Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting TVs and Video Sources
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2018, 06:12 PM   #101
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Voltage comes up to 4.44V with CN6101 detached from PSU

4.44V on the 444th post. You have to be kidding me!

Last edited by DXseekerMO; 12-06-2018 at 06:15 PM..
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 06:14 PM   #102
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,021
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Well something on the main is killing the ac_off_det line unless thats normal operation but it does'nt seem likely

That line connects to ic9000 via RB9031 (100Ω)

Last edited by R_J; 12-06-2018 at 06:23 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 06:19 PM   #103
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

That makes sense. So there's really nothing to short out on that circuit on the main board but the X-REALITY processor?

EDIT: Just saw your addition to last post, will check schematic

Last edited by DXseekerMO; 12-06-2018 at 06:27 PM..
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 06:40 PM   #104
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by R_J View Post
Well something on the main is killing the ac_off_det line unless thats normal operation but it does'nt seem likely

That line connects to ic9000 via RB9031 (100Ω)
While tracing down circuits near that resistor array I checked all 4 of them, I believe the reading in diode mode was .120

So I guess that confirms a short in the X-REALITY processor, IC9000?
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 07:10 PM   #105
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,021
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

When checking resistors use ohm setting, not diode test, in this case the resistors are each 100Ω. If you check from ground to the one that is connected to the ac_off_det line it is likely close to 0Ω to ground
If that line is LOW the ic believes there is a problem with the power supply so it won't allow it to be turned on

Last edited by R_J; 12-06-2018 at 07:12 PM..
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 07:20 PM   #106
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

At what ground point should I measure, and on what side of the resistor?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg shopjimmy-a-1814-572-b-bottom_6RA2.jpg (525.1 KB, 4 views)

Last edited by DXseekerMO; 12-06-2018 at 07:23 PM..
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 07:42 PM   #107
R_J
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
City & State: ☻
My Country: Canada
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 3,021
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

You would use chassis ground or pin 1 of cn6002, You can find out which resistor it is by puting a probe on CN6002 pin 9 and check to each of the 4 resistors of RB9031. the point that is 0Ω is pin8, now check the other side (pin7) of the resistor to ground, that will check the input point (AE5) of the ic9000
R_J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 09:45 PM   #108
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,304
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DXseekerMO View Post
Voltage comes up to 4.44V with CN6101 detached from PSU

4.44V on the 444th post. You have to be kidding me!
STBY power supply is only 3.3V so I cannot see how you can have 4.44V at the collector of the Transistor which has resistor R6403 (8K2) between STBY3.3V supply and the Collector.. you better recheck your test.
AC_OFF_DET also feed connector CN6102 pin 7, anything connected to CN6102?
What did you use for GND ref. for the meter?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AC_OFF_DET.jpg (295.9 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Never stop learning
Basic LCD TV and Monitor troubleshooting guides.
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...956#post305956

Voltage Regulator (LDO) testing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...999#post300999

Inverter testing using old CFL:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthr...er+testing+cfl

Tear down pictures : Hit the ">" Show Albums and stories" on the left side
http://s807.photobucket.com/user/budm/library/

TV Factory reset codes listing:
http://www.badcaps.net/forum/showthread.php?t=24809

Last edited by budm; 12-06-2018 at 10:09 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 10:04 PM   #109
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Sorry about the lengthly delay is replying. I wanted to check and re-check before posting more bad info.

Well R_J, it appears you are correct about one of those resistors being shorted to ground, Please see the attached picture, annotated with the ground point I used and findings at the resistors.

Can you tell me if I was grounded in the right spot? If I was I think the results are conclusive.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg shopjimmy-a-1814-572-b-bottom_62AR.jpg (410.1 KB, 2 views)
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 10:08 PM   #110
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
STBY power supply is only 3.3V so I cannot see how you can have 4.44V at the collector of the Transistor which has resistor R6403 (8K2) between STBY3.3V supply and the Collector.. you better recheck your test.
AC_OFF_DET also feed connector CN6102 pin 7, anything connected to CN6102?
I will check and report back.

That is the AC_OFF_DET pin voltage at pin 7, CN6101 after unhooking the connector from the PSU

Last edited by DXseekerMO; 12-06-2018 at 10:11 PM..
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 10:34 PM   #111
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,304
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

That is correct, just think about it, you have 3.3V power supply Voltage to run tha detection circuit and some how you are getting 4.44V (Collector) on the Transistors, how can that be?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AC_OFF_DET.jpg (295.9 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by budm; 12-06-2018 at 10:37 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 10:51 PM   #112
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
That is correct, just think about it, you have 3.3V power supply Voltage to run tha detection circuit and some how you are getting 4.44V (Collector) on the Transistors, how can that be?
No load from the mainboard?

Transistor shorted?

Last edited by DXseekerMO; 12-06-2018 at 10:53 PM..
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 10:58 PM   #113
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
What did you use for GND ref. for the meter?
When testing at CN6101 pin 7? Chassis
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:05 PM   #114
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,304
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DXseekerMO View Post
No load from the mainboard?

Transistor shorted?
Well, look that circuit:
1) Where would 4.44V be coming from?
2) If Q6402 is shorted between E and C then how can you have 4.44V at the Collector with ref. to GND?
3) What Voltage do you get if you measure between C and E pin of that Q6402?
4) What Voltage do you get between CN6101 GND pin 9 and STBY3.3V pin 10? 4.44V? if it is then that is why you are getting that 4.44V reading.
5) The STBY3.3V is generated by IC6251 (NJM2884), the feeding Voltage is 4.67V Typ. as shown in the schematic, so with light load the STBY3.3V can be higher than 3.3V depend on how that IC6251 functions.

Last edited by budm; 12-06-2018 at 11:13 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:17 PM   #115
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,304
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

So if you connect the main board back in place and then check the resistance between Pin 7 (AC_OFF_DET) of CN6101 and the GND pin 9, what resistance do you get? This test will tell you what the load is being put on the AC_OFF_DET line.

Last edited by budm; 12-06-2018 at 11:41 PM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:39 PM   #116
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Well, look that circuit:
1) Where would 4.44V be coming from?
2) If Q6402 is shorted between E and C then how can you have 4.44V at the Collector with ref. to GND?
3) What Voltage do you get if you measure between C and E pin of that Q6402?
4) What Voltage do you get between CN6101 GND pin 9 and STBY3.3V pin 10? 4.44V? if it is then that is why you are getting that 4.44V reading.
5) The STBY3.3V is generated by IC6251 (NJM2884), the feeding Voltage is 4.67V Typ. as shown in the schematic, so with light load the STBY3.3V can be higher than 3.3V depend on how that IC6251 functions.
So if 3.3VSB comes from IC6251 and the feed voltage is 4.67typical then it seems to me IC6251 must have a short, passing all the input voltage instead of reducing it and sending it on?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
So if you connect the main board back in place and then check the resistance between Pin 7 (AC_OFF_DET) of CN6101 and the GND pin 9, what resistance do you get?
Infinity
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:43 PM   #117
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,304
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Infinity with main board connected back in place?
If AE5 pin of IC9000 is shorted to GND then it should show about 100 Ohms.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AC_OFF_DET and PWR_ON.jpg (334.0 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by budm; 12-07-2018 at 12:05 AM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2018, 11:43 PM   #118
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by budm View Post
Infinity with main board connected back in place?
Yes
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 12:06 AM   #119
budm
Badcaps Veteran
 
budm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
City & State: S.F. Bay area
My Country: USA
Line Voltage: 120V 60Hz
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 34,304
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

Infinity is not going to load that AC_OFF_DET line to be <1V.
See picture on post 117.

Last edited by budm; 12-07-2018 at 12:07 AM..
budm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2018, 12:11 AM   #120
DXseekerMO
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
City & State: Linden Twp. Missouri
My Country: US
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 466
Default Re: Sony KDL-55EX620, no stand-by volts from one bad resistor?

So then IC6251 is short?
DXseekerMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2018
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 AM.

Did you find this forum helpful?