Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2015, 02:17 PM   #1
tech2014
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
City & State: Saskatchewan
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 667
Default Plasma TV screen issue

The tv was working then all of a sudden there was a loud pooping sound then the screen went black. There appears to be ghost images on screen, see pic below. Is this a bad screen or something that can be fixed easily. Its an LG 60PCID-UE

IMG_7601.jpg
tech2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 03:04 PM   #2
Alastair E
Chief Womble
 
Alastair E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: Swansea, South Wales
My Country: U.K.
Line Voltage: 240V
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,963
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

It'll be one or more of the IPM's.

Hard to change, only S/H ones available and expensive, so recommend you ascertain which board has the faulty one--and replace the whole board....
__________________
TELEFIX

How PLASMA SCREENS WORK, X-SUS and Y-SUS what they do--
http://www.irf.com/technical-info/appnotes/an-1088.pdf
PLEASE DO NOT EMAIL ME PRIVATELY FOR REPAIR ADVICE. QUESTIONS BELONG ON THE FORUM!
Alastair E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 03:29 PM   #3
tech2014
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
City & State: Saskatchewan
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 667
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

will do, thanks.
tech2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 03:31 PM   #4
tom66
EVs Rule
 
tom66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
City & State: Leeds
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 230Vac 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 32,373
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

To add to Alastair's comments, most likely Z-sustain IPM bad
__________________
Please do not PM me with questions! Questions via PM will not be answered. Post on the forums instead!
Free service manuals: http://www.toms-service-manuals.com/ -- 72 LED/LCD TVs, 5 monitors, 28 plasma TVs, and 2 AVR 6.1 amplifiers fixed! -- I repair Pioneer 9G Plasma Main Boards & KRP-M01 Media Receivers (PM me for info)

2 Pioneer KURO 9G, 12 Panasonic LCD/Plasma, 1 Sony LCD, 1 NEC Plasma, 2 Yamaha HTS, 5 Sharp LCDs, 5 Toshiba LCDs, 7 Philips Plasma/LCD, 1 Hitachi Plasma, 11 LG LCD/Plasma, 18 Samsung LED/LCD/Plasma, 1 Thomson Plasma, 1 Atec LCD, 1 Hanspree LCD, 1 Xerox LCD, 1 Harwa LCD, 2 Proview LCD, 2 Hyundai LCD, 1 "Onn" LCD, 1 Grundig LCD, 1 Dell LCD, 1 iiyama LCD, 1 Acer LED, 1 Logik LCD, 1 Baird (China) LCD, 6 Bush LCDs, 22 Vestel LCDs (Best->Worst)
tom66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 05:10 PM   #5
tech2014
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
City & State: Saskatchewan
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 667
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

thanks Tom, appreciate your help.
tech2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 05:14 PM   #6
mmartell
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Windsor ON
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,006
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

Good luck finding a decent priced board - I am in the market as well. Current ebay prices floating around $200, too much for a set of this vintage imho.

I already replaced the erc ipm I think it was. Set ran beautifully for about ten hours before popping again.

Last edited by mmartell; 04-27-2015 at 05:15 PM..
mmartell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 08:00 PM   #7
krizzy
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
City & State: Alexandra Headland
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

Hope i dont upset anybody by posting this question here. Can someone give me an idea of if this would stop a plasma screen tv from displaying? see attached photo
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20150311_144901_1[1].jpg (1.02 MB, 28 views)
krizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 09:12 PM   #8
jjanssen7
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Chilliwack, BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 241
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

Absolutely would not display an image with a crack like that.
jjanssen7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 09:49 PM   #9
capkid
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
City & State: Federal Way,WA
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 1,329
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

IPM replacememt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8MNQYXw8E0

Last edited by capkid; 04-27-2015 at 09:50 PM..
capkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:12 PM   #10
krizzy
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
City & State: Alexandra Headland
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjanssen7 View Post
Absolutely would not display an image with a crack like that.
Alrighty then, to the tip I go. Thank you for your input
krizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 11:57 PM   #11
tw2005
Badcaps Veteran
 
tw2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
City & State: QLD
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,369
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by krizzy View Post
Alrighty then, to the tip I go. Thank you for your input
could be worth flogging on Ebay for parts. what is it? working remote?

That way you get paid for someone else taking the trash out.
tw2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015, 12:08 AM   #12
krizzy
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
City & State: Alexandra Headland
My Country: Australia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by tw2005 View Post
could be worth flogging on Ebay for parts. what is it? working remote?

That way you get paid for someone else taking the trash out.
Its a Samsung PS42C451B2D and yes has working remote, I tried to turn it on again for the last attempt but now doesn't even make the start up tone unless the power to the logic board or power to the y-sus is disconnected. Thanks for the suggestion but I think age and lack of use (sitting unused) has now got the better of it.
krizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2015, 12:14 AM   #13
tw2005
Badcaps Veteran
 
tw2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
City & State: QLD
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240VAC
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,369
Default Re: Plasma TV screen issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by krizzy View Post
Its a Samsung PS42C451B2D and yes has working remote, I tried to turn it on again for the last attempt but now doesn't even make the start up tone unless the power to the logic board or power to the y-sus is disconnected. Thanks for the suggestion but I think age and lack of use (sitting unused) has now got the better of it.
yeah well with cracked panel possibly shorted and now boards could also be shorted out trying to power this up.

I had an old Sanyo remote, was going to toss it but got $25 but they're unavailable and was Original. You just don't know what is junk to one can be handy for others. Even stands can be worth something for those who wall mount and toss them out then someone needs a stand later?

Sometimes just not worth the hassle.
tw2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2022
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:51 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?