Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Audio Equipment
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2017, 10:24 PM   #101
srt1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: calicut
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 174
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
The new one, should look like this: 830K013DZKB4
Do you see the D in it? Yours, is probably B or C version.
I checked mine its B version
srt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 10:27 PM   #102
srt1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: calicut
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 174
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
Here in US, Onkyo will repair this issue for free.
Maybe, you should check with Onkyo, in India.
Mine it was repaired once, so it is not entitled for another free repair.
I'm also suspecting, firmware issue. Maybe, the firmware upgrade was stopped suddenly, without finishing the process, or installed wrong firmware.
i got this unit from my friend, he sold me in this condition ,i dont where he got. And i am not sure about firmaware updated or not.how i can update firmawre again now usb not recoganising in front and back
srt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 10:38 PM   #103
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,346
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

I have never done anything like this myself.
I have replaced the DSP with a new D version, I have replaced the nand flash, which I have flashed, with a firmware file and still no change.
Look at the avsforum link that I have posted earlier, that TJMotter seems like he did this many times and you should ask him what to do.
I'm posting there as well.
I need to get a Bus Pirate next. Also he is saying that is not easy to make a good nand flash without bad sectors, which is important.
Most likely, I will have to de-solder it and compare it, with a good working nand's content.
Normally, it is not worth to me all this trouble, because the 609 is not worth much. I'm doing it for the challenge and I'm also learning something.
I have got this receiver for free.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 05:25 AM   #104
srt1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: calicut
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 174
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
I have never done anything like this myself.
I have replaced the DSP with a new D version, I have replaced the nand flash, which I have flashed, with a firmware file and still no change.
Look at the avsforum link that I have posted earlier, that TJMotter seems like he did this many times and you should ask him what to do.
I'm posting there as well.
I need to get a Bus Pirate next. Also he is saying that is not easy to make a good nand flash without bad sectors, which is important.
Most likely, I will have to de-solder it and compare it, with a good working nand's content.
Normally, it is not worth to me all this trouble, because the 609 is not worth much. I'm doing it for the challenge and I'm also learning something.
I have got this receiver for free.
HOW you installed new dsp chip? using hot air work station or BGM work station/?
srt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 08:53 AM   #105
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,346
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

Hot air.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 01:06 PM   #106
srt1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: calicut
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 174
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
Hot air.
Are you sure hot air can do the job well? all balls need to connected right?
srt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 12:26 PM   #107
srt1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: calicut
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 174
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
I have never done anything like this myself.
I have replaced the DSP with a new D version, I have replaced the nand flash, which I have flashed, with a firmware file and still no change.
Look at the avsforum link that I have posted earlier, that TJMotter seems like he did this many times and you should ask him what to do.
I'm posting there as well.
I need to get a Bus Pirate next. Also he is saying that is not easy to make a good nand flash without bad sectors, which is important.
Most likely, I will have to de-solder it and compare it, with a good working nand's content.
Normally, it is not worth to me all this trouble, because the 609 is not worth much. I'm doing it for the challenge and I'm also learning something.
I have got this receiver for free.
can you explain why you need to flash the rom?it already ther you just replacing the dsp chip only..it will not effect the rom right?
srt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2017, 01:02 PM   #108
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,346
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

I'm in the same situation as you. I don't have experience with this.
The firmware may have been corrupted, somebody could have loaded the wrong firmware.
Please read the avsforum, what TJMotter said. He has experience.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2017, 12:08 AM   #109
srt1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: calicut
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 174
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
I'm in the same situation as you. I don't have experience with this.
The firmware may have been corrupted, somebody could have loaded the wrong firmware.
Please read the avsforum, what TJMotter said. He has experience.
ok Noted, thank you,,,
srt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 08:53 AM   #110
mmmilo
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
City & State: Innsbruck
My Country: Austria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tibimakai View Post
I'm in the same situation as you. I don't have experience with this.
The firmware may have been corrupted, somebody could have loaded the wrong firmware.
Please read the avsforum, what TJMotter said. He has experience.
can u tell us pls, where exactly the dc board is connected to ur hdmi board? where do the wires go? hard to see in the pictures. Is ur dts chip's 5 volt still present or did he cut a trace or something like that?

The Dts has its own rom, as u can read in the datasheet and maybe needs to be programmed to.

I think he took of the 5 volt from the dts and takes the 5 volt from the lil board, so that the dsp doesnt has to.
mmmilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 09:46 AM   #111
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,346
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

Sorry, but I have sold that receiver long time ago. I did not do the repair myself, it was done by a Ebay repair man, who was offering this repair.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 09:56 PM   #112
68pishta
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 20
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

Got a 609 cheap. Video and sound only in DIRECT mode, gray net and upgrade. Will reflow the DSP chip and add heat sink. Waiting for thermocouple so I can heat chip to reball specs. Don't want to cook it. BTW, I picked up a clean Sony STR-DN840 for $60 w/remote locally, everything works! I have had good luck with Sony, just cracked solder joints on amp boards, easy to ID and fix.
68pishta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2018, 10:09 PM   #113
tibimakai
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
City & State: Los Angeles/San Dimas, CA
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3,346
Default Re: Onkyo TX-NR616 won't stay powered on

The DSP chip may be bad as well. It could be the soldering, but also could be that the chip is bad. They were recalled. The new chips, have a D in the model number. The original one has a B.
tibimakai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:38 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?