Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2021, 12:06 PM   #1
Stephen
Meow Meow MEOW!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
City & State: Atlanta, GA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 233
Default A1706 Critical Software update. Not Touchbar etc.

Computer boots and gets the software update. No visible water damage. All connections tested on another logic board and they all work. The logic board only gives this error when booting normally. Boots fine in safe mode. None the less still looking for visual damage and nothing shows damaged on the board. Board has everything disconnected except the USB C and battery so it can boot normally. Plugged up to external monitor. Boot into safe mode and Iím now trying to install Combo update and see if that works, if not any suggestions? I also checked the Wiki Critical Software update page and followed all steps to no avail. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
__________________

MEOWING IN THE IMPOSSIBLE UNIVERSE!
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 12:44 PM   #2
Stephen
Meow Meow MEOW!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
City & State: Atlanta, GA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 233
Default Re: A1706 Critical Software update. Not Touchbar etc.

Combo update didn’t solve the issue. Still having issues
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2021, 03:03 PM   #3
Stephen
Meow Meow MEOW!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
City & State: Atlanta, GA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 233
Default Re: A1706 Critical Software update. Not Touchbar etc.

Bump
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 02:55 PM   #4
Stephen
Meow Meow MEOW!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
City & State: Atlanta, GA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 233
Default Re: A1706 Critical Software update. Not Touchbar etc.

Bumping this again. Logic board boots into safe mode etc. Boots externally into safe mode with no attachments. But when booting normally it has the software update requirement with nothing attached. Logic board is operating normally minus this issue so trying to trace points where we should check. Thanks again
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2021, 07:02 PM   #5
jimanez11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: Falls Church, VA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 66
Default Re: A1706 Critical Software update. Not Touchbar etc.

Have no idea if this actually works or not, but have heard that if you manually set the system time (through terminal from recovery partition) to 1/1/2016 you may be able to get past this. Again, haven't tried it but resetting the system time is too easy not to at least try it? Let me know if it works?
jimanez11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 07:46 PM   #6
Stephen
Meow Meow MEOW!
 
Stephen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
City & State: Atlanta, GA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 233
Default Re: A1706 Critical Software update. Not Touchbar etc.

Will test this Monday!
Stephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?