Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Electronics Theory and Troubleshooting > Power Supply Design and Troubleshooting
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2017, 12:15 PM   #1
nick122
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: Murska Sobota
My Country: Slovenia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 48
Default lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

So yesterday my sister left her computer on over night and after she woke up she tried powering it on but nothing happened. After diagnosing the problem I figured out that it was a power supply. Btw when I woke up that morning the fuse blew (idk if her computer caused that) but we had problems with poppin fuses before so im not so concerned about that. It's roughly 4 months old and is still under warranty, but I bought is as an OEM unit in another country (we recently moved to Slovenia) and I won't be going there any time soon so I thought about opening it up and trying to repair it (im somewhat experienced with switching power supplies) by myself. I tried measuring resistance between L and N, it measures infinite and gives no signs of life whatsoever (not even 5sb). It physically looks good (I tried taking a sneek peak through the vent holes using a flashlight) and all the caps and semiconductors look good. I honestly think that something short circuited and created a surge that popped a fuse inside. Should I open her up?
Cheers

Last edited by nick122; 10-05-2017 at 12:31 PM..
nick122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 01:30 PM   #2
Quaddro
PSU hobbyist..
 
Quaddro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Yogyakarta
My Country: Indonesia
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 57
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

first..
That's an lc power..
Not really worth to repair..i think.

Now back to the topic.
If it's trip your breaker, then must be short somewhere in primary part of your PSU.

And if it give no sign of life even for the 5vsb, then the fuse is dead.
Mostly it cause by shorted mosfet like primary mosfet or apfc mosfet.
Or shorted 5vsb generator /Power Off-Line Switcher IC.

With the right components, it will be 100% successful rate.
Quaddro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 01:44 PM   #3
nick122
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: Murska Sobota
My Country: Slovenia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 48
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Thabks for replying
It's powering an office pc that pulls 150w max so I guess that it doesn't need a powerful psu. Ik that I should just go and buy a new one, they're not that expensive but I like repairing stuff
Ok so I'm gonna open it up and check and if needed replace the fuse. Also can a blown bridge rectifier pop fuses? I'll keep you updated
P.S. the 5Vsb ic is b117h and it looks ok

Last edited by nick122; 10-05-2017 at 01:52 PM..
nick122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2017, 10:04 PM   #4
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 650
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaddro View Post
first..
That's an lc power..
Not really worth to repair..i think.
Agreed.

The LC600H cost something like 25 bucks or so and is of low quality. Fiddeling around this thing isn't worth it at all...

And with shipping costs and shit like that it's really not worth it trying to fix it.
In the end you'll have something like the most expensive LC-600H12 in the world wich does not make this unit one bit better...

Last edited by Stefan Payne; 10-05-2017 at 10:06 PM..
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 10:55 AM   #5
nick122
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: Murska Sobota
My Country: Slovenia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 48
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

So I upened it up, and there's a burn mark under the 5vsb ic and the fuse is blown. So I guess that i'm screwed, right? I can't post pics because I closed it up and I reused the warranty sticker lol (using a hair dryer and a razor). Any suggestions?
nick122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 12:27 PM   #6
Quaddro
PSU hobbyist..
 
Quaddro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Yogyakarta
My Country: Indonesia
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 57
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Yeah..
Burned 5vsb generator ic is commonly happens.
Do you can identify the ic serial number?
tny series, top series, viper series or what..?

a nice picture will help alot.

Just replace it, and everything will go like new.
Quaddro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 12:48 PM   #7
nick122
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: Murska Sobota
My Country: Slovenia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 48
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

It's Fairchild semi FSB117H. I can't cake pics because I resealed it.
nick122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 01:44 PM   #8
nick122
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: Murska Sobota
My Country: Slovenia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 48
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Also I've just noticed that the "SC" 47uf 50v cap near the 5vsb transformer is leaking. SC probably stands for sh!t capacitor . Is that what caused the 5vsb IC to blow?

Last edited by nick122; 10-06-2017 at 01:46 PM..
nick122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 05:23 PM   #9
Quaddro
PSU hobbyist..
 
Quaddro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Yogyakarta
My Country: Indonesia
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 57
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

leak?
How do you know?
47uF caps must be so small..
It's impossible to see it if it leak or bulged, simply high esr or shorted.

Take a camera, and give the photo.
Quaddro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 03:47 AM   #10
nick122
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
City & State: Murska Sobota
My Country: Slovenia
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 48
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

There's some kind of sticky brownish thing underneath it. I'll upload pics later.

Last edited by nick122; 10-07-2017 at 03:48 AM..
nick122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2017, 04:42 AM   #11
Quaddro
PSU hobbyist..
 
Quaddro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Yogyakarta
My Country: Indonesia
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 57
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

That's just glue..
Just clean it and you'll be okay.

But if you have any doubt, well, just replace the capacitor.
Quaddro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:14 PM   #12
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,225
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaddro View Post
first..
That's an lc power..
Not really worth to repair..i think.
Not exactly.

Make sure you are not mistaking LC Power for L&C power supplies.

L&C = Deer = Allied = Solytech = meh... not good, really.

LC Power = ??? I forgot who made them, but they are NOT related to L&C/Deer/Allied at all. So you may have a decent unit on your hand. Some pictures would definitely be helpful.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 02:27 PM   #13
Quaddro
PSU hobbyist..
 
Quaddro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Yogyakarta
My Country: Indonesia
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 57
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Not exactly.

Make sure you are not mistaking LC Power for L&C power supplies.

L&C = Deer = Allied = Solytech = meh... not good, really.

LC Power = ??? I forgot who made them, but they are NOT related to L&C/Deer/Allied at all. So you may have a decent unit on your hand. Some pictures would definitely be helpful.
listed as $44 in amazon for 600w.
To good to be true for a decent psu.
Well, at least this one is apfc..

Yes, picture will really helpful.
Quaddro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2017, 11:42 PM   #14
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 650
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Not exactly.

Make sure you are not mistaking LC Power for L&C power supplies.

L&C = Deer = Allied = Solytech = meh... not good, really.

LC Power = ??? I forgot who made them, but they are NOT related to L&C/Deer/Allied at all. So you may have a decent unit on your hand. Some pictures would definitely be helpful.
Yeah, but LC-Power has some decent ones and some not that great ones.
This one clearly is one of the not so great ones as it only cost around 30 bucks - or less.
And remember in Germany 19% VAT is included (has to be)...

And it seems like most of their stuff right now is made by Great Wall...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 06:55 AM   #15
Dan81
BOOYAH!
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 563
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Not exactly.

Make sure you are not mistaking LC Power for L&C power supplies.

L&C = Deer = Allied = Solytech = meh... not good, really.

LC Power = ??? I forgot who made them, but they are NOT related to L&C/Deer/Allied at all. So you may have a decent unit on your hand. Some pictures would definitely be helpful.
As far as I've read LC Power PSUs are made by Huntkey.

Also, not all Solytechs are bad. At least some of Modecom's PSUs are based on the Allied/Apex line, and the one PSU I have from them is fully packed with beefy parts and includes PFC. (which is also real)
__________________
Main rig:
Gigabyte GA-MA770-US3, AMD Athlon II X4 620 2.6GHz, Sapphire Radeon R7 240 2GB DDR3, 4GB DDR2-800, LiteOn DVD-RW drive, Seasonic SS-351HT 350W, AVerMedia Super 009 TV tuner, Samsung HD103SI 1TB, Delux MT375 case

Second rig:
ASUS K8N4-E, AMD Sempron 2800+, Manli Geforce 7300LE 256MB, 1GB DDR400, H-L DVD-RW, Pixelview TV Tuner, 80GB WDC HDD (IDE), Deer DR-A300ATX 300W, JNC RJA-52 case

Last edited by Dan81; 10-12-2017 at 07:15 AM..
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 11:33 AM   #16
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,225
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaddro View Post
listed as $44 in amazon for 600w.
To good to be true for a decent psu
I've seen true 600W units go for that much on sale here, even without rebates.

But you are right that the price is quite low for that power range, so this would probably indeed be a low-end 600W PSU at best (crappy caps, crappy fan, not very efficient, terrible hold up time, and etc.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
Also, not all Solytechs are bad. At least some of Modecom's PSUs are based on the Allied/Apex line, and the one PSU I have from them is fully packed with beefy parts and includes PFC. (which is also real)
Even a "fully packed" Allied/Apex unit is still quite far from a decent unit. Well, my main problem with them is that they always seem to over-rate their PSUs. If they rated them properly, I wouldn't have that much against them. But recently I got one Allied PSU - fully packed inside, as you say - and it was blown. Why? -Because Allied rated it as a 500W PSU and even included two PCI-E 8-pin connectors. That's really nice of them, but when this PSU was used in an older i7 rig with an R9 290 and two HDDs, it clearly couldn't handle the load. Had Allied rated it for 300-400 Watts and not included the dual 8-pin PCI-E power connectors, this could have been averted. Also, it's a half-bridge design with a 2-transistor 5VSB circuit. In modern times, this is unacceptable IMO for a high-power PSU. I mean, half-bridge is nice and reliable, but it's not very efficient and also requires very bulky components due to the relatively low-speed switching frequency of most H-bridge PWM ICs. Really everyone should be using some form of 2TF (2 transistor forward) design by now, with or without APFC.

Also, I'm not a big fan of those green CS caps that Deer and Allied like to use exclusively in their PSUs. Basically, all of their PSUs would require a recap if you want to run them reliably for more than a few years.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 01:21 PM   #17
Stefan Payne
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
City & State: Northern Germany
My Country: Germany
Line Voltage: 230VAC/50Hz or 400VAC/3P/50Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 650
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
As far as I've read LC Power PSUs are made by Huntkey.
They were, but not anymore.
For years they haven't done anything with Huntkey, as far as I know...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
Also, not all Solytechs are bad.
Example of an amazing Solytech PSU:
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...XQ_850W/4.html

Later iterations seem to have CapXon caps secondary...
Stefan Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 02:13 PM   #18
Quaddro
PSU hobbyist..
 
Quaddro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
City & State: Yogyakarta
My Country: Indonesia
Line Voltage: 220VAC 60Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 57
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Yeah, i have an old 225w solytech psu from hp/wearness.

After recaps and small upgrade to the primary transistor and secondary rectifier, it's pretty decent for light load computer..
Quaddro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2017, 09:47 PM   #19
Dan81
BOOYAH!
 
Dan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
City & State: Romania
My Country: Bacau
Line Voltage: 230VAC 50Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 563
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Even a "fully packed" Allied/Apex unit is still quite far from a decent unit. Well, my main problem with them is that they always seem to over-rate their PSUs. If they rated them properly, I wouldn't have that much against them. But recently I got one Allied PSU - fully packed inside, as you say - and it was blown. Why? -Because Allied rated it as a 500W PSU and even included two PCI-E 8-pin connectors. That's really nice of them, but when this PSU was used in an older i7 rig with an R9 290 and two HDDs, it clearly couldn't handle the load.
Mine must've been rated honestly then - 400W and it had the usual stuff - 20pin, 4pin ATX12v, 4 Molex plugs and one floppy plug.


Quote:
Originally Posted by momaka View Post
Also, I'm not a big fan of those green CS caps that Deer and Allied like to use exclusively in their PSUs. Basically, all of their PSUs would require a recap if you want to run them reliably for more than a few years.
Deer uses Saturn/Yang Chun caps, not CS. They're not the only people to use them though, as I've seen them in some Enhance PSUs as well.
Dan81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2017, 01:54 PM   #20
momaka
Badcaps Veteran
 
momaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
City & State: VA (NoVA)
My Country: U.S.A.
Line Voltage: 120 VAC, 60 Hz
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 7,225
Default Re: lc power lc 600h apfc doesn't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
Mine must've been rated honestly then - 400W and it had the usual stuff - 20pin, 4pin ATX12v, 4 Molex plugs and one floppy plug.
mmmmmmmmmm........ no.
If anything, that configuration reminds me of the typical cheapo L&C that comes with a the standard 20 pin ATX, 4 pin ATX12V, and 4 peripheral connectors (+1 floppy). So when I see it, I pretty much know what to expect when I open the PSU.

Don't get me wrong - even those low-end L&C PSUs have a decent half-bridge design and will be quite dependable with the proper components installed. But in terms of overall value, again, they are just "Meh."

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan81 View Post
Deer uses Saturn/Yang Chun caps, not CS. They're not the only people to use them though, as I've seen them in some Enhance PSUs as well.
Ah yes, brain fart on my end here.
momaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2017
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:02 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?