Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2021, 04:35 PM   #41
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,765
Default Re: Denon AVR-X1000 MCU Shorted

The headphone audio comes from the amp FL & FR amps, Can you access BN501 and touch pin 1 (FL) or pin 9 (FR) with your finger, there should be a buzz in the headphones on that channel if the amp is working.
What are you using for ground, as the chassis might not be at "A" ground.

Last edited by R_J; 02-25-2021 at 05:02 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2021, 05:09 PM   #42
mmartell
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Windsor ON
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,909
Default Re: Denon AVR-X1000 MCU Shorted

You are right I do hear hum AND audio from each channel by touching those pins.

I redid the readings with D_Ground and they are the same. D_GROUND ohms out with chassis ground.
mmartell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2021, 05:13 PM   #43
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,655
Default Re: Denon AVR-X1000 MCU Shorted

that's sounds like a preamp problem then.
I used a cd with 1khz test tone (actually it had choices), input that signal and then traced the input with a scope to see where it disappears or went noisy / dc offset or otherwise.
Crown doesn't shut down for DC as it was a DC300... :-) not nice for speakers though.
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2021, 05:37 PM   #44
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,765
Default Re: Denon AVR-X1000 MCU Shorted

Looks like the audio is selected by IC891 and fed to the amp

Last edited by R_J; 02-25-2021 at 05:39 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:56 AM   #45
budwich
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
City & State: Kanata Ontario
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,655
Default Re: Denon AVR-X1000 MCU Shorted

some more "ramble" from me... :-)
IF you look at the amp stage, at Q5x05/06, the circuitry around them is "mirrored". Of course, I know nothing about things like "push / pull", class A, etc... but IF the rails are "significantly different", then the "mid point" of the design which appears to monitoring as the DC detection point is going to be "non zero". I don't see much adjustment in the area so it has to be somewhere else. I think this is your problem. The dc offset is greater than it should be.
budwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:17 PM   #46
mmartell
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Windsor ON
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,909
Default Re: Denon AVR-X1000 MCU Shorted

I'm going to pull the amp board and go over it since there are a limited number of voltage checks I can do on the running amplifier section.

Incidentally, what should the channels look like as they leave the HDMI board (before amplification) ? If I put the meter on them I measure about 6v dc and basically no AC component. Seems strange and yet if I touch them with something I can hear the channel (with much noise) in my headphones...
mmartell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2021
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:54 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?