'll start piecing this one together.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 10:43 PM   #15
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,682
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

Hmmm.. So I did some search on what these Paxville CPUs are, and correct me if I am wrong, but looks like they are the server version (Xeon) of the Pentium D based on the Pentium 4 architecture, no? If so, it's interesting to note that these Xeon CPUs have HT, whereas the Pentium D CPUs don't.

In any case, these are 135 Watt TDP CPUs according to my research, so good heatsinks are definitely needed (like the 6-pipe Dell Precision 470 heatsink that Topcat showed above). Also probably not so great to run these in the hot summer months. But they might be just what one needs to keep the house warm in the winter.

Last edited by momaka; 04-23-2018 at 10:45 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 11:46 AM   #16
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

Just for the sake of tinkering, and the fact that I already have 2 fully functioning Paxville systems, I'm going to do some diddling around with this system and the 3.8GHz Irwindales....

The burning question (pun for netburst), what will perform better? Will it be 4x cores @ 2.8GHz or 2x cores @ 3.8GHz...hmmmm
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 12:04 PM   #17
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

^Taking benchmarks?
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2018, 02:14 PM   #18
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

Quote:
Originally Posted by ratdude747 View Post
^Taking benchmarks?
Yes, I'm working on a little 'showdown'. A X6DAI vs a X6DA8, paxville vs irwindale. One will be SAS, the other U320 SCSI (both in RAID configurations), but otherwise pretty identical. I have to find (or dig through my stuff) another FX4800 GPU so they'll be on par...but otherwise they're the same system other than the HDD interfaces...which will make yet another point of comparison albeit we know which interface will win...but still kinda cool to see and put numbers to.

Between the house build and other stuff, it may take me a little bit to get this together, but it'll get done.
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 07:07 AM   #19
ratdude747
Black Sheep
 
ratdude747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
City & State: Madison, IN
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 15,823
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

I have benchmarks on 3.8 Irwindales. 16GB Ram, GeForce 9800GT GPU. HDDs are 2 7200RPM WD 160GB's (RAID 0) on a 3ware 9650SE. I haven't swapped to Paxvilles yet as me AS5 shipement hasn't come yet (and I won't be back home until Sunday).
ratdude747 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2018, 11:17 AM   #20
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,024
Default Re: Paxville or Bust! The Supermicro X6DA8 Project

I diddled around with this a little this morning... Mainly for testing purposes to make sure I have working hardware. This test is with the Irwindale processors. Of course this post was created from it. Wtaerfox 56.1.0 functions excellent on it. Quick load and smooth as silk browsing....although I haven't put it through the youtube test....

I now remembered one of the sucky parts about SCSI, its the slowest booting bastard, even though its U320 with a 15k RPM HDD. Once it boots, its fine (benchmarks to come when I get it to a permanent state).





Missing caddies located and replaced.


CPU-Z:


More to come, but back to my other project for now.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg x6da8_0635.JPG (301.9 KB, 135 views)
File Type: jpg x6da8_0636.JPG (234.9 KB, 134 views)
File Type: jpg x6da8_0637.JPG (240.0 KB, 134 views)
File Type: jpg x6da8_0638.JPG (299.2 KB, 134 views)
Topcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?