Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > All Others Motherboards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2015, 10:19 AM   #1
rippergr
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Greece
My Country: Ελλάδα
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 270
Default Asrock H61M-GS no power

Hello all,
I have a pc motherboard asrock h61m which doesnt post at all.
I connect new PSU still nothing.
I remove the cmos battery for 24 hours and reset it , still no power.
The CPU fan seems to make a very little motion as is trying to start but nothing else.
Can someone guide me what should I first check? I dont have previous experience on repairing PC motherboard I only repair notebook motherboards in chip level.
P.S. The motherboard has oonly solid capacitors so There is no visual defective capacitors or any other visual defective component.
rippergr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 11:17 AM   #2
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,864
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

Good clear pictures of the board?
__________________
Please upload pictures using attachment function when ask for help on the repair
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=39740
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 11:44 AM   #3
rippergr
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Greece
My Country: Ελλάδα
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 270
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

I dont think pictures will be any helpful because all the board is like brand new. There is nothing that seems bad visualy.
rippergr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 06:08 PM   #4
pfrcom
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
City & State: Melbourne, Victoria
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240v
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 965
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

Which processor ?

On Asrock's CPU Support List ?
__________________
better to keep quiet and be thought a fool, than to open your mouth and remove all doubt
pfrcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 08:09 PM   #5
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,053
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

Do you mean that the CPU and PSU fans briefly twitch when you attempt to power it up? If so, try unplugging the 4/8 pin ATX12V connector. It won't POST that way, but if it powers on, then you know it's the CPU VRM that's shorted.
__________________
I love putting bad caps and flat batteries in fire and watching them explode!!

No wonder it doesn't work! You installed the jumper wires backwards

Main PC: Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz, Gigabyte GA-Z77M-D3H-MVP, 8GB Kingston HyperX DDR3 1600, 240GB Intel 335 Series SSD, 750GB WD HDD, Sony Optiarc DVD RW, Palit nVidia GTX660 Ti, CoolerMaster N200 Case, Delta DPS-600MB 600W PSU, Hauppauge TV Tuner, Windows 7 Home Premium

Office PC: HP ProLiant ML150 G3, 2x Xeon E5335 2GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB Intel 530 SSD, 2x 250GB HDD, 2x 450GB 15K SAS HDD in RAID 1, 1x 2TB HDD, nVidia 8400GS, Delta DPS-650BB 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro

Last edited by c_hegge; 01-17-2015 at 08:11 PM..
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:34 AM   #6
rippergr
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Greece
My Country: Ελλάδα
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 270
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

Yes the cpu fan makes a little twich. I tried without the 4 pin connector but it still doesnt post.
Can you tell me where is the CPU VRM and how to check ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20150119_102156829[1].jpg (1.31 MB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150119_102203059[1].jpg (1.55 MB, 61 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150119_102208026[1].jpg (1.39 MB, 37 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20150119_102228317[1].jpg (1.41 MB, 54 views)
rippergr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:45 AM   #7
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,053
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

Does it power on at all with the CPU connector unplugged, or does it still just do the fan twitch?

Remember, there is a big difference between powering on and POSTing.

The CPU VRM is the area of the board in your 4th picture.

Last edited by c_hegge; 01-19-2015 at 02:46 AM..
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 05:54 AM   #8
rippergr
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Greece
My Country: Ελλάδα
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 270
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

No it doesnt power on at all. It's like dead.
only this tiny movement for a split second of the fan and nothing else.
Do I have to check all components there? and if yes how can I check it?
rippergr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 02:52 PM   #9
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,053
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

One thing I have noticed there is that your CMOS battery is installed backwards. That - may - be part of the problem.

The first thing I would do is see which rail the short occurs on. That little test I just suggested pretty much rules out the CPU VRM area as the source of the problem. Set your DDM to resistance, and check the resistance between the rails (12V, 5V, 3.3V, -12V) and Ground. If any of them is shorted to ground then that will further narrow it down. In all likelihood, it will be a transistor somewhere.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 09:53 AM   #10
rippergr
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Greece
My Country: Ελλάδα
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 270
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

You are right with the battery, I just remove it to make motherboard reset and I just left it there when I took the pictures.
I checked the rail with my multimeter in buzzer and all the com are buzzing and all the other pins are not so I suppose I don't have a short.
I checked some of the mosfets in the 4th picture and in some I have resistance(buzzer) in two pins and in some only on the head . Is this normal?
rippergr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 10:07 AM   #11
selldoor
Slow Learner
 
selldoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
City & State: Lancashire UK
Posts: 7,864
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

Quote:
Originally Posted by c_hegge View Post
One thing I have noticed there is that your CMOS battery is installed backwards. That - may - be part of the problem.
Good Spot that .


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rippergr
I checked some of the mosfets in the 4th picture and in some I have resistance(buzzer) in two pins and in some only on the head . Is this normal
You should give result in ohms Bad is usually less than 30ohms but it would still buzz
Mosfets
---------

If you have a manual range multimeter, set it to 200 ohms (two hundred). You can test a mosfet (Q, IC designation) "in circuit" by (power off and unplugged)

a) black on pin 1- red on pin 2 - record ohms
b) black on pin 1- red on pin 3 - record ohms
c) black on pin 2- red on pin 3 - record ohms

If any ohm reading is less than 30 ohm you might have shorted mosfet. Remove from circuit and repeat the tests to verify.

Some mosfets are more than 3 pins. To test those, identify the part number and search for its datasheet. Once you find the datasheet, the pins will be designated source (S), gate (G), and drain (D). It will probably be documented as S1, S2, G1, G2, D1, D2.

Simply test

a) black on pin S1- red on pin G1 - record ohms
b) black on pin S1- red on pin D1 - record ohms
c) black on pin G1- red on pin D1 - record ohms

Repeat for the "2" pins. That is S2-G2, S2-D2, G2-D2.
selldoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 12:48 PM   #12
rippergr
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Greece
My Country: Ελλάδα
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 270
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

most of the mosfets are show infinite or under 30 ohms.(readings are in circuit)
Does this mean that all are shorted?
There are 14 mosfet near CPU do I have to remove them all to test them?
rippergr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 07:03 PM   #13
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,053
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

^
The MOSFETS around the CPU are unlikely to be the problem. As I said, the test where you attempt to power the board up without the CPU connector plugged in rules that area of the board out.

The problem is more likely to be on the RAM or Chipset VRM, or maybe even one of the peripheral controllers (like the Network controller)
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 01:25 AM   #14
rippergr
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Greece
My Country: Ελλάδα
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 270
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

I remove RAM as well but still no power. Can I start checking some components excluding some others? for example how can I check the chipset VRM or network controller?
rippergr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 04:48 AM   #15
c_hegge
Badcaps Veteran
 
c_hegge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
City & State: North Coast, NSW
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 240V 50Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 5,053
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

I actually meant the VRM the RAM. You'll need to check the MOSFETs on said VRMs using the procedures outlined.

As for the network controller, I'm not too sure how you would test it. I only suggested it as I've revived a couple of boards which were victims of lightning strikes through the network by removing the network controller IC.
c_hegge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 03:04 PM   #16
rippergr
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2014
City & State: Greece
My Country: Ελλάδα
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 270
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

Do you have schematics for this board? or can you point me where is the VRM of RAM
rippergr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 07:41 PM   #17
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 8,687
Default Re: Asrock H61M-GS no power

I've seen something similar happen with a Gigabyte UD3 board before and it wasn't a shorted MOSFET.

So try this: plug PSU in board and short the PSU's PS-ON wire to com/ground. Usually, PS-ON is a green wire, and ground is black. If PSU fan twitches and does nothing again, you have a short circuit.

Another thing I notice is you have some stuff plugged in the USB ports. Makre sure to remove those for the tests and also inspect all USB ports for bad pins.

Last and most important - before we get deeper into the motherboard circuitry - what name and brand of power supply are you using? If it's not under warranty, can we see some pictures of the insides of it?

Last edited by momaka; 02-04-2015 at 07:45 PM..
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?