Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2018, 08:24 AM   #1
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,560
Question Guess this device...

Good day folks. I've got mission-impossible on my hands here again and what I mean by that is that someone brought in a little doohickey which I have no idea how it operates or what it really is. It looks homemade if I were to guess and the chap who brought it in said it's a remote operated switch installed in a vehicle (a truck or something) to cut the power on and off to a tachograph...it could very well be anything, doesn't matter. The thingy suddenly stopped working and now the vehicle is grounded because it can't run without a tacho. That's another thing I need to mention: smells to me like EXTREMELY illegal to disable the tacho at will whenever you please like that, since from my experience it should be working and keeping track of the journey constantly, but these guys apparently couched this thing somewhere in the dash, undetectable enough in the event of a control, yet still offering the possibility of disabling the tacho without damaging any seals or stuff like that.

The point is, what could it be ? It's a tiny thing as you can see. I went in as closely as I could with my ghetto macro lens. From my initial analysis, it's got a 5v regulator on, a mystery IC and 4 of THESE SSRs...apparently. It makes sense to a degree, but why there's 4 of these makes no sense.

Also, I have no idea what that mystery SOT 23 IC is and how this thing even interfaces with a remote, since I don't see any antenna...unless they chopped it when they removed it from the vehicle...if we could identify this IC, it would be easier to troubleshoot. I suspect it's this IC which actually failed. To spare you the squinting, says 06A5 on it...I could not find anything of the sort, let alone anything close to being a remote controller or something. I'm not entirely sure the guy brought in the "complete" system...it looks to me there should've been another receiver or something. I find it hard to believe simply pressing a button on that key fob remote miraculously interfaces with this thing....there's just not enough components :| I probed around the board and sure enough there IS 5v coming out of that SOP 5v regulator, but no reaction when I spam the remote.

Seems to me those SSRs have their diodes (LEDs) wired in series: cathode of one goes to the anode of the other...it's a mess...yes, it is double-sided.

What do you guys think ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20180716_164932.jpg (527.1 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg 20180716_165138.jpg (524.4 KB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg 20180716_165617.jpg (608.9 KB, 30 views)
File Type: jpg 20180716_165606.jpg (482.9 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg 20180716_165552.jpg (532.2 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg 20180716_165052.jpg (652.3 KB, 18 views)
__________________
Wattevah...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 11:14 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,336
Default Re: Guess this device...

are you sure there isnt more boards?
i'm not seeing any RF stuff
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2018, 11:16 AM   #3
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,560
Default Re: Guess this device...

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
are you sure there isnt more boards?
i'm not seeing any RF stuff
Just my point. Like I said, I have no idea what it is or what it does...the guy didn't know either most likely...he just ASSUMED it's the thing immediately before the tacho.
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 06:26 PM   #4
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,099
Default Re: Guess this device...

you surly don't have all of it. As stj said, there is NO RF anything on these 2 boards.
This was installed on a truck. What that truck driver does, is he is blocking the tachograph, but keeps driving and the tachograph thinks the truck is standing still. Truck drivers are only allowed to drive X amount of hours a day, then they have to have a rest period. Police checks the log book and the card of the tachograph. Because of this cheating device, the truck isn't really grounded, because if they hook up the tachograph as they supposed to, things work as intended. The owner of the truck just want's to make more $$$ keeping the truck rolling, while the actual driver should have a rest period.

The blocker blocks the 2 speed signals to the tachograph.

Google "tachograph blocker"

Last edited by CapLeaker; 07-17-2018 at 06:30 PM..
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 08:18 PM   #5
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 4,706
Default Re: Guess this device...

I found the fob here https://quasarelectronics.co.uk/Item...ob-transmitter
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 30a17-tx.jpg (29.0 KB, 0 views)
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 11:02 PM   #6
redwire
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Alberta
My Country: Canada
Posts: 1,419
Default Re: Guess this device...

It looks like a big fat relay switch.
The 4-pin SMT are ASSR-1218 solid-state relays (photo MOSFET) 60V 0.2A
The SOT-23 looks like XC6101 watchdog which could detect pulses, so it does look like a tachograph jammer

Last edited by redwire; 07-17-2018 at 11:08 PM..
redwire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 11:32 PM   #7
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,560
Default Re: Guess this device...

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
you surly don't have all of it. As stj said, there is NO RF anything on these 2 boards.
It's really just one board, the same one front and back.
Yes, its probably not the whole thing, which I suspected from the very beginning...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 09:00 PM   #8
Shock2cure
Test Subject
 
Shock2cure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
City & State: Farmvegas Va
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 75
Default Re: Guess this device...

buck converter
__________________
"Our technologies have surpassed our humanity" ~Einstein
Shock2cure is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:34 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?