Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Other Devices with Bad Capacitors
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2011, 01:05 PM   #21
Brice
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by AquaSonic View Post
Hi again. No toasty, nothing at all. There is a fan but it is completly dead.

I forgot to tell you that i am using the 220v version of it (i don't know if it makes any difference in the A/C part).

Do you have this ups? Can i give you some pictures to ask you to measure the current there?

The white Rely (at the A/C part next to the 2 black ones) is the component i can't understand whether it is good or not. Here is its datasheet http://pdf1.alldatasheet.com/datashe...68-24-2CE.html

This one is the 8 contact version.

From the downside it looks like ths

1 2 3 4
* * * *
* * * *
5 6 7 8

(there is a huge space between 3 - 4 and 7 - 8 but it won't show in the forum)
The 4 and 8 pins are the 700Ohm DC coil, which meters ok.

The 1 and 5 pins are the A/C input pins.

The 2-6 and 3-7 from what i understand output 230v when there is 25v on the 4-8 pins.

4-8 pins point ~25v when connected to ground individually (4 & gnd / 8 & gnd).

1 and 5 when tested together point 230v, which is ok.

2-6 and 3-7 are dead. BUT! When they are individually tested with Phase or Neutural, they produce about 110v.

So either i need to refresh my psu testing skills or this relay seems bad to me.

I hope you can follow my post
Hi!

I have a similar problem. I returned home from vacation and my RS 1500 was completely dead. I have opened it and replaced all the big caps but still no sign of life, exactly as you mentioned in your post.
Did you fix yours?
Br.
Brice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:53 AM   #22
arielleon305
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
City & State: mendoza
My Country: argentina
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Components were burned in my APC RS-1500, but I can not read their values​​. There is a board diagram of the board?

The components are D35, Q41, R73, R37 (I can't read)

Thanks
arielleon305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 12:43 PM   #23
eelliott
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Cody, WY
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

arielleon305,

Photo attached...

D35 = "A7W"
Q41 = "1AM"
R73 = "2000"
R37 = "2000"

My board is labeled 640-0253E in the bottom right corner (when the big transformer is in the upper right).

My RS 1500 (tall, narrow, beige) is not dead but has started constantly cycling between on-battery and on-AC. None of my other UPS's are unhappy with the incoming AC, which seems to be steady at 122V. There are no expanded caps or burn spots on the board or components. The two 40A fuses are OK. I'm debating my next steps.

Anyway I had it open and thought that you might still be able to use the info.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 200-20130530-CRW_0488.jpg (231.4 KB, 145 views)
eelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:00 PM   #24
jetelina
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
City & State: Vienna
My Country: Austria
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by eelliott View Post
arielleon305,

Photo attached...

D35 = "A7W"
Q41 = "1AM"
R73 = "2000"
R37 = "2000"

My board is labeled 640-0253E in the bottom right corner (when the big transformer is in the upper right).

My RS 1500 (tall, narrow, beige) is not dead but has started constantly cycling between on-battery and on-AC. None of my other UPS's are unhappy with the incoming AC, which seems to be steady at 122V. There are no expanded caps or burn spots on the board or components. The two 40A fuses are OK. I'm debating my next steps.

Anyway I had it open and thought that you might still be able to use the info.
Hi,
have you found out why is this happening?
- I have also APC 1500 RS 220V - without display.
- The thing that happens is when I power it up it stays on battery and does not detect current from wall.
- It's plugged into wall. I pusshed circuit breaker several times. Set UPS sensitivity to low.
- Actually it happes the same as on this YouTube video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lioxJe0UdxY

Any ideas?
jetelina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:41 PM   #25
eelliott
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
City & State: Cody, WY
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 3
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetelina View Post
Any ideas?
No ideas. I was unable to locate a service manual or even a schematic. And because none of the caps were bulged/discolored the solution was not clear in the case of my board.

I replaced the unit with an APC SMC1500. BTW, I wasted time exploring APC's swap program (I've forgotten APC's name for that program) but it was less expensive (and less hassle) to buy a new unit from a retailer rather than dealing directly with APC. (USA. I don't know if that holds true for other countries.)
eelliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 07:21 PM   #26
shovenose
Send Doge Memes
 
shovenose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
City & State: Fairfax, California
My Country: USA
I'm a: Forum Junkie
Posts: 6,128
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

I have the version with LCD and its currently not in use so if it can be of assistance...
shovenose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 09:08 AM   #27
jaykcee
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Portlaoise
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Not wanting to appear stupid ( which I can easily manage ) ..
In troubleshooting these APC Ups .. what voltage should I be seeing across the charging leads /battery terminals with zero load if its healthy .. ?

( 2 x 12volt 20amp batterys , 1250VA Ups )
jaykcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 09:24 AM   #28
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,092
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

about 20% higher than the battery's are rated at.
so about 28v i suspect.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2015, 12:55 PM   #29
jaykcee
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
City & State: Portlaoise
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by stj View Post
about 20% higher than the battery's are rated at.
so about 28v i suspect.
Hmmm That sort of confirms my suspicions ..
Its definitely not supplying a charging voltage..

I've had people tell me to just buy another set of batterys , but it seems to have killed the last set of new ones and buying more seems like a waste of money ..

Whats the most likely thing to fail in the charge circuit ..?
I'm getting to the sad conclusion it may be an "ex-Ups"
jaykcee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2015, 07:58 PM   #30
CapLeaker
Leaking Member
 
CapLeaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
City & State: Atlantic Canada
My Country: Canada
Line Voltage: Ground, 0Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 3,823
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

How long where the old set of batteries in for?
CapLeaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2015, 03:39 PM   #31
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,693
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaykcee View Post
Hmmm That sort of confirms my suspicions ..
Its definitely not supplying a charging voltage..

I've had people tell me to just buy another set of batterys , but it seems to have killed the last set of new ones and buying more seems like a waste of money ..

Whats the most likely thing to fail in the charge circuit ..?
I'm getting to the sad conclusion it may be an "ex-Ups"
Good clear pictures of inside the unit and the boards?
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 02:42 PM   #32
Zorix
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
City & State: Fort Myers
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 18
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

I know this topic is a little bit old but I think this could help. A common problem in the BR1500 model is that two surface mount aluminium electrolytic capacitors (C40 and C41) responsible for the -8v supply to the line sense circuit is marginal or failed. On mine, they read correct 22uF value but fail on ESR test. Replacing either or both of these should fix the on battery always or constant switching to battery.

I also have a PDF of the schematic for the board model 640-0253E. I don't know about this forum's policy though. APC has shut down sites providing schematics in the past.

Last edited by Zorix; 06-03-2016 at 02:44 PM.. Reason: Info on schematic
Zorix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:21 PM   #33
runderwo
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 13
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Back-UPS XS 1500 was repaired by replacing all 22uF SMD electrolytic caps. There are five of them and they were reading anywhere from tens of ohms to infinite ESR. Symptom was failure to charge battery and eventually failure to power on at all emitting only a chirp on attempt.
runderwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 02:19 AM   #34
fzabkar
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
My Country: Australia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
Posts: 773
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Isn't eserviceinfo.com a Bulgarian site? Would the Bulgarians give a damn? Maybe we could see if they have the schematics ...

There are a few schematics at ElektroTanya also ...

Last edited by fzabkar; 07-28-2016 at 02:24 AM..
fzabkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2016, 12:31 PM   #35
cassava
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
City & State: agra
My Country: india
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

just change the battery and it will work
cassava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 02:38 PM   #36
andmars
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
City & State: Dublin
My Country: Ireland
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorix View Post
I know this topic is a little bit old but I think this could help. A common problem in the BR1500 model is that two surface mount aluminium electrolytic capacitors (C40 and C41) responsible for the -8v supply to the line sense circuit is marginal or failed. On mine, they read correct 22uF value but fail on ESR test. Replacing either or both of these should fix the on battery always or constant switching to battery.

I also have a PDF of the schematic for the board model 640-0253E. I don't know about this forum's policy though. APC has shut down sites providing schematics in the past.
Had to register just to say thanks, you were absolutely spot on!

For the last six months i had noticed any time my RS 1000 was powered off it took multiple attempts to start up before it would switch to AC power. Over the last few weeks it had started rapidly switching to battery and back very quickly. Always in the middle of the night you would hear a clickity clack, clickity clack, clickity clack from the next room and i would have to get up and power it off. Then power cycle it multiple times the next day before it would switch to AC.

I tried replacing all the regular electrolytics which made no difference, but it was probably no harm in doing them anyway. Then i found your post and changed the C40 and C41 SMD's as per your recommendation and it worked perfectly. Just to future proof it i replaced the other SMD's, so thank you, a combination of your wisdom and my stubborness it should serve me well for another decade or so.

P.S. Would love a copy of the schematic if you could PM me a copy?
andmars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2018, 08:27 AM   #37
sseverus
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zorix View Post
A common problem in the BR1500 model is that two surface mount aluminium electrolytic capacitors (C40 and C41) responsible for the -8v supply to the line sense circuit is marginal or failed . . . Replacing either or both of these should fix the on battery always or constant switching to battery.
Thanks. My APC was immediately switching to battery whenever turned on. I replaced C40 & C41 as you suggested and it now works fine. Thanks again.
sseverus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 02:28 PM   #38
cpumech
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
City & State: Rogue River,Oregon
My Country: USA
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2
Default Re: APC Back-ups RS 1500 Dead

Also another thanks to you all, I used my Ungar heat gut to locate the caps last week, and Just wanted to confirm that you were right, when I heated the caps with the gun It works fine, cooling them off with the Freeze mist = Fail, So we are in agreement, thanks again. Peace
cpumech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:20 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?