Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Laptops, Portable, and Mobile Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-08-2020, 11:42 PM   #1
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,610
Default Replacing soc with microcode guidance

Hi Friends,

We do face SOC failure in newer motherboards very frequently and the exact SOC may not be lying around. SOC's are difficult to source as reliability is a big question mark besides being expensive as well. So, an alternative can be like getting a SOC from scrap board(You have to be sure that soc is ok). I myself started https://www.badcaps.net/forum/showth...&highlight=SOC this thread but it was inconclusive for various reasons. Many of you must be wondering, which SOC will work on a particular motherboard and do waste a lot of time replacing with an incompatible soc.

So here is simple guide to make a firm and foolproof decision in finding out which soc will run on a particular mb.

WARNING: SOC replacement is not an easy job and requires very good bga skills. The soc may bend due to improper profile,bad reballing. Same profile wont work on evry motherboard as some mb may tolerate heat well whereas some others may bend. So be careful.

SOLUTION: You need only one tool "MC Extractor"(MIcrocode Extractor) to get cpu id from your bios dump.So do the following based on my experience with HP15-LA-A992P Rev 1.0

01. Download MC Extractor tool. Its attached here for your convenience.
02. Open the exe file by double clicking on it.
03.Drag and drop your bios dump on the opened MC Extractor tool.
04.Press Enter.
05. Microcode will be displayed on the tool.
06.Open Intel microcode update guidance pdf file from here
https://www.intel.com/content/dam/ww...e-guidance.pdf
07. Look for CPU-id you need and make sure you select "mobile" in Vertical Segment"
08.Now you know the list of processors which will support on that particular mb.

My LA-A992P mb had SR1EK as original SOC whereas i succesfully replaced it with SR170 as both have same cpu-id(40651) though there are differences between these two processor like Core Stepping. I've succesfully replaced SOC on many motherboards with these simple steps and hope it will help others as well.

I'll be happy to answer any queries.
Attached Images
File Type: png INTEL MICROCODE REVISION GUIDANCE.png (393.3 KB, 151 views)
File Type: png MCE CODE DISPLAY SCREEN.png (1.16 MB, 108 views)
File Type: png MCE TOOL.png (1.77 MB, 65 views)
Attached Files
File Type: rar MC_Extractor_v1.50.0_r165.rar (5.33 MB, 132 views)
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2020, 11:46 PM   #2
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,610
Default Re: Replacing soc with microcode guidance

https://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/SR/SR170.html
https://www.cpu-world.com/sspec/SR/SR1EK.html
Attached Files
File Type: rar HP 15 LA-A992P REV 1.0.rar (11.58 MB, 58 views)
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2020, 11:55 PM   #3
Stevedb
Stevedb
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Schendelbeke/ East-Flanders
My Country: Belgium
Line Voltage: 240v ac
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 203
Default Re: Replacing soc with microcode guidance

Thank you

For explaining how you see which microcode cpu you can use. Is very helpful.


Best regards

Steve
Stevedb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 12:43 AM   #4
qayyum786
Badcaps Veteran
 
qayyum786's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
City & State: MUMBAI
My Country: INDIA
Line Voltage: 220 volt
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 602
Default Re: Replacing soc with microcode guidance

@mcplslg123 i really appreciate and respect your hard work and its a huge contribution to the ''BADCAPS FAMILY''

Last edited by SMDFlea; 12-09-2020 at 09:54 AM..
qayyum786 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 02:35 PM   #5
piernov
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,191
Default Re: Replacing soc with microcode guidance

In some cases the date can also come into play. If microcode is older than the release date of the CPU, it *might* not be 100% compatible.
__________________
OpenBoardview http://openboardview.org | IRC #[email protected]
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2020, 10:39 PM   #6
mcplslg123
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
City & State: siliguri
My Country: india
Line Voltage: 220vac,60hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,610
Default Re: Replacing soc with microcode guidance

Quote:
Originally Posted by piernov View Post
In some cases the date can also come into play. If microcode is older than the release date of the CPU, it *might* not be 100% compatible.
Very true. I've not discussed the finer points as it is just a guide. One can even add a microcode to support additional cpu's on many platforms but these things are left out from this guide. Maybe , someone can make a thread about editing microcode in bios dump.
mcplslg123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?