Badcaps.net Forum
Go Back   Badcaps Forums > Troubleshooting Hardware & Devices and Electronics Theory > Troubleshooting Game Consoles & Other Weird Devices
Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-01-2023, 12:41 AM   #1
irepair559
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
City & State: Dinuba
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 63
Default ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

hi guys so i have this ps4 fat 1215 i believe ( the one with the ps4 pro/slim newer encoder ic ) so i replaced hdmi and 2 blown filters and still no pic so i replaced encoder and still no pic. i made sure port is solid even checked with a breakout hdmi and tested ground and data lines.. Filters are all good , though 2 of the newer ones are larger then the original ones i dont know if that matters ?
Made sure under the scope encoder pins all look solid went over with fine tip and solder again. Idk but this thing is stressing me out..
ps4 seems to boot fine blue light then solid white after a minute.

i was wondering if anyone had the diode values of all the caps and diodes/resistors around encoder / port and underside ??


My board is similar to this one
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot_20221231-220541_Chrome.jpg (326.4 KB, 26 views)

Last edited by irepair559; 01-01-2023 at 01:22 AM..
irepair559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2023, 05:00 AM   #2
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,486
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

could be a faulty new encoder as a lot of fakes around also you could try asking on this facebook group for advice https://www.facebook.com/groups/console.repair.legion
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2023, 04:16 PM   #3
irepair559
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
City & State: Dinuba
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 63
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

Ok here are the Diode readings for HDMI port

i made sure all pins on encoder are intact..

i kept getting blown fuses with no power just testing with multimeter ?
Maybe from the heat??

All filters are good now and encoder looks solid.

Here are the current readings
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20230102_141135.jpg (811.6 KB, 18 views)
irepair559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2023, 06:03 PM   #4
lotas
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
City & State: Sochi
My Country: Russia
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 1,706
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

You have an error in reading on 1, 4, 10 pins (they should have the same as on 3, 6, 7, 9, 12 - the same resistance relative to gnd
Attached Images
File Type: png HDMI PS.PNG (1.26 MB, 17 views)
lotas is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2023, 02:53 PM   #5
irepair559
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
City & State: Dinuba
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 63
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

ok touched up all the pins and now i get normal readings on each pin but still no picture ?? What are the readings supposed to be for a 1215a ? im getting 400s- 500s and one 600 ? check new pic thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20230103_125237.jpg (817.8 KB, 16 views)
irepair559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2023, 04:52 PM   #6
irepair559
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
City & State: Dinuba
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 63
Question Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

Anyone ? Really want to figure this out i will not let it defeat me!! ��
If readings are good that mean encoder and hdmi and filters are all good? im getting 5v to pin 18 to .. Fuse is good ? what else can it be?

Last edited by irepair559; 01-04-2023 at 04:55 PM..
irepair559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2023, 12:37 AM   #7
diif
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
City & State: Midlands
My Country: England
I'm a: Professional Tech
Posts: 6,584
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

Check the resistance between the HDMI pins and encoder pins going through the filters.
diif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2023, 11:18 AM   #8
irepair559
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
City & State: Dinuba
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 63
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

they are good all have contiuity , if the hdmi readings are good doesnt that mean the lines from the hdmi port to the encoder are good ?
irepair559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2023, 12:02 PM   #9
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,486
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

have you checked the hard drive health using crystal disk
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2023, 12:49 PM   #10
irepair559
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
City & State: Dinuba
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 63
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

ive tried in safe mode and without drive it should still produce a ps logo , even without drive safe mode should show video but doesnt . can it be something else ? Gpu? or other chip ?
irepair559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2023, 01:42 PM   #11
vinceroger69
Badcaps Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
City & State: Nuneaton Warwickshire
My Country: uk
I'm a: Hobbyist Tech
Posts: 6,486
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

true yes should still produce logo a faulty encoder would still be my guess
vinceroger69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2023, 07:53 PM   #12
irepair559
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2022
City & State: Dinuba
My Country: United States
I'm a: Knowledge Seeker
Posts: 63
Default Re: ps4 1215 model Changed port and encoder still no video?

so 2 bad encoders ? But if they were bad i wouldnt get those readings ?
irepair559 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Badcaps.net Technical Forums 2003 - 2023
Powered by vBulletin ®
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 AM.
Did you find this forum helpful?