Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Motherboards with Bad Capacitors > All Others Motherboards
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2015, 02:08 AM   #1
thunder77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

Hi guys!
I need your help. I have this MB AsRock 775i65GV. http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/775i65GV/

In the attached picture we see 10 caps. The problem is my MB has only 4!!! They are KZE 1200uF-16V.
I need your help finding the other 6 caps, their values.
As you can see in the picture, they are different color(blue with gold stripe - I mark them with a red line).

Thank you very much!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 775i65GV(L1).jpg (284.2 KB, 49 views)
thunder77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 02:19 AM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,079
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

probably 3300uf 6.3v ultra-low esr
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 02:27 AM   #3
thunder77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

Thank you stj. But I need to be sure.
The others 4 are rated 16V. So why they put different voltage?
thunder77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 03:14 AM   #4
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,079
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

because the 16v ones are smoothing the 12v coming in, the others are smoothing the low voltage output from the stepdown circuit that drives the cpu.
see the fet's & coils.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 03:28 AM   #5
thunder77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

I see.
This MB drives me nuts. It's booting, trying to load xp live from hiren and then shut down!
thunder77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 04:39 AM   #6
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,079
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

it shouldnt even be used with missing caps - you can do serious damage to the mobo & cpu
i'm surprised it even starts up.

why are the caps missing btw?
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 08:46 AM   #7
thunder77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

Yes, I know.
The caps are missing GOD knows why. My guess is someone took them out. Me and my colleague are trying to repair this MB.
We have 2 MB and same scenario. Both have missing caps(6), post it and when you try to boot in XP live from hiren then shut down.

I will email AsRock support and ask them for missing caps values.
Now I am very intrested. I will change all the caps, but if I do not know the missing 6 caps values it's useless...
thunder77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 09:10 AM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,079
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

maybe the originals were polymer (expensive) and got salvaged to upgrade another board.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 02:14 PM   #9
thunder77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

stj look carefully at image I posted. They are not polymeric caps! And the picture is original from AsRock site.
You think is a good ideea to email AsRock?
thunder77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 02:49 PM   #10
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,194
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

Looks like Rubycon MBZ or MCZ 3300F 6.3v capacitors
__________________
"The one who says it cannot be done should never interrupt the one who is doing it."
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 05:07 PM   #11
thunder77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

Thank you Per Hansson!
So you said that should I put 6.3V - 3300F? I will go with this value. I will post if MB will be ok after full recap.

Thank you all! Be right back soon, maybe tomorrow.
thunder77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 05:26 PM   #12
thunder77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

Evrikaaaa! God bless Google! I found it!
They are OST RLX 6.3V 3300UF ULTRA LOW ESR! Look at OST and OST1 jpeg pictures!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg OST.jpg (104.6 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg OST1.jpg (291.3 KB, 31 views)
thunder77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 07:43 PM   #13
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,079
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

just to be clear - dont you dare go buying OST caps for it - they are shit.
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 07:50 PM   #14
thunder77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

stj of course I will not do that! I will buy Rubycon MBZ, Panasonic or Samwha WL low esr.
thunder77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2015, 08:14 PM   #15
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 20,079
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

unfortunatly pana dont make caps with esr that low, and samwha is shit.

i think your limited to rubycon, sanyo and maybe nichicon
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 01:00 AM   #16
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,194
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

Mainboard manufacturers often use different caps, the ones in your first photo are definantely not OST, they have the wrong top stamp pattern for that.
In any case it does not matter, just put something really low ESR there, solid polymer caps are fine too, I think this site still might sell some...
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2015, 12:03 PM   #17
thunder77
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Bucharest
My Country: Romania
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 25
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

Per Hanson I have good news. My guess is they are OST because the small ones rated at 1000uF-6.3V are the same. I talk about second picture. If I will find identical MB then I will know for sure.
I put Matsushita and voila, the MB is stable and don't power down. Right now I run 3DMark2001 in loop. We will see tomorrow if the board is stable .

Thank you all for your help!
thunder77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2015, 02:29 PM   #18
Per Hansson
Super Moderator
 
Per Hansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
City & State: ----
My Country: Sweden
Line Voltage: 230v 50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 4,194
Default Re: AsRock 775i65GV missing capacitors! Help!

They may use several different models of caps during production, it's all based on cost and availability...
Per Hansson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?