Thank you to the guys at HEGE supporting Badcaps [ HEGE ] [ HEGE DEX Chart ]

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

LG 60PB6650 - Bad ZSUS (3.8v to YSUS instead of 16v)?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

LG 60PB6650 - Bad ZSUS (3.8v to YSUS instead of 16v)?

Make and Model: LG 60PB6650-UA
    Issue: Turns on, no backlight, can hear static (no channel)

I've been repairing TVs for a couple years now. I know how to use a multimeter for the most part and know how to test most components for shorts.

The power board connects to the ZSUS and then connects to the YSUS. The ZSUS is where I believe the failure is because the 16v line is only 3.8V, even when I disconnect the ZSUS from the YSUS.

This particular model seems to have a common failure with its YSUS. My goal earlier was to prove the YSUS was bad so I could send it away for repair. Using CoppellTV's ebay auction repair kit as a guide*, I tested most of the components it lists in its kit (except for IC402, IC403, and IC100) and all were OK. For the 3 components mentioned, I contacted CoppellTV via ebay to get their advice about those components and they said that if Q401,Q402,Q404,Q405 and Q406 were good, IC402 and IC403 should be too. At this point I took a break.

Today, I took some Zsus measurements and found that good VS, VA, and 5V power is getting to the board, but on the connection from the board to the YSUS, only 3.8v of 16v was leaving it.

I've read the other posts on badcaps concerning this TV and recall someone else having this exact issue but no resolution (unless I missed something).

I prefer not to randomly send boards off for repair. Any suggestions?

* https://www.ebay.com/itm/REPAIR-KIT-...ss!26582!US!-1)
    Attached Files
    Last edited by JDC; 09-13-2018, 02:20 PM.

Re: LG 60PB6650 - Bad ZSUS (3.8v to YSUS instead of 16v)?

What voltage do you get on R232 (white ceramic 5watt) resistor on the Y-sus? this voltage comes from the same yellow transformer.