Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Other Devices with Bad Capacitors
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2018, 05:10 AM   #1
gerbercage
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
City & State: PG
My Country: Malaysia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default > Possible to repair/replace SMD capacitor in VGA?

I got VGA card one day when boot, nothing show out.
Later I found out 1 SMD capacitor spoil as show in photo. (Label C834)
I check other SMD at near, none of them got any label nor value show out so is that possible for me to repair/replace this with other SMD capacitor that look similar? (same length,same height, something like that)

Quite waste if 1 card just throw out like that with just 1 SMD down.
I think C843 and C841 should be exactly same with C834.

Any opinion/suggestion? Anyway to know the value? or simply get something near to that?

Here also a link from website that got very detail look on the board. (Can enlarge after you choose the board photo)

https://www.nix.ru/autocatalog/gigab...=2258&pid=2258
Attached Images
File Type: jpg VGA spoil1.jpg (494.7 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg VGA spoil2.jpg (566.2 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg 06-big-geforce-gtx460-gigabyte.jpg (546.6 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg 110539_2258_draft.jpg (344.0 KB, 15 views)
gerbercage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 06:43 AM   #2
piernov
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 866
Default Re: > Possible to repair/replace SMD capacitor in VGA?

Usually failure on GTX460 is due to the GPU. You can try replacing that capacitor but don't get your hopes too high.
It seems it is a decoupling cap on the PCIe power rail. Try to find a cap with the same size on the board, and then measure it with some calipers, to know the SMD package size (like 0805). Then you can order the highest capacity capacitor rated for 16V or 25V in that package size.
__________________
OpenBoardview http://openboardview.org | IRC #openboardview@irc.freenode.net
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 02:30 AM   #3
gerbercage
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
City & State: PG
My Country: Malaysia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: > Possible to repair/replace SMD capacitor in VGA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by piernov View Post
Usually failure on GTX460 is due to the GPU. You can try replacing that capacitor but don't get your hopes too high.
It seems it is a decoupling cap on the PCIe power rail. Try to find a cap with the same size on the board, and then measure it with some calipers, to know the SMD package size (like 0805). Then you can order the highest capacity capacitor rated for 16V or 25V in that package size.
I measure it. It is 1.24mm x 2.1mm so it is 0408?
Someone say x7r with 10uf, 0.1uf and 0.01uf.
I don't know whether is 10uf, 0.1uf or 0.01uf so I go with 10uf right? then with 25V?
gerbercage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2018, 06:39 AM   #4
piernov
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Valbonne, 06
My Country: France
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 866
Default Re: > Possible to repair/replace SMD capacitor in VGA?

0805 then, I'd pick a 10F or 22F, 25V.
piernov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 09:38 PM   #5
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,443
Default Re: > Possible to repair/replace SMD capacitor in VGA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by piernov View Post
Usually failure on GTX460 is due to the GPU. You can try replacing that capacitor but don't get your hopes too high.
+1

If you had the video card working in your computer and you never touched it before it went bad, chances are indeed it's the GPU chip that has failed and most likely that cap was gone/missing from before.

On slightly older video cards, I find that particular cap to be usually in the range of 1 to 4.7 uF. But 10 uF? -very unlikely. Either way, the exact capacitance isn't too important. 1 to 4.7 uF @ 16V or 25V will work fine.

But like Piernov said, that very likely will NOT fix your video card.
One thing you can attempt, if the above doesn't fix your card, is to reflow it... though that will be only a temporary repair, at best (if it even works). Bottom line is there's no permanent fix for a bad GPU chip.

Last edited by momaka; 11-11-2018 at 09:39 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 09:38 PM   #6
gerbercage
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
City & State: PG
My Country: Malaysia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 13
Default Re: > Possible to repair/replace SMD capacitor in VGA?

Quote:
Originally Posted by piernov View Post
0805 then, I'd pick a 10F or 22F, 25V.

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
+1

If you had the video card working in your computer and you never touched it before it went bad, chances are indeed it's the GPU chip that has failed and most likely that cap was gone/missing from before.

On slightly older video cards, I find that particular cap to be usually in the range of 1 to 4.7 uF. But 10 uF? -very unlikely. Either way, the exact capacitance isn't too important. 1 to 4.7 uF @ 16V or 25V will work fine.

But like Piernov said, that very likely will NOT fix your video card.
One thing you can attempt, if the above doesn't fix your card, is to reflow it... though that will be only a temporary repair, at best (if it even works). Bottom line is there's no permanent fix for a bad GPU chip.
Thanks to both of you. I will try to get that first. For reflow, I think I have to check from website first because I not very know about it and don't know whether I got tools to do it or not.
gerbercage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:51 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?