Acer x193w with Darfon B092-XXX inverter - assistance needed! [lotsa pics!]

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Acer x193w with Darfon B092-XXX inverter - assistance needed! [lotsa pics!]

Howdy folks I've lurked these forums a bit but have not registered until now. I was hoping that someone with a whole lot more experience than me could help shed some light on this strange inverter boards problem (I say strange, because I can't find mention of other monitors that use this board)

I got this monitor for free, so I'd really like to get it going and save it from the dump

The unit powers on and displays a nice picture for 5 or 10 seconds and then the backlight turns off. Checking with a flashlight, I can see the picture when the lights are off.

I'm really new at repairing LCD's... I have a decent understanding of basic electronics, but am a mega noob when it comes to repair. So far, I have replaced all of the cheap capacitors that were on there (including the large filter capacitor), and that did nothing. I've checked the fuse, rectifier, as well as any large resistors. All check out fine using the appropriate multimeter tests.

I've scoured high and low on the bottom of the board looking for any indication of a surface mount fuse...I can't find any "F's" or SMD packages that look like fuses (just the standard resistors, caps, transistors, etc). There is however a dual package fet that has some discolouration around it - I found a datasheet for it, but instead of being a normal FET, it's a P and N type in one package - how do I test this guy? (I've never really tested any FETs before...)

Here's the FET's datasheet:
    https://cdn.badcaps-static.com/pdfs/...3d6e9db571.pdf

I guess the ultimate thing would be if someone here is familiar with this board and has some specific things I should look at. I did find a service manual for this model of monitor, however the inverter board is not the same

I've attached some pictures for reference (scroll down)!