Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2017, 10:20 AM   #41
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

The question is, this chip has it's own software loaded in it, or it doesn't?
I see them, for $15 or $62. Quite the difference.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2017, 03:40 PM   #42
madan1
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Sofia
My Country: Bulgaria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 284
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Quote:
No programming required. Onkyo installs an ST NAND256 chip on the bottom side of the board to house the U-boot loader and the Linux operating system so all of the code is housed in a completely different section of the board. As such, you can simply replace the DSP with a new one.
from here http://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...2018-a-75.html
madan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 10:11 AM   #43
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

It seems like, I will have one of these myself for free. Ebay purchase and they shipped the wrong receiver. They told me, that I can keep it. But I still wait, until it s all over, before I touch it.
I haven't checked the network, but there is no audio, only video.
Onkyo, doesn't repair this receiver for free. I have checked on that site.
So, what are my options? Re-flow the DSP chip, or should I get another one?
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 02:23 PM   #44
madan1
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
City & State: Sofia
My Country: Bulgaria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 284
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

If you have audio output then most likely the problem is somewhere else.

Oops sorry, you do not have audio, but video... well, from what I've read, faulty chips affect both video and audio... so start testing the other components before dealing with the DSP chip.

Last edited by madan1; 06-21-2017 at 02:25 PM..
madan1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 09:32 PM   #45
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

It seems that, I'm keeping this receiver.
I wanted to do a firmware upgrade and also wanted to check, the firmware version and it is blacked out, also the network tab.
This one, seems to be a DSP error, right? I don't understand why Onkyo won't repair it than?
Speaker icons, do not show up on the display and there is no second relay click.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 02:50 PM   #46
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

I have heated it up, quite for some minutes, but nothing happened.
Maybe I have another issue? Bad relay?
I'm not sure, where should I start.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2017, 10:22 PM   #47
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

I have managed to even remove the DTS IC and re-soldered it again and still no change.
Firmware still shows a bunch of ?????????????, Network and Firmware tabs are still grayed out.
I guess the only thing left is to get another IC.
The only thing is, that I wouldn't like to be, in the ops situation.
Any input, would be appreciated.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 07:41 AM   #48
mmartell
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Windsor ON
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,633
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Eeprom maybe ? If you can find the bin remove the eeprom, flash it and put it back.
mmartell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 03:20 PM   #49
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

It seems like only one type of flash has the question marks, I believe something with the NET. All the others, have a version number.
The biggest problem would be, to find the bin file and also I would need a flash programmer. I see that, there is a Proman programmer on Ali, that supports this nand, it is around $108.
By the way, the nand is the Q3002? NAND256W3A2BN6E

Last edited by tibimakai; 07-04-2017 at 03:21 PM..
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2017, 04:35 AM   #50
mmartell
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Windsor ON
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,633
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Maybe unrelated but with the 606 you could repair the ???????? corruption by flashing a small 8-pin soic I think it was a 24LCxx. You would have to get the bin from a working unit I suppose.
mmartell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 01:35 PM   #51
illegible
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
City & State: Boston, MA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Hi all, new member here with a question about the Onkyo's in this series and repairs by Onkyo.

I don't mean to hijack the thread, but I can't start a new thread without posting something else first, so here's basically a "me too" - TX-NR616, had the DSP replaced under warranty recently, a month later the audio stopped working then something blew up inside - flash, bang, smoke. I'm going to try asking Onkyo to fix it, but I don't hold out my hope of that. I'd appreciate any advice anyone might have when dealing with them.
illegible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 01:45 PM   #52
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Most likely, a shorted channel. They won't fix it, the second time for free, that is for sure.
I have just tried and they said no. Mine is not even blown, just doesn't have sound, network and USB function.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 03:42 PM   #53
illegible
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
City & State: Boston, MA
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

A shorted channel would make sense - it was flashing a 1/4 second bad speaker message when it started, even with nothing plugged in.
illegible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 03:52 PM   #54
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Check Speaker wire or something similar.
You should take it apart and start measuring the final transistors attached to the big heatsink. Cut the legs of the shorted transistors and it should turn on after that.
Course, you will have to check all the components at that channel, including the parts on the vertical board. They are not that many, don't be scared. Just make sure, that you are not cutting corners, measure all of them. On the base(main) board, are only a few components to check. Most likely, the white big ceramic resistor is open.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 04:04 AM   #55
mmartell
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Windsor ON
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,633
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
...They won't fix it, the second time for free, that is for sure.
I have just tried and they said no. Mine is not even blown, just doesn't have sound, network and USB function.
They most certainly will. I found a mint condition 616 at the curb with remote showing the classic symptoms of hdmi board failure such as yours. I looked up the serial number on line and saw it was already repaired under the extended warranty. I contacted Onkyo and told them it had failed again and they agreed to take it back.

I may have got lucky with the guy who answered my email in the first place but there you go.
mmartell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 08:24 AM   #56
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Which Email did you use? I have tried the Onkyo forum and they said that, since I'm not the original owner and don't have a receipt, I'm not entitled for a repair. Onkyo offers a one time free repair.

Last edited by tibimakai; 07-07-2017 at 09:38 AM..
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 08:15 PM   #57
dobrykamil
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Antrim
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Quote:
Originally Posted by illegible View Post
Hi all, new member here with a question about the Onkyo's in this series and repairs by Onkyo.

I don't mean to hijack the thread, but I can't start a new thread without posting something else first, so here's basically a "me too" - TX-NR616, had the DSP replaced under warranty recently, a month later the audio stopped working then something blew up inside - flash, bang, smoke. I'm going to try asking Onkyo to fix it, but I don't hold out my hope of that. I'd appreciate any advice anyone might have when dealing with them.
I've had two of these repaired by Onkyo.One lasted 2 minutes, other one about 30 minutes.They've done the same thing,bang, flash smoke.I've sent them back to Onkyo and purchased two brand new tx-nr646 at a really good discount price
dobrykamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2017, 08:24 PM   #58
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

What is blowing up?
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 11:22 AM   #59
dobrykamil
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
City & State: Antrim
My Country: UK
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 23
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
What is blowing up?
Power transistors
dobrykamil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 11:27 AM   #60
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,283
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR609 New DSP chip fitted

I have noticed something, with these Onkyo receiver, the finals are not tight. None of them. You can tighten the screws, at least a quarter or half a turn. In my opinion, that could be the problem. All the Onkyos are like this. Every time I get one, I have to tighten all of the screws. I have repaired already, quite a few of them.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?