Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > Major Manufacturers Boards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2018, 11:39 PM   #1
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,475
Default ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

Had couple IntEl boards in my hands lately, all of them had those reversed polarity marking crap for caps. So A(u)S(h)US makes boards for them now or what?
__________________
Less jewellery, more gold into electrotech industry! Half of the computer problems is caused by bad contacts

Exclusive caps, meters and more!
Hardware Insights - power supply reviews and more!
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 06:47 AM   #2
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

Foxconn
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 07:09 AM   #3
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

Never seen that on Foxconn board before so why would that be Foxconn?
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2018, 09:01 PM   #4
goodpsusearch
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
City & State: Thessaloniki, Greece
My Country: Greece
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,945
Default Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

From Dell Optiplex GX280
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Foxconn motherboard.jpg (44.0 KB, 34 views)
goodpsusearch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 07:07 AM   #5
jiroy
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
City & State: Beirut
My Country: Lebanon
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,726
Default Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

There was an announcement from Intel that it will stop manufacturing boards since some years . To read more on this issue :

https://www.pcworld.com/article/2025...m-factors.html


https://gizmodo.com/5978232/intel-to...p-motherboards
jiroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 12:50 PM   #6
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,515
Default Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
Had couple IntEl boards in my hands lately, all of them had those reversed polarity marking crap for caps. So A(u)S(h)US makes boards for them now or what?
I've seen a few of those as well. After 15 years of recapping, you learn to check any/all boards before starting a job....I've done full recaps a few times before realizing I had them all installed backward...
__________________
<--- Badcaps.net Founder & Owner

Badcaps.net Services:

Premade Capacitor Kits
Badcaps.net Capacitor Master List


Motherboard Repair Services


If you've come here in search of replacement capacitors or repair services, please use the links above.
----------------------------------------------
Badcaps.net Forum Members Folding Team
http://folding.stanford.edu/
Team : 49813
Join in!!
Team Stats
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 06:00 PM   #7
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,976
Default Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

^ MMMmmm Popcorn!
__________________
Things I've fixed: anything from semis to crappy Chinese $2 radios, and now an IoT Dildo....

"Dude, this is Wyoming, i hopped on and sent 'er. No fucking around." -- Me

Excuse me while i do something dangerous


You must have a sad, sad boring life if you hate on people harmlessly enjoying life with an animal costume.

Sometimes you need to break shit to fix it.... Thats why my lawnmower doesn't have a deadman switch or engine brake anymore
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 10:29 PM   #8
Topcat
The Boss Stooge
 
Topcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
City & State: Salem, MO
My Country: United States
Line Voltage: 120VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 12,515
Default Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goontron View Post
^ MMMmmm Popcorn!
Never fired one like that, always caught it before that point....but it sure made a lot of extra work for myself correcting it.
Topcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2018, 10:38 PM   #9
Behemot
Badcaps Veteran
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Prague, 504'52.22"N, 1423'30.45"E
My Country: CZ
Line Voltage: 230 V/50 Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,475
Default Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

These were fortunatelly capped OK, but it's professional deformation to always check it thoroughly…that's how I noticed it.
Behemot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2018, 09:55 PM   #10
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 9,051
Default Re: ASUS now makes boards for Intel?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post
Had couple IntEl boards in my hands lately, all of them had those reversed polarity marking crap for caps. So A(u)S(h)US makes boards for them now or what?
Yeah, I noticed that as well maybe a year or two ago as well. But since the boards came out of OEM PCs, I assumed they were made by ASUS and I completely ignored the memo that some of them actually said "Intel" on them. I happened to realize that when browsing yesterday on eBay and found this:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-DG35E.../192438966982?

As I always inspect eBay boards for badcaps, spotting the "backwards"-installed was one of the first things I noticed.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jiroy View Post
There was an announcement from Intel that it will stop manufacturing boards since some years .
Ah, another mobo maker removed from the equation - how boring!
So what do we have now? Only ASUS, MSI, and Gigabyte? I could swear that some recent MSI and Gigabyte motherboards look almost like exact copies of each other, so maybe we are down to two manufacturers only? If so, that's sad times then. :\

Quote:
Originally Posted by Topcat View Post
I've seen a few of those as well. After 15 years of recapping, you learn to check any/all boards before starting a job....I've done full recaps a few times before realizing I had them all installed backward...
Lol that must have been a major RAGE-meme moment when you realized that.

I had to do lots of ASUS motherboards when I started recapping, so naturally I got used to seeing the "backwards" cap placement quite often - in fact so much that sometimes I had to check the cap orientation on my non-ASUS boards, as I almost did one backwards, thanks to ASUS ... *almost* So far, though, I have never powered up a board with caps installed backwards by mistake - if there was one, I always caught it on time.

Last edited by momaka; 01-28-2018 at 09:56 PM..
momaka is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?