Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2018, 03:34 PM   #1
alindumitru46
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Craiova
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 169
Default Intel Pro/1000 PT BLK TVS diode

A few months ago I received a network card that no longer connected to the network, although it was seen in the device manager and the drivers were installed automatically. Intel Proset Software also diagnose a TX signal problem.
At first glance, I thought it was a driver problem and I installed a clean Windows, but the problems persisted. Last week I came to the place where I have most of my tools and I decided to inspect it very carefully with a magnifying glass.
Only reflection of natural light helped me to find a piece of 2,5x2,5mm with a slightly burned look, a sign that made me think there was a short-circuit there. This is a 3304N

The protective features offered by this diode make me think that there was a serious problem because when I tried to desolder, it just disintegrated and took with it the pad that I suspect as holding a ground role and 4 pins. Of the 10 pins I noticed that only 4 connects, as the routes suggest.
Is there a risk that the Pulse h5078nl will also be affected?

I thought I'd give him another chance, but I need some help with diode grounding and the connections of the four pins.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1040750.jpg (683.0 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 5-20-011.jpg (530.6 KB, 13 views)
alindumitru46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 10:14 PM   #2
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: Intel Pro/1000 PT BLK TVS diode

Since it is just a protection device the card does not need it for the card to work, so once it is removed and nothing else is damaged then the card should work, if not then you have more damaged components on the board.
Was it hooked up to PoE that or something like that, etc.?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 06:38 AM   #3
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: Intel Pro/1000 PT BLK TVS diode

before you spend time on this, see if the heatsink is getting very hot, then unclip it and and make sure the chip does not have a hole burned in it.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 11:44 AM   #4
alindumitru46
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Craiova
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 169
Default Re: Intel Pro/1000 PT BLK TVS diode

@budm, I do not know exactly where it was used because the person did not have the precise information.
I said already about testing: it was seen in the device manager and the drivers were installed automatically.
@stj, I also thought I'd check if the IC is warming up. And yes, it gets hot, but I can hold my finger without feeling too much heat. So clearly it does not have over 60 degrees Celsius. I have an IR thermometer and I will check it for curiosity.

Last edited by alindumitru46; 08-31-2018 at 01:02 PM..
alindumitru46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 02:25 PM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,104
Default Re: Intel Pro/1000 PT BLK TVS diode

the usual problem btw, is thunderstorms.
the long network cables act as an antenna and the transformer converts it into something more damaging!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2018, 04:54 PM   #6
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,697
Default Re: Intel Pro/1000 PT BLK TVS diode

Quote:
Originally Posted by alindumitru46 View Post
@budm, I do not know exactly where it was used because the person did not have the precise information.
I said already about testing: it was seen in the device manager and the drivers were installed automatically.
@stj, I also thought I'd check if the IC is warming up. And yes, it gets hot, but I can hold my finger without feeling too much heat. So clearly it does not have over 60 degrees Celsius. I have an IR thermometer and I will check it for curiosity.
But I did not know if that test was done before or after the protection device is removed, the way I understand your thread is that you did the clean install the driver but it still does not work then you inspect the board and found that blown device, but I did not know if you try it again after removing the protection device or not, sorry if I did not read your post correctly.
And if it still does not work then you have more damaged components on the board.

Last edited by budm; 08-31-2018 at 04:56 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 03:36 AM   #7
alindumitru46
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
City & State: Craiova
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 169
Default Re: Intel Pro/1000 PT BLK TVS diode

I installed and checked the board from the beginning, that is, a few months ago. I have already said that it was seen in Win 7 with default drivers but I also installed proprietary Intel drivers. I also did the Intel Intel test that detected RX or TX data packet transmission problems, I do not remember exactly.
The visual inspection I did last time, that's 2 weeks ago, when I've also desoldered the component. Because it was strangely detached from the underlying footprint, I did not think of installing it on a pc until I know what I'm doing.
Now I'm beginning to understand that the possible overvoltage exposure may have favored the destruction of the ground pad of the pcb under the TVS diode.
Unfortunately, it takes some time to get back home again.
I'm sorry for the chosen presentation, maybe I have not been very concise .
alindumitru46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:31 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?