Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > General Topics > General Computer & Tech Discussion
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2014, 03:50 PM   #1
pentium
Badcaps Veteran
 
pentium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
City & State: Kamloops BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,688
Question BIOS locked itself

So the CR2032 CMOS battery in my CF-25 (MK III) toughbook died and this causes the machine to not POST. After I replaced it I went into the BIOS and discovered the supervisor password was set. I could adjust power management and enable/disable the trackpad but everything else is locked out.
I reset the CMOS twice by shorting the CR2032 and it's still there. I never set passwords in the CMOS. I have no clue what the hell the password could even be. I have the laptop pulled apart again with the battery removed and the terminals shorted but I have no clue if this is the "proper" way to reset on a toughbook.
__________________
Find Nedry!


Check the Vending machines!!

<----Computer says I need more beer.

Last edited by pentium; 06-11-2014 at 04:14 PM..
pentium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 03:56 PM   #2
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,568
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

you need a service manual.
most lap's have a dipswitch or pair of pads you can short to clear the cmos.
ibm's dont count btw - those bastards have a special eeprom with internal security (anti-glitch) feature and wireless (NFC) access.
i hate those - you have to dump them wih a homemade interface!

just to add, shorting the battery holder wont work - there is a diode after it and the ram will also have a cap across it.
shorting the holder for a day or 2 may work - but maybe not.

Last edited by stj; 06-11-2014 at 03:58 PM..
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 04:11 PM   #3
pentium
Badcaps Veteran
 
pentium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
City & State: Kamloops BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,688
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

I have no clue where at this point I could find the service manual for the CF-25.
pentium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 04:37 PM   #4
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,981
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

apt-get remove bios-passwd?
on a serious note: there are laptop BIOS password cracking disks around the 'net.
__________________
Things I've fixed: anything from semis to crappy Chinese $2 radios, and now an IoT Dildo....

"Dude, this is Wyoming, i hopped on and sent 'er. No fucking around." -- Me

Excuse me while i do something dangerous


You must have a sad, sad boring life if you hate on people harmlessly enjoying life with an animal costume.

Sometimes you need to break shit to fix it.... Thats why my lawnmower doesn't have a deadman switch or engine brake anymore

Last edited by goontron; 06-11-2014 at 04:53 PM..
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 04:51 PM   #5
pentium
Badcaps Veteran
 
pentium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
City & State: Kamloops BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,688
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

Well I guess I can look around and see if there is anything. There's a lot of shady apps out there.
pentium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 04:53 PM   #6
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,981
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

who makes the BIOS?

award BIOS backdoor passwords:

ALFAROME BIOSTAR KDD ZAAADA
ALLy CONCAT Lkwpeter ZBAAACA
aLLy CONDO LKWPETER ZJAAADC
aLLY Condo PINT 01322222
ALLY d8on pint 589589
aPAf djonet SER 589721
_award HLT SKY_FOX 595595
AWARD_SW J64 SYXZ 598598
AWARD?SW J256 syxz
AWARD SW J262 shift + syxz
AWARD PW j332 TTPTHA
AWKWARD j322
awkward

AMI BIOS Backdoor Passwords:

AMI BIOS PASSWORD HEWITT RAND
AMI?SW AMI_SW LKWPETER CONDO

Phoenix BIOS Backdoor Passwords:

phoenix PHOENIX CMOS BIOS

Misc. Common Passwords

ALFAROME BIOSTAR biostar biosstar
CMOS cmos LKWPETER lkwpeter
setup SETUP Syxz Wodj


Other BIOS Passwords by Manufacturer
  1. VOBIS & IBM = merlin
  2. Dell = Dell
  3. Biostar = Biostar
  4. Compaq = Compaq
  5. Enox = xo11nE
  6. Epox = central
  7. Freetech = Posterie
  8. IWill = iwill
  9. Jetway = spooml
  10. Packard Bell = bell9
  11. QDI = QDI
  12. Siemens = SKY_FOX
  13. TMC = BIGO
  14. Toshiba = Toshiba (some will reset BIOS if the left shift key is held down during boot)

on an interesting note: this is what inspired the IBM password http://www-03.ibm.com/ibm/history/ex...rage_3330.html

Last edited by goontron; 06-11-2014 at 04:59 PM..
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 04:59 PM   #7
Mad_Professor
A Mech Warrior
 
Mad_Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
City & State: Orlando Fucking Florida
Posts: 1,513
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

try killcmos, seems to be a common thing for these toughbooks.
Mad_Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:12 PM   #8
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,568
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

what prof said - just seen this:
http://www.computing.net/answers/har...ord/63362.html
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:14 PM   #9
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,568
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/killcmos.html

and incase you need it.
http://www.freedos.org/
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:31 PM   #10
pentium
Badcaps Veteran
 
pentium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
City & State: Kamloops BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,688
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

The POST has an IBM copyright so I assume it uses a licensed BIOS. Unfortunately the backdoor password did not work.

Anyways, killcmos.com did clear out both the CMOS settings and that nasty supervisor password so all is well again. Thank you.
Setting the supervisor password with a CMOS change. What a peculiar bug....or security feature?

Last edited by pentium; 06-11-2014 at 05:37 PM..
pentium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:36 PM   #11
goontron
5000!
 
goontron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
City & State: South Greeley, Wyoming
My Country: US
Line Voltage: 13.9kv HT service and some 240v center tap oddity.
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,981
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

Quote:
Originally Posted by pentium View Post
wow. Killcmos did indeed work.

Setting the supervisor password with a cmos change. What a peculiar bug....or security feature?
bug.
goontron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:44 PM   #12
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,568
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

btw, when i saw your post title i thought you had an HP NC6200.series
that would have been a bitch - best leave that for another day!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:59 PM   #13
pentium
Badcaps Veteran
 
pentium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
City & State: Kamloops BC
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 2,688
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

I've seen my share of laptops with various passwords set.
pentium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 08:57 PM   #14
stj
Great Sage 齊天大聖
 
stj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Europe
My Country: some shithole run by Israeli agents
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 21,568
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

yea, but the 6200's have a design fault that sets them and a TPM chip to keep them held!!
stj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:17 PM   #15
Agent24
I see dead caps
 
Agent24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
City & State: Hiding inside a plated-through hole
My Country: New Zealand
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 4,630
Default Re: BIOS locked itself

I think my MSI 790GX-G65 has a BIOS bug that causes a password to be set; if at POST I press F11 to enter the boot device menu and after that press Delete to enter the BIOS, it will ask for a password until I clear the BIOS settings.
__________________
"Tantalum for the brave, Solid Aluminium for the wise, Wet Electrolytic for the adventurous"
-David VanHorn
Agent24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2019
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:24 PM.
Did you find this forum helpful?