Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2018, 01:55 PM   #1
birdboy385
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: cheswick
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 117
Default Commodore 64 Display problem.

Hey guys. I managed to come across this commodore 64 from someone. The image below shows that when powered on, it gives a strange display. I've never worked on vintage computers / game systems before so I'm not really sure where to even start with this other than completely dissecting it and checking for bad solder joints which I didn't see.
birdboy385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 01:55 PM   #2
birdboy385
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: cheswick
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 117
Default Re: Commodore 64 Display problem.

also all those black marks are the spots on my cruddy camera lens. Sorry I'm in need of a new phone lol.
birdboy385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 02:10 PM   #3
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,357
Default Re: Commodore 64 Display problem.

put the metal cover back over the graphics chip - it's the cooler.

then touch the 8 ram chips - 4164 or similar.
if you burn your finger it's bad.
one other thing - check the psu is actually giving 5v - the potted psu's had a habit of failing in a bad way.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 02:16 PM   #4
birdboy385
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: cheswick
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 117
Default Re: Commodore 64 Display problem.

ok I'll give that a try although I'll probably use a thermal gun to check the temperature rather than actually burning myself lol.
birdboy385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 04:50 PM   #5
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,357
Default Re: Commodore 64 Display problem.

no fun.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 05:09 PM   #6
birdboy385
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: cheswick
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 117
Default Re: Commodore 64 Display problem.

Lol well I plugged power into it and measured volarge at various legs on the board. I was getting 4.3 and 5.1 volts. Can't really get my multimeter leads in the power supply end given how narrow it is also without knowing which pins should be what. I've also found 8 Texas instrument chips labeled ap8410. I'm assuming those are the ram since there doesn't seem to be 8 other identical chips.
birdboy385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 05:14 PM   #7
birdboy385
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: cheswick
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 117
Default Re: Commodore 64 Display problem.

I also did touch all the chips lol, they all felt normal.
birdboy385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 10:43 PM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,357
Default Re: Commodore 64 Display problem.

8410 is probably the date, year+week

so 4.3 souldnt be there.
http://www.devili.iki.fi/Computers/C...ront_page.html
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 11:17 AM   #9
birdboy385
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
City & State: cheswick
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 117
Default Re: Commodore 64 Display problem.

ahhh so if I'm reading this right, I should be getting 5v and 9v. never 4.3. So the problem more than likely is actually the power supply. I guess I'll try to rip open the supply and look for anything obvious while attempting not to kill myself.
birdboy385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 11:51 AM   #10
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,357
Default Re: Commodore 64 Display problem.

good luck.
the original psu's are potted with resin.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oY6ycn7qmzo
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?