Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > General Electronics Technical Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2018, 01:36 PM   #1
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Lightbulb "Good" universal remote ?

Good day folks. Being what you'd call a "Tv repairman" and constantly trying to build and improve on my skills and shop, I realised it's high time I got myself a remote to both do away with the drawer of remotes I've acquired over time and to also help with those devices which don't come with one, so.....any suggestions for such thing ?

Ideally, I imagine something that has quick preset codes like "Samsung" "Philips" "LG" etc to allow me to switch between them, but also supports more obscure brands like Axen (off the top of my head...whatever ), Vortex and of course all Vestels in general. I found a Logitech Harmony 525 which APPEARS to do most of these things, but without trying it, I cannot guarantee it's worth the (reasonable) price I found it on an auction site...perhaps someone found something really cool which can be bought for pennies on the dollar on Ali or Banggood.

At one point I was thinking of making my own remote with like an arduino or a micro, but obtaining codes for it would come down to the mercy of the internet if I don't have the original remote What do you guys think ?
__________________
Wattevah...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 06:08 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,115
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

linux and LIRC is probably best.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 07:05 PM   #3
eccerr0r
Solder Sloth
 
eccerr0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
City & State: CO
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,919
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Lirc is still at the whim of people uploading code tables if you don't have the original remote...
eccerr0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 08:23 PM   #4
Curious.George
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
Ideally, I imagine something that has quick preset codes like "Samsung" "Philips" "LG" etc to allow me to switch between them, but also supports more obscure brands like Axen (off the top of my head...whatever ), Vortex and of course all Vestels in general. I found a Logitech Harmony 525 which APPEARS to do most of these things, but without trying it, I cannot guarantee it's worth the (reasonable) price I found it on an auction site...perhaps someone found something really cool which can be bought for pennies on the dollar on Ali or Banggood.
I've rescued several Logitechs. While they more-or-less do the job, there's always some feature (of the controlled device) that they've omitted. Or, put in a stupid place (like one of the "soft buttons" that you've got to scroll to find on the display).

If you aren't working with a completely graphic/touchpanel interface, you're going to be stuck dealing with a fixed number of physical buttons (arranged in some particular way that may not be intuitive for the device in question) and the "overflow" handled by some "soft buttons".

Quote:
At one point I was thinking of making my own remote with like an arduino or a micro, but obtaining codes for it would come down to the mercy of the internet if I don't have the original remote What do you guys think ?
You can train a universal remote if you have one of the genuine articles that you are trying to emulate (e.g., to combine your pile of remotes into a unified one). If you don't want to write the software to do so, you can capture the pulse trains with a DSO and manually decode (encode) them.

The LIRC project tries to do this but the results are often dubious -- folks don't always post complete information or even ACCURATE information.

Bottom line: WITH a universal remote, you'll still have the same pile of remotes lying around to cover the cases that the universal one fails to!
Curious.George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 04:56 AM   #5
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

So should I go for the Logi one after all ? All I want it to do really is OK MENU SOURCE and the arrow keys. I don't really care about stuff like teletext and smarthub buttons.

For instance, I just got a Toshiba TV and I can't upload the firmware via USB because I don't have a remote, despite it being Vestel, so I'm hoping the universal one I'm planning to get will cover Vestels as well...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 05:38 AM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,115
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

i have a nice €2 chinese remote from ebay that does vestel's
easy to spot, it's white & green with no "fast-text" coloured buttons.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 05:51 AM   #7
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

I have one of those too left over from a Telefunken or something, but it doesn't work with ALL Vestels. Take this Toshiba for instance...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 05:54 AM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,115
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

ah - a toshiba sticker.
i have one of those tv's - a "dreambox" remote works on it.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 06:31 AM   #9
ducky29
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: -
My Country: Europe
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 217
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Get Madeforyou remote controls. I have been using them for 3 years or more.

4 codes for each remote and you can program them using a pc. They are durable and cheap.

I also use some non branded remote controls usually for chinese sets that I cannot find anywhere, they can control tv,stb etc

Last edited by ducky29; 08-07-2018 at 06:32 AM..
ducky29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 06:36 AM   #10
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Where can you find them ? Couldn't find anything on Ali upon first search.

EDIT: looking around a local auction site, I found this big beast: the Marantz rc2000 mkII...looks pretty old stuff but has like 9 million buttons on it I'm a simple man: I see buttons, I click "buy" Ok, no, JK

Last edited by Dannyx; 08-07-2018 at 06:44 AM..
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 06:57 AM   #11
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,833
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Acoustic Research made some. I have two of them. They are also learnable and have a database too. I think one model does 15 devices and the other 18. Models ARRX18G and ARRX15G
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:16 AM   #12
ducky29
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: -
My Country: Europe
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 217
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
Where can you find them ? Couldn't find anything on Ali upon first search.

EDIT: looking around a local auction site, I found this big beast: the Marantz rc2000 mkII...looks pretty old stuff but has like 9 million buttons on it I'm a simple man: I see buttons, I click "buy" Ok, no, JK
They are not chinese. I buy locally and at a better price then found online. You can search on ebay

https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_fro...w=made+for+you


Are you planning on using them for your yourself or reselling em?
ducky29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 07:18 AM   #13
ducky29
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
City & State: -
My Country: Europe
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 217
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CapLeaker View Post
Acoustic Research made some. I have two of them. They are also learnable and have a database too. I think one model does 15 devices and the other 18. Models ARRX18G and ARRX15G
Where can I find their database, is it downloadable?
ducky29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 08:17 AM   #14
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ducky29 View Post
Are you planning on using them for your yourself or reselling em?
They're for using in the shop like I said in my original post.
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 08:51 AM   #15
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Another promising one here
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 09:40 AM   #16
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,115
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

sony? - runs away!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 09:53 AM   #17
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Talking Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
sony? - runs away!
Crap, eh ? I figured....moving on
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 12:57 PM   #18
Curious.George
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,122
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dannyx View Post
So should I go for the Logi one after all ? All I want it to do really is OK MENU SOURCE and the arrow keys. I don't really care about stuff like teletext and smarthub buttons.
Personally, I'd recommend against the Logitech devices. Too expensive, some require a "special" battery, all require an on-line service to program them and the overall "experience" is disappointing.

I have a few -- but only because they were rescues (i.e., freebies).
Curious.George is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 01:43 PM   #19
Dannyx
CertifiedAxhole
 
Dannyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: Constanta
My Country: Romania
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hardcore Geek
Posts: 2,104
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

I too didn't like the idea of having to create ANOTHER account just to configure a bloody remote, but on the other hand I WAS going to let that slide if the results made up for it, but I doubt they would in the long run - I'd end up with another drawer, this time of programmable remotes, until I finally find something decent. Sure it would work with major brands, but it's the gimmicky ones I'm most interested in and I'm taking a bit of a gamble there...
Dannyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 03:30 PM   #20
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,833
Default Re: "Good" universal remote ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ducky29 View Post
Where can I find their database, is it downloadable?
Yes it is, one also can add to it. It takes a special program and login to do so.
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:07 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?