Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2015, 09:12 PM   #1
plbproductions
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: Kingman,Az
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Thumbs down Polaroid FLM-3701 no power/ standy light

Everything looks good no fuses blown maybe the lower bottom cap might be bulged a little but nothing I can see, I order a cap kit today , Am I on the right track?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg unnamed (11).jpg (49.1 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg unnamed1.jpg (136.2 KB, 47 views)
File Type: jpg unnamed (12).jpg (99.3 KB, 15 views)
plbproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 09:30 PM   #2
capkid
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
City & State: Federal Way,WA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,329
Default Re: Polaroid FLM-3701 no power/ standy light

It could be the angle of the pic, but it looks like you have quite a few blown caps on the left side of pic 2. I count 8 - possibly 9. I can't clearly see the cap closer to the top of the pic on the left side (E3). That would be the possible 9th blown cap.

I've attached a pic of two caps, just in case you're not sure. The cap on the left with the domed top is bad, while the cap on the right is visibly fine.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg caps.jpg (65.9 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by capkid; 04-14-2015 at 09:41 PM..
capkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 10:45 PM   #3
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 39,206
Default Re: Polaroid FLM-3701 no power/ standy light

Looks like at least 9 bad caps with domed tops to me too.
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 12:15 AM   #4
plbproductions
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
City & State: Kingman,Az
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: Polaroid FLM-3701 no power/ standy light

Thanks guys appreciate it
plbproductions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2015, 10:47 AM   #5
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,466
Default Re: Polaroid FLM-3701 no power/ standy light

Don't run to Radio shack.
Get Panasonic FC or FM capacitors from Digikey. Select USPS First class mail for shipping and that way is pretty cheap.
Once I have repaired one of these too.
I remember, that somebody created a site on how to repair these.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2015, 09:31 PM   #6
CDGraves
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
City & State: Latrobe, PA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 15
Default Re: Polaroid FLM-3701 no power/ standy light

About bad caps on the Polaroid FLM-3701:
The nine big output caps E8 thru E17 go bad and they will be obviously swollen. E8 - E13 are 680uF 35v and E15 - E17 are 680uF 25V.
However, there are three small 22uF 50V caps that also go bad. They look normal. They do not swell. They are E7, E8, and E22. Be sure to check those with an ESR meter.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 100_4597b.jpg (611.6 KB, 16 views)
CDGraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2015, 01:49 AM   #7
ReeceyBurger123
Never Give Up !
 
ReeceyBurger123's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Telford
My Country: Britain
Line Voltage: 240 VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Student Tech
Posts: 7,232
Default Re: Polaroid FLM-3701 no power/ standy light

Them bad caps are just the start ! You probably have the secondary output failure basically on these Kas boards bad caps cause a small Smd diode to fail which causes no standby.
ReeceyBurger123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 01:17 AM   #8
TJVJR
Member
 
TJVJR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
City & State: Elizabethton TN
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 24
Default Re: Polaroid FLM-3701 no power/ standy light

I have the somewhat similar Polaroid flm-373b that I have repaired twice but now , even after replacing all the caps again , it has no standby light . No indicator light at all and fuse(s) look good. Could you elaborate a bit on which diode i should check ? Would it be better at this point to replace the whole board ?
TJVJR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2016, 06:34 AM   #9
RJARRRPCGP
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
City & State: North Springfield, Vermont
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 118-127V 59-63.5 Hz-> actualizo: pérdido de voltaje
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6,029
Default Re: Polaroid FLM-3701 no power/ standy light

I see 8 bulged caps...
__________________
ASRock B550 PG Velocita

Ryzen 5 "Vermeer" 5600X

16 GB G. Skill Ripjaws V F4-3200C14D-16GVR

Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 6600 XT

eVGA Supernova G3 750W

Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD




"¡Me encanta "Me Encanta o Enlistarlo con Hilary Farr"!" -mí mismo

"There's nothing more unattractive than a chick smoking a cigarette" -Topcat

"Today's lesson in pissivity comes in the form of a ziplock baggie full of GPU extension brackets & hardware that for the last ~3 years have been on my bench, always in my way, getting moved around constantly....and yesterday I found myself in need of them....and the bastards are now nowhere to be found! Motherfracker!!" -Topcat

"did I see a chair fly? I think I did! Time for popcorn!" -ratdude747
RJARRRPCGP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums © 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:59 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?