Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2018, 04:05 PM   #1
Keshenatech1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
City & State: Shawano, WI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29
Default LG Sound Bar

I have an LG sound bar, model LAS751M just over 3 years old that just stopped working. When I power it up, it stays on "Please Wait" and eventually turns itself off. I can turn the volume up and down and it indicates on the display, but there is no sound at all. It also won't pair with it's wireless sub woofer. I even tried downloading the firmware update to a USB drive, but being stuck on the "Please Wait", it won't even recognize it. I also tried holding the Add + button down to initiate a factory reset, but there is no response. And one final observation, when it's stuck on "Please Wait", I can power it off with the remote, but not the power button on the sound bar. I've seen a few posts about this online and it seems to be a common problem. But before I junk it and buy a new one, I was wondering if anyone has ever figured out a fix for this problem? It's most likely shot, like a phone that gets "bricked", but like they say, it doesn't hurt to ask. Thanks for your time.
Keshenatech1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 05:20 PM   #2
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,096
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

Might be worth popping the top off and having a peek inside...
__________________
Khron's Cave - Electronics - Audio - Teardowns - Mods - Repairs - Projects - Music - Rants - Shenanigans
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 05:23 PM   #3
petehall347
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
City & State: worcester
My Country: United Kingdom
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,484
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

folk round these parts like to see nice high res in focus pictures to look for clues .
petehall347 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 07:05 AM   #4
tehmatix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Portsmouth
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 220Vac / 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

Hi guys, I have same issue with LG SJ8 sound bar. It's not connect with subwoofer speaker and message on display "Please wait". I will back with picture from inside, boards.
tehmatix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 08:23 AM   #5
Keshenatech1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
City & State: Shawano, WI
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 29
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

I was lucky to find one exactly like mine on Ebay for only $32 including shipping. Working, but not in very good cosmetic shape, and the bluetooth only had about a 6' range. And I was curious to see what part was bad causing the please wait message. I didn't know if it was just waiting for communication from one of the wireless modules (There's 3 of them in there) or the main board or the amp board. The problem turned out to be the main board. And with the original Bluetooth module from my unit, the range is good for at least 25'. So that's what I'd recommend, if you can find the same model on Ebay cheap for spare boards to swap, that would be the most cost-efficient solution.
Keshenatech1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 02:01 AM   #6
tehmatix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Portsmouth
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 220Vac / 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

Main board
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1019.jpg (841.8 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1020.jpg (584.3 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1023.jpg (567.4 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_1027.jpg (599.8 KB, 6 views)
tehmatix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 04:06 AM   #7
tehmatix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Portsmouth
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 220Vac / 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

Hi guys, I made few test on mainboard and I found wireless card is not powered, 3.5V is missing on pin1 connector.
Just I wonder if is firmware corrupt
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WiFi connector edited.JPG (614.0 KB, 1 views)
tehmatix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 05:12 AM   #8
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,096
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

I guess that's a possibility. As a test, in the mean time, you could try soldering a 10k (or so) resistor between the 5V input and that enable pin, and see if that 3.5V output comes up.
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 05:33 AM   #9
tehmatix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Portsmouth
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 220Vac / 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

O yes, I forget to mention that aspect, I applied 5V to that pin and on output pin appeared 3.5V . Nothing is changed on display, same message "Please wait", and tried to find wireless network on my phone, doesn't appear.
tehmatix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:28 AM   #10
Khron
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
City & State: Valkeakoski
My Country: Finland
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 1,096
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

Then a software / firmware issue is indeed that much more likely.
Khron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 08:25 AM   #11
tehmatix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: Portsmouth
My Country: UK
Line Voltage: 220Vac / 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 30
Default Re: LG Sound Bar

Has anyone firmware for this device ?
tehmatix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:59 PM.

Did you find this forum helpful?