Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Need help with what to do.. guide me please

Hello all,

This is my first post. Go easy on the newbie I have been googling and have discovered that fixing a damaged Samsung SyncMaster 245B monitor may be easier then I think (or is it?)

My monitor is 7 years old and and has overcome many flickering blue line episodes and many loud crackling noises. However, 7 years later and it decided to go completely black screen on me. The difference with my problem and what many others have seen/fixed is my power button is also black (does not show blue anymore).

With that, I have decided to take my screen apart and have successfully removed the power board. I have inspected the board and I do not see (but what do I know) any bulges, leaking fluid etc. (see attached pics).

I have no electronical repair knowledge, have never used a soldering gun (but think I can) but want to fix this monitor rather then buying a new one. Do you think someone can guide me (more hand holding)?

I was thinking that I start off by desoldering the capacitors (have seen some videos but please tell me what I need to get/buy)? What do you all think I should do or where do you think I should start?

I would love it and appreciate it if someone could help me diagnose this/the board and guide me all the way.

Thanks so much,
    Attached Files

Re: Need help with what to do.. guide me please

You'll need to buy a digital multimeter. In this day and age, they don't cost an arm and a leg. Maybe somebody knows of one you could buy fairly inexpensively. I've had mine for years, so I don't know the current best deals on them.

I think your problem might be with at least 1 of these 3 resistors. The glue turns brown and becomes conductive. You'll need to check the resistance on them. And we can also check voltages in other places with that digital multimeter.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by Lumberjack777; 10-06-2014, 09:38 PM.

Comment